Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Indonesia - 2.2

Indonesia, September 12-21, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage   Next Stage

Stage 7 - September 19: Malang - Jember, 181 km

Van Agtmaal takes three

By Tod Mohamed

Dutchman Peter Van Agtmaal galloped to his third stage win of the 2005 Dji Sam Soe Tour d'Indonesia on Monday. The Jong en Laan rider took the seventh stage just in front of a hard charging peloton, proving once again that he is probably the craftiest riders in this year's race.

"I hoped to win one étape in this tour. I never thought I could win three," a clearly delighted Agtmaal said after the finish. Asked what he would do with his winnings, the 23-year-old smiled and said, "I'll buy my ticket home - after a few days in Bali. "

The seventh stage from Malang to Jember looked to be tailor made for the sprinters, 181 kilometres long with no real climbs to speak of. About 30 kilometres into the stage, a break of six riders went clear, and they soon built a lead of five minutes. Since none of the breakaway riders posed a threat to the general classification, the yellow jersey of Hossein Askari and his team, Giant Asia Racing were content to defend their lead and patrolled the somewhat passive pack.

For a while it looked like the break might stay away to the finish, but just after the last intermediate sprint of the day at kilometre 141, the hot sunny weather changed dramatically, lashing the racers with a heavy rain and strong cross winds. The tropical shower seemed to jolt the peloton back into action. By kilometre 150 the leaders had just 57 seconds on the hard charging main field, and it seemed likely the race would come together for a mass sprint finish in Jember.

But Rhys Pollock (Greenfields Fresh Milk) had other ideas. The Australian rider attacked out of the main field, and riding at over 50 kph he bridged up to the break, then charged off the front of it with Mohd Nor Rosdi (Le Tua Cycling) in tow. Under the 10-kilometre banner, Pollock and Rosdi had a 38-second lead on the pack, which by then had absorbed the rest of the original breakaway riders.

Back in the main group, Van Agtmaal thought it was all over. "There were still two riders in the front, and I thought they would win," he said. "But then one guy sprinted away. I got on his wheel, and we passed (Pollock and Rosdi). In the last three-hundred metres I came around for the win."

There were no major shake-ups in the general classification on Monday. Hossein Askari (Giant) continues to hold onto the yellow jersey, Rhyan Tanguilig (Casino Filipino) keeps the green jersey as leader of the points competition, and Ryan Ariehan continues to wear the red-and-white jersey of best Indonesian rider in the Tour. Yevgeniy Yakolev retains the King-of-the-Mountains jersey for best climber.

Stage 8 on Tuesday will take the riders on a 112-kilometre ride to Banyuwangi. The stage includes the last significant climb of the Tour, and one last chance to shake up the general classification and the KOM competition. There are also points on offer in the tight race for the green jersey.

The 2005 Dji Sam Soe Tour d'Indonesia is a 1,433 km, nine-stage race. It finishes in Denpasar on the Island of Bali on 21 September.


1 Peter Van Agtmaal (Ned) The Jong en Laan               4.24.30
2 Wandra Suwandra (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team               
3 Ahmad Haidar Anuawar (Ina) Le Tua Cycling Team                
4 Nunung Burhanudin (Ina) Benteng Muda                          
5 Bastian Krol (Ned) The Jong en Laan                           
6 Iman Suparman (Ina) Benteng Muda                              
7 Anuar Manan (Mas) Malaysia National Team                      
8 Suhardi Hassan (Mas) Malaysia National Team                   
9 Ngai Ching Wong (Hkg) Purapharm                               
10 Agus Muhyanto (Ina) Bintang Kranggan Cycling Club            
1 Rochmat Nugraha (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team              5 pts
2 Mohd Yusoff Nasir (Mas) Malaysia National Team               3
3 Mohd Nor Rosdi (Ina) Le Tua Cycling Team                     2
1 Rochmat Nugraha (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team              5 pts
2 Moch Nor Rosdi (Ina) Le Tua Cycling Team                     3
3 Mohd Yusoff Nasir (Mas) Malaysia National Team               2
1 Rochmat Nugraha (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cyclinc Team              5 pts
2 Moch Nor Rosdi (Mas) Malaysia National Team                  3
3 Mohd Yusoff Nasir (Ina) Le Tua Cycling Team                  2
1 Benteng Muda                                          13.13.30
2 The Jong en Laan                                              
3 Malaysia National Team                                        
4 Bintang Kranggan Cycling Club                                 
5 Dodol Picnic Cycling Team                                     
6 Purapharm                                                     
7 Le Tua Cycling Team                                           
8 Polygon Sweet Nice                                            
9 Customs Cycling Team                                          
10 Casino Filipino Pro                                          
11 Greenfields Fresh Milk                                       
12 Giant Asia Racing Team                                       
13 Vietnam National Team                                        
14 Beijing Cycling Team                                         
15 Telkomsel Team                                          56.44
General classification after stage 7
1 Hossein Askari (IRI) Giant Asia Racing Team           30.09.01
2 Paul Griffin (Irl) Giant Asia Racing Team                 0.43
3 Vyacheslav Dyadichkin (Rus) Polygon Sweet Nice            1.11
4 Ryan Ariehan (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team              2.23
5 Chun Hing Chan (Hkg) Purapharm                            2.31
6 Kuan Hua Lai (Tpe) Chinese Taipei                         2.37
7 Tong Yu (Chn) Beijing Cycling Team                        2.38
8 Ghader Mizbani (IRI) Giant Asia Racing Team               3.25
9 Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) The Jong en Laan                  3.54
10 Albert Primero (Phi) Casino Filipino Pro Cycling Team    4.38
Points classification
1 Rhyan Tanguilig (Phi) Casino Filipino Pro Cycling Team      17 pts
2 Rochmat Nugraha (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team             16
3 Bastian Krol (Ned) The Jong en Laan                         12
Mountains classification
1 Yevgeniy Yakolev (Kaz) Polygon Sweet Nice                   16 pts
2 Nathan Dahlberg (NZl) Greenfields Fresh Milk                16
3 Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) The Jong en Laan                    14
Indonesia rider classification
1 Ryan Ariehan (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team          30.11.24
2 Purwanto (Ina) Bintang Kranggan Cycling Club              6.40
3 Hari Fitrianto (Ina) Polygon Sweet Nice                   7.04
4 Cecep Erviandi (Ina) Dodol Picnic Cycling Team           13.15
5 Kaswanto (Ina) Customs Cycling Team                      18.30