Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Tour of the Pendle - NE

Great Britain, August 13, 2006


House party in Tour of Pendle

By Gerry McManus

Kristian House ( underlined his victory in the 2006 British Cycling Premier Series by winning the final counting event of the Tour of Pendle on Sunday 13th August. The victory gave the team six wins out of a possible seven, confirming their domination on the British domestic scene this season.

80 competitors started the 136km race on a cold, blustery but dry day. The wind made conditions tougher with a headwind down the 4km climb of Blacko and 15 riders had broken clear at the top of the first ascent led by Matthew Stephens (Sigma Sport RT) and Mark Lovatt (Planet X). The leaders had already gained 15 seconds on the chasers. By the time they reached the same summit on the next climb the bunch was over three minutes behind with Robin Sharman ( making the pace on the front of the leaders. Sharman's teammates House, Dale Appleby, Chris Newton and Evan Oliphant had also made the cut. Lovatt, Stephens and James Williamson (Agisko Dart) were also with the lead group and looking strong.

Lovatt's work on the final climb had reduced the lead group to four with Newton, Sharman and Williamson being able to take the pressure. House was in the next group on the road with Stephens, Alex Highman (Agisko-Dart), Duncan Urquhart (Agisko-Dart), Ian Wilkinson (SIS) and Matt Talbot (Glendene CC).

When the lead got to over 30 seconds, House showed that his training in Belgium during the week before had paid off when he responded to team orders and blasted away from his group and bridged across to the leaders. Even with Sharman dropped from lead group, Recycling still had the advantage with two riders. House was the first into view on the finishing straight and he had a clear lead over team mate Newton as he crossed the finish line, with Lovatt taking the final podium spot from Williamson.

Recycling team manager John Herety was pleased with his team's overall performance in the race and the series.

"Of course I am pleased with the results we have achieved," said Herety: "But I am also pleased with the manner in which we have achieved them. We raced correctly and have brought continental racing style to the Premier Calendar this year, rather than the usual wham-bam approach. We are fortunate to have strength in depth in the team and it's been down to the riders and not just tactics.

"Although Kristian (House) had already won the series before the race, we wanted people to see it in black and white today. Kristian had been in Belgium training off his own back last week in preparation for the Tour of Britain, and he was first to put his hand in the air at the team meeting.

"It all bodes well for us for the Tour of Britain. I'm not saying that we can win it because we are only a small continental team and won't be able to take the big teams on."

Herety will be taking his team out training onto the roads in the North next week taking in two of the TOB stage routes - Blackpool to Liverpool and Bradford to Sheffield.


1 Kristian House (           3.30.41
2 Chris Newton (                0.03
3 Mark Lovatt (Planet X RT)                     0.07
4 James Williamson (Agisko/Dart/     0.11
5 Matthew Stephens (Sigmasport)                 0.26
6 Alex Highman (Agisko/Dart/         0.30
7 Robin Sharman (               0.33
8 Duncan Urquhart (Agisko/Dart/      0.37
9 Matt Talbot (Glendene CC)                         
10 Evan Oliphant (              2.50
11 Kevin Dawson (Agisko/Dart/            
12 Dale Appleby (               4.12
13 Matthew Higgins (JE James RT)                    
14 Ian Wilkinson (SIS)                              
15 Gary Hand (Agisko/Dart/               
16 Mark Wordsworth (JE James RT)                5.37
17 Mike Harrison (Sigmasport RT)                    
18 Dion Black (Red Kite Cycles)                     
19 Peter Bissell (Artic-Shorter Rochford RT)    5.41
20 James Stewart (Le Coq Sportif - Dolan SIS)       
21 Chris Bartlett (Gendene CC)                  5.44
22 Gary Adamson (Kuota/Biemme)                      
23 Stephen Feeney (Chester RC)                      
24 ?                                                
25 Richard Kent (SIS)                               
26 David Ebbrell (Blackburn & Dist CTC)             
27 Richard Sykes-Popham (Glendene CC)               
28 Ben Prochee (Rapha Condor)                       
29 Danny Axford (Artic-Shorter Rochford RT)         
30 Shaun Snodden (