Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

65th Circuit Franco-Belge - 2.1

Belgium, September 29-October 2, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Stage

Stage 1 - September 29: Komen-Estaimpuis, 202,7 km

Eeckhout takes out stage 1

Belgian Nico Eeckhout (Chocolade Jacques) has triumphed in the first stage of the Circuit Franco-Belge, beating Marco Zanotti (Liquigas-Bianchi) and Jimmy Casper (Cofidis) in a bunch sprint. Eeckhout also took the first leader's jersey in the four day race.

The 202.7 km stage between Komen and Estaimpuis saw a three man break go clear after the 55 km mark, containing Matti Breschel (CSC), Arnaud Coyot (Cofidis) and Michael Delage (Francaise des Jeux). The three managed to build a lead of 12'35, but with three of the 19 km finishing circuits to go, it had shrunk to 8'04. Breschel had done well though, and took enough points for the mountains and sprints jersey. He also ended the day as second on general classification.

At the start of the third lap with 19 km to go, the three had only two minutes of their lead intact, and the MrBookmaker and Chocolade Jacques led peloton swallowed them with five kilometres to go. The bunch sprint saw Eeckhout on top, with a strong win over Zanotti and Casper.

Tomorrow's second stage takes the riders between Leffrinckoucke and Poperinge over 156 kilometres. The main difficulties are the Monteberg and four times up the Rodeberg.


1 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim             4.48.59
2 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
3 Jimmy Casper (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
4 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) - SportsTech
5 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
6 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Crédit Agricole
7 Eric Baumann (Ger) T-Mobile
8 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Française des Jeux
9 Steve Schets (Bel) Belgian National Team
10 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quickstep
11 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
12 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
13 Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
14 Robby Meul (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team
15 René Haselbacher (Aut) Gerolsteiner
16 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team CSC
17 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank
18 Michael Blanchy (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team
19 Romain Feillu (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
20 Roy Sentjens (Ned) Rabobank
21 Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
22 Julian Dean (NZl) Crédit Agricole
23 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
24 Denys Kostyuk (Ukr) Jartazi Granville Team
25 Anthony Ravard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
26 Vytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Jartazi Granville Team
27 Bart Dockx (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
28 Kevin Ista (Bel) R.A.G.T Semences
29 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
30 Robert Förster (Ger) Gerolsteiner
31 Carlos Da Cruz (Fra) Française des Jeux
32 Vladimir Gusev (Rus)  Team CSC
33 Benjamin Levecot (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
34 Raimondas Vilcinskas (Ltu) Jartazi Granville Team
35 Lilian Jegou (Fra)) Française des Jeux
36 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Française des Jeux
37 Renaud Dion (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
38 Vygantas Kaminskas (Ltu) Jartazi Granville Team
39 Wim De Vocht (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
40 Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Agritubel
41 André Korff (Ger) T-Mobile
42 Nicky Cocquyt (Bel) Belgian National Team
43 Mathieu Criquielion (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
44 Tim Roels (Bel) Belgian National Team
45 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Agritubel
46 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole
47 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
48 Ronald Mutsaars (Ned) Rabobank
49 Matthias Russ (Ger) Gerolsteiner
50 Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Nor) Team CSC
51 Guillaume Auger (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
52 Jean-Patrick Nazon (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
53 Peter Ronsse (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team
54 Bert Roesems (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
55 Chris. Meschenmoser
56 Matti Breschel (Den) Team CSC
57 Davy Tuytens (Bel) Belgian National Team
58 Bastiaan Giling (Ned) T-Mobile
59 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Quickstep
60 Arnaud Coyot (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
61 Björn Leukemans (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto
62 Frank Hoj (Den) Gerolsteiner
63 Mathieu Claude (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
64 Bram Tankink (Ned) Quickstep
65 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team CSC
66 Alberto Di Lorenzo
67 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Quickstep
68 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) - SportsTech
69 Nicolas Hartmann
70 Marco Righetto (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
71 Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
72 Nicolas Inaudi (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
73 Michael Muck
74 Arnaud Gerard
75 Jean-Claude Lebeau
76 Tim Mertens (Bel) Belgian National Team
77 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
78 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Belgian National Team
79 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Quickstep
80 Mickael Delage (Fra) Française des Jeux
81 Chris Sorensen
82 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
83 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) AG2r Prévoyance
84 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner
85 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
86 Stefan Wynands
87 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
88 Lénaïc Olivier (Fra) Agritubel
89 Franck Renier (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
90 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) Française des Jeux
91 Erki Pütsep (Est) AG2r Prévoyance
92 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Française des Jeux
93 Tomas Konecny (Cze) T-Mobile
94 Frédéric Mainguenaud (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
95 Nicolas Crosbie (Fra) Agritubel
96 Dimitri De Fauw (Bel) Quickstep
97 Allan Johansen (Den) Team CSC
98 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Crédit Agricole
99 Mark Scanlon (Irl) AG2r Prévoyance
100 Jan Boven (Ned) Rabobank
101 Thorwald Veneberg (Ned) Rabobank
102 Matthé Pronk (Ned) - SportsTech
103 Stéphane Berges
104 Alexandre Usov (Blr) AG2r Prévoyance
105 Mads Kaggestad (Nor) Crédit Agricole
106 Erwin Thijs (Bel) - SportsTech
107 Cycril Lemoine (Fra) Crédit Agricole
108 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Quickstep
109 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
110 Wim Van Sevenant
111 Cédric Coutouly (Fra) Agritubel
112 Maarten Den Bakker (Ned) Rabobank
113 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
114 Marco Serpellini (Ita) Gerolsteiner
115 Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel) - SportsTech
116 Florent Brard (Fra) Agritubel
117 Mauro Da Dalto
118 Marco Milesi (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
119 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) - SportsTech
120 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
121 Stephan Schreck (Ger) T-Mobile
122 Gianluca Sironi (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
123 Pieter Mertens (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
124 Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
125 Kevin De Weert (Bel) Quickstep
126 Nicola Loda (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
127 Frederik Willems (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
128 Thierry Marichal (Bel) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
129 Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Belgian National Team
130 Johan Verstrepen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
131 Rony Martias (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
132 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Crédit Agricole
133 Sébastien Minard (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
134 Christophe Rinero (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
135 Steven Kleynen (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
136 Nico Sijmens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
137 Wesley Van Der Linden (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
138 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) T-Mobile
139 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) AG2r Prévoyance
140 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) - SportsTech
141 Bram Schmitz (Ned) T-Mobile
142 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) - SportsTech
143 Yohann Gene (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
144 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
145 Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Crédit Agricole
146 Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance                       21.09

General classification after stage 1

1 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Chocolade Jacques               4.48.49
2 Matti Breschel (Den) Team CSC                          0.02
2 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi                   0.04
4 Michael Delage (Fra) Francaise des Jeux
3 Jimmy Casper (Fra) Cofidis                             0.06

Courtesy of