Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

30th GP Industria & Artigianato-Larciano - 1.1

Italy, April 29, 2006

2005 Results   Results    Past winners

Cunego on target

By Gianmarco Cilli

Damiano Cunego is a clear winner
Photo ©: Sirotti
(Click for larger image)

Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Fondital) has taken his sixth victory of the season at the 30th GP Industria & Artigianato di Larciano. The Lampre team worked well to control the race, and his teammate Giuliano Figueras made an heroic effort to join the group of 15 riders in the last few kilometres to help Cunego into position for the final sprint. He defeated Daniele Pietropolli (Team Tenax Salmilano) and Franco Pellizotti (Liquigas) on the line to win this race for the second time in his short and brilliant career.

The last time Cunego won this race was in 2004 before he went on to win the Giro d'Italia. Cunego seems to be duplicating his 2004 run-up to the Giro this year by also winning this year's edition of the Giro del Trentino like he did in 2004. Add in a third place at Liege-Bastogne-Liege and six wins compared to 2004's five, and we have a Cunego in as good or better form than 2004.

"Damiano is ready," says Lampre-Fondital directeur sportif Giuseppe Martinelli. "At the Giro, we will have a team built around him, a team that goes very well in the climbs and can give him valuable help. The favourite is Ivan Basso, who could gain a few minutes in the time trial. But the climbs are many, and it is there that we must attack."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti


1 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                          4.50.06
2 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                       
3 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas                                     
4 Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Barloworld                                    
5 Amets Txurruka (Spa) Barloworld                                      
6 Miguel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare                
7 Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                         
8 Santo Anza’ (Ita) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni              
9 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                         
10 Eddy Ratti (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                            
11 Andrea Tonti (Ita) Acqua Sapone                                     
12 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Acqua Sapone                              
13 Maurizio Varini (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia                             
14 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche                                      
15 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                     
16 Pedro Arreitunandia (Spa) Barloworld                                
17 Tomasz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil                                       
18 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare                       
19 Felix Cardenas Rava (Col) Barloworld                            0.04
20 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare                  0.06
21 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                         0.09
22 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas                                  0.14
23 Cristian Gasperoni (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                0.18
24 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                   2.10
25 Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr) Team Tenax Salmilano                         
26 Micula De Mattis (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                         
27 Kristof Szczawinski (Pol) Ceramica Flaminia                         
28 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi          
29 Jamie Burrow (GBr) OTC Doors-Lauretana                          2.31
30 José Serpa (Col) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni              
31 Nicola Scattolin (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi        
32 Ryan Cox (RSA) Barloworld                                           
33 Bo Hamburger (Den) Miche                                            
34 Freddy Gonzalez Mart (Col) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni    
35 Manuele Spadi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia                               
36 Massimo Codol (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                            
37 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas                                      
38 Matej Jurco (Svk) Team Milram                                       
39 Massimiliano Maisto (Ita) Team Universal Caffe'-C.B. Immobiliare    
40 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua Sapone                               
41 Alexander Arekeev (Rus) Acqua Sapone                                
42 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                  
43 Fabio Gilioli (Ita) Team Universal Caffe'-C.B. Immobiliare          
44 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Team Milram                                 
45 Oleksandr Kvachuk (Ukr) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi       
46 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Team L.P.R.                                     
47 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                               
48 Charles Wegelius (GBr) Liquigas                                     
49 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                              
50 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                        
51 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Team Milram                                    
52 Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                                 
53 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni    

Past winners

2005 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Ceramica Panaria       200 kms in 5.10.46
2004 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Saeco                 200 kms in 5.10.00
2003 Juan Fuentes Angullo (Spa) Team Saeco      200 kms in 4.58.20 (40.22 km/h)
2002 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei Quick Step    200 kms in 5.14.02 (38.212 km/h)
2001 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata        200 kms in 5.00.15 (39.666 km/h)
2000 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo         200 kms in 4.58.00 (40.26 km/h)
1999 Massimo Podenzana (Ita) Mercatone Uno      200 kms in 5.08.00 (38.161 km/h)
1998 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Kross-Selle Italia 200 kms in 4.40.00 (42.06 km/h)

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,