Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Indonesia - 2.2

Indonesia, September 12-21, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage  

Stage 9 - September 21: Gilimanuk - DenPasar , 135 km

Askari and Griffin make it Giant 1-2

By Tod Mohamed

Iranian cyclist Hossein Askari has won the 2005 Dji Sam Soe Tour d'Indonesia. Askari (Giant Asia Racing) successfully defended the yellow jersey of race leader onto the streets of Denpasar on Wednesday, the final stop of this years' Tour. The lanky rider completed the 1,422 kilometre race in 36 hours, one minute and 43 seconds. Askari's teammate Paul Griffin finished 43 seconds back to take second in the general classification, while Khazak rider Vyacheslav Dyadichkin (Polygon Sweet Nice) finished in third place overall, one minute and 11 seconds behind Askari. Indonesian rider Ryan Ariehan (Dodol Picnic) rounded out the top four overall. He finished two minutes and 23 seconds behind Askari and won the red-and-white jersey of best Indonesian in the Tour.

The other big winner Wednesday was Wong Kam Po, who took the stage 9 win in a massive bunch sprint. It was a welcome taste of success for Wong (Purapharm), who had been touted as a favourite for overall victory before the start of the Tour.

Stage 9 began with an early morning transfer by ferry from Java to the stage start on the Island Bali. From there, the riders covered 135 kilometres winding through the picturesque Bali countryside all the way to the finish in Denpasar. A breakaway containing last year's Tour d'Indonesia winner, Nathan Dahlberg (Greenfields Fresh Milk) and Anno Pedersen (Telkomsel), threatened to steal the stage, but the pack reeled the break in just 200 metres before the finish, setting the stage for a contest between the sprinters of the race. At the finish, Wong edged out Indonesian riders Nunung Burhanudin (Benteng Muda) and Ade Solihin (Bintang Kranggan) to take the final stage win.

In the general points competition, the Casino Filipino Pro Cycling Team successfully defended the green jersey of their rider Rhyan Tanguilig on Wednesday, while Khazah cyclist Yevgeniy Yakolev (Polygon) finished the Tour with the polka-dot jersey of best climber, a competition he had clinched the day before. Giant Asia Racing won the general team classification.


1 Kam Po Wong (Hkg) Purapharm                            3.25.52
2 Nunung Burhanudin (Ina) Benteng Muda                          
3 Ade Solihin (Ina) Bintang Kranggan Cycling Club               
4 Bastian Krol (Ina) The Jong en Laan                           
5 Paul Griffin (Irl) Giant Asia Racing Team                     
6 Mohd Nasir Yusoff (Mal) Malaysia National Team                
7 Fatahillah Abdullah (Ina) Bintang Kranggan Cycling Club       
8 Ahmad Haidar Anuawar (Ina) Le Tua Cycling Club                
9 Anuar Manan (Mal) Malaysia National Team                      
10 Wandra Suwandra (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team              
Final General Classification
1 Hossein Askari (Iri) Giant Asia Racing Team           36.01.43
2 Paul Griffin (Irl) Giant Asia Racing Team                 0.43
3 Vyacheslav Dyadichkin (Kaz) Polygon Sweet Nice            1.11
4 Ryan Ariehan (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team              2.23
5 Chun Hing Chan (Hkg) Purapharm                            2.31
6 Kuan Hua Lai (Tpi) Chinese Taipei                         2.37
7 Tong Yu (Chn) Beijing Cycling Team                        2.38
8 Ghader Mizbani (Iri) Giant Asia Racing Team               3.36
9 Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) The Jong en Laan                  3.54
10 Albert Primero (Phi) Casino Filipino Pro Cycling Team    4.38
Final points classification
1 Rhyan Tanguilig (Phi) Casino Filipino Pro Cycling Team      22 pts
2 Rochmat Nugraha (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team             18
3 Bastian Krol (Ned) The Jong en Laan                         12
4 Mohd Nasir Yusoff (Mal) Malaysia National Team              11
5 Peter Van Agtmaal (Ina) The Jong en Laan                    10
Final KOM classification
1 Yevgeniy Yakolev (Kaz) Polygon Sweet Nice                   19 pts
2 Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) The Jong en Laan                    16
3 Nathan Dahlberg (NZl) Greenfields Fresh Milk                16
4 Ghader Mizbani (Iri) Giant Asia Racing Team                 13
5 Rhys Pollock (Aus) Greenfields Fresh Milk                   13