Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

10th GP de Villers Cotterêts - 1.1

France, April 22, 2006

2005 Results   Results    Past winners

Double joy for Bergès

By Stéphane David

Emilien Benoit Berges (Auber93)
Photo ©: Régis Garnier
(Click for larger image)

Emilien-Benoît Bergès (Auber 93) got his first win as pro rider after outsprinting Dmitriy Muravyev (Jartazi-7 Mobile) in the GP de Villers-Cotterêts, raced under sunny and warm conditions.

14 laps of 13,8 km including the "côte d'Haramont", the only (small) climb on the circuit, were on the program for the race. The riders were quickly in action and on the second lap, the first move occurred. Janek Tombek (Kalev Chocolate), Mathieu Claude (Bouygues Telecom), Christophe Agnolutto (Agritubel), Carlos Da Cruz (Française des Jeux) and Erki Pütsep (AG2R Prévoyance) stayed in front until the 7th lap with a maximum gap of 2'20. Then numerous attacks followed, with eventually Anthony Geslin (Bouygues Telecom) and René Mandri (Auber 93) getting away with 4 laps to go, then Eric Leblacher (Française des Jeux), Eduard Vorganov (Omnibike), Noan Lelarge (Bretagen-Jean Floc'h), Bart Vanheule (Choc. Jacques), Maxime Médérel (Auber 93) and Dmitriy Muravyev with 2 laps to go.

Just before the start of the last lap, Dmitry Muravyev went clear, the rest of the front group following 0'25 later and the bunch was still menacing (0'52 behind). The remaining riders of the escape were swallowed by the peloton with 10 km to go and Emilien-Benoît Bergès attacked on the final climb of the côte d'Haramont. Quickly, he rejoined Muravyev just 0'10 ahead and the duo found the energy to avoid the return of the main bunch. Fresher than Muravyev, Emilien-Benoît Bergès was too fast for the Kazazkh rider too.

As a happiness never arrives alone, Emile was impatient to return home to his residence of St-Gaudens, where his wife was to give birth to his first child in the evening.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Régis Garnier/

Results - 193.2 km

1 Emilien-Benoît Bergès (Fra) Auber 93                           4.30.03
2 Dmitriy Murayvev (Kaz) Jartazi-7 Mobile
3 Jonas Ljungblad (Swe)                                  0.08
4 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
5 Erki Pütsep (Est AG2R Prévoyance
6 Lilan Jégou (Fra) Française des Jeux
7 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R Prévoyance
8 Rony Martias (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
9 Lénaïc Olivier (Fra) Agritubel
10 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Crédit Agricole
11 Saïd Haddou (Fra) Auber 93
12 Stefan Adamsson (Swe) Milram Continental Team
13 Taylor Tolleson (Usa) TIAA-CREF
14 Camille Bouquet (Fra)
15 Martin Prazdnovsky (Svk) Sparebanken Vest
16 Mathieu Ladagnous (Fra) Française des Jeux
17 Anthony Ravard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
18 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
19 Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
20 Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Crédit Agricole
21 Hans Dekkers (Ned) Agritubel
22 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
23 Rene Mandri (Est) Auber 93
24 John Nilsson (Swe) Auber 93
25 David Boucher (Fra)
26 Carlos Da Cruz (Fra) Française des Jeux
27 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
28 Renaud Dion (Fra) AG2R Prévoyance
29 William Bonnet (Fra) Crédit Agricole
30 Yann Pivois (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
31 Chris Sutton (Aus) Cofidis
32 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Française des Jeux
33 Yohan Cauquil (Fra) Jartazi-7 Mobile
34 Michael Tronborg (Den) CCI Differdange
35 Are Andersen (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 
36 Charles Guilbert (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
37 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Jartazi-7 Mobile
38 Fabien Patanchon (Fra) Française des Jeux
39 Benjamin Johnson (Aus) Agritubel
40 Brad Huff (Usa) TIAA-CREF
41 Antoine Dalibard (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
42 Julien Mazet (Fra) Auber 93
43 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Cofidis
44 Frederik Johansson (Swe) CCI Differdange
45 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Agritubel
46 Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
47 Stéphane Bergès (Fra) Agritubel
48 Hakan Nilsson (Swe) CCI Differdange
49 Niels Brouzes (Fra) Auber 93
50 Morten Knudsen (Den) CCI Differdange
51 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis
52 Evert Verbist (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
53 Ian McLeod (Rsa) Française des Jeux
54 Tristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis
55 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra)
56 Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Omnibike Dynamo Moscow                     0.17
57 Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Omnibike Dynamo Moscow
58 Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis
59 François Parisien (Can) TIAA-CREF
60 Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
61 Kilian Patour (Fra) Crédit Agricole
62 Eric Leblacher (Fra) Française des Jeux
63 Noan Lelarge (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
64 Mathieu Criquielion (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago                0.41
65 Maxime Médérel (Fra) Auber 93                                    1.19
66 Bart Vanheule (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen        1.39
67 Tamas Lengyel (Hun) Sparebanken Vest                             2.00
68 Morten Christiansen (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 
69 Karsten Volkmann (Ger) Milram Continental Team
70 Janek Tombak (Est) Kalev Chocolate                               2.52
71 Gilles Canouet (Fra) Agritubel                                   2.54
72 Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen         3.13
73 Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R Prévoyance                              3.42
74 Alexander Müller (Ger) Milram Continental Team                   3.44
75 Nicolas Inaudi (Fra) Cofidis                                     5.41
76 Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R Prévoyance
77 Vincent Jérôme (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                            7.36
78 Wouter Van Mechelen (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen 11.41
Courtesy of Stephane David and

Past winners

2005 Brad McGee (Aus) Francaise des Jeux        193km in 4.18.10 (44.854 km/h)
2004 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis               193km in 4.16.38 (45.169 km/h)
2003 Julian Winn (GBr) Team fakta               193km in 4.32.01 (42.4 km/h)        
2002 Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Jean-Delatour        193km in 4.18.24 (44.860 km/h)
2001 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour       193km in 4.22.55
2000 Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour-Toupargel       193km in 4.26.37 (43.478 km/h) 
1999 Cyril Saugrain (Fra) La Française des Jeux 193km in 4.44.00
1998 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino                 193km in 4.31.32 (42.70 km/h)

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,