Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

53rd Circuit de la Sarthe - 2.1

France, April 5-8, 2005

2004 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - April 5: Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez - Varades, 197.2 km
  • Stage 2a - April 6: Varades - Angers, 92 km
  • Stage 2b - April 6: Angers - Angers ITT, 8.8 km
  • Stage 3 - April 7: Angers - Sablé-sur-Sarthe, 195.4 km
  • Stage 4 - April 8: Sablé-sur-Sarthe - Le Mans, 180 km

Ullrich racing again

T-Mobile's Jan Ullrich has finished his training sessions in Tuscany, Italy, and is back to racing at the Circuit de la Sarthe in Northern France as of today. The Tour de France winner of 1997 told German on the day before his season start, "My training has been very good, the weather in Tuscany being fine during the last few weeks. I'm feeling impatient now, and I look forward to racing again at the Circuit de la Sarthe just like in 2003. I trained four to six hours a day, sometimes climbing, sometimes pacing behind a motorcycle to get used to racing speeds of 50 km/h again," he said. "I took the right decisions, I think. The Vuelta a Murcia was too hard for me at the time, I was still sick. It was better to wait and start here. There were other possibilities, but I prefer to start slowly. Paris-Nice or Tirreno Adriatico didn't seem right to me," he continued.

Ullrich is not thinking about his season's goal, the Tour de France yet. "The only reason why I think of it now is because we're in the region of France now where the Tour starts. My preparation schedule is as follows: Vuelta a Aragon, Vuelta a Cataluña, Tour de Suisse. I will also reconnoitre the stages in the Alps and Pyrenees and stick a training week in Italy in there. The rest (of the training) I'll do at home."

Asked what his thoughts on Lance Armstrong's April 18 announcement were, Ullrich replied, "I don't want to speculate over what he will say. I don't follow these things, but we all know Lance likes to surprise people. [laughs] Maybe he wants to announce that he will ride the Giro in preparation for the Tour!"

Start list

Française des Jeux              Cofidis

1 Carlos Da Cruz (Fra)          11 Stéphane Auge (Fra)
2 Freddy Bichot (Fra)           12 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra)
3 Mickaël Delage (Fra)          13 Hervé Duclos - Lassalle (Fra)
4 Arnaud Gerard (Fra)           14 Nicolas Inaudi (Fra)
5 Jérémy Roy (Fra)              15 Nicolas Roche (Irl)
6 Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra)       16 Guido Trentin (Ita)

AG2R Prévoyance                 Crédit Agricole

21 Andy Flickinger (Fra)        31 Sébastien Joly (Fra)
22 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr)         32 Mads Kaggestad (Nor)
23 Jean-Patrick Nazon (Fra)     33 Cédric Herve (Fra)
24 Nicolas Portal (Fra)         34 Christophe Moreau (Fra)
25 Ludovic Turpin (Fra)         35 Damien Nazon (Fra)
26 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)          36 Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz)

Gerolsteiner                    T- Mobile Team

41 Markus Fohten (Ger)          51 Andre Korff (Ger)
42 Heinrich Haussler (Ger)      52 Stefan Schreck (Ger)
43 Mathias Russ (Ger)           53 Bas Giling (Ned)
44 Sven Montgomery (Swi)        54 Olaf Pollack (Ger)
45 Uwe Peschel (Ger)            55 Tobias Steinhauser (Ger)
                                56 Jan Ullrich (Ger)

Discovery Channel               Bouygues Télécom

61 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn)         71 Walter Beneteau (Fra)
62 Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr)       72 Laurent Brochard (Fra)
63 Michael Barry (Can)          73 Frédéric Mainguenaud (Fra)
64                              74 Anthony Geslin (Fra)
64 Patrick Mac Carty (USA)      75 Rony Martias (Fra)
65 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel)  76 Anthony Ravard (Fra)

Agritubel                       RAGT Semences - MG Rover

81 Alberto Martinez (Spa)       91 Eric Berthou (Fra)
82 Benoît Salmon (Fra)          92 Renaud Dion (Fra)
83 Florent Brard (Fra)          93 Nicolas Dulac (Fra)
84 Denis Robin (Fra)            94 Hubert Dupont (Fra)
85 Christophe Laurent (Fra)     95 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra)
86 Stéphane Berges (Fra)        96 Eddy Seigneur (Fra)

Miche                           Chocolat Jacques - Wincor Nixdorf

101 Seweryn Kohut (Pol)         111 Steven Kleynen (Bel)
102 Slawomir Kohut (Pol)        112 Pieter Mertens (Bel)
103 Massimo Amichetti (Ita)     113 Jef Peeters (Bel)
104 Fabio Borghesi (Ita)        114 Frédérik Veuchelen (Bel)
105 Maurizio Carta (Ita)        115 Maarten Wynants (Bel)
106 Giairo Ermeti (Ita)         116 Tom Stubbe (Bel) - Palmans      Naturino Sapore di Mare

121 Camille Bouquet (Fra)       131 Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
122 Jens Renders (Bel)          132 Francesco Failli (Ita)
123 Julien Laidoun (Fra)        133 Mario De Sarraga (Spa)
124 Laurent Paumier (Fra)       134 Gian Matteo Fagnini (Ita)
125 Kurt van de Wouwer (Bel)    135 Massimiliano Mori (Ita)
                                136 Andris Nauduzs (Lat)

Auber 93                        Bretagne - Jean Floch

141 William Bonnet (Fra)        151 Vincent Cantero (Fra)
142 Julien Mazet (Fra)          152 David Le Lay (Fra)
143 John Nilsson (Swe)          153 Sébastien Duret (Fra)
144 Saïd Haddou (Fra)           154 Yann Pivois (Fra)
145 Arnaud Labbe (Fra)          155 Carl Naibo (Fra)
146 Tristan Valentin (Fra)      156 Stéphane Petilleau (Fra)

Past winners

2004 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Fdjeux.Com
2003 Carlos Da Cruz (Fra)
2002 Didier Rous (Fra)
2001 David Millar (GBr)
2000 David Canada (Spa)
1999 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor)
1998 Melchor Mauri (Spa)
1997 Melchor Mauri (Spa)
1996 Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1995 Thierry Marie (Fra)
1994 Stéphane Heulot (Fra)
1993 Jean-François Bernard (Fra)
1992 Jean-François Bernard (Fra)
1991 Bruno Cornillet (Fra)
1990 Dmitri Zhdanov (Rus)
1989 Thierry Laurent (Fra)
1988 Thierry Marie (Fra)
1987 Piotr Ugrumov (USSR)
1986 Didier Garcia (Spa)
1985 Pascal Jules (Fra)
1984 Claude Moreau (Fra)
1983 Pascal Jules (Fra)
1982 Michenko (USSR)
1981 Barinov (USSR)
1980 Greg LeMond (USA)
1979 Muselet (Fra)
1978 Bernd Drogan (Ger)
1977 Pikkuus (USSR)
1976 Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1975 Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1974 Skosyrev (USSR)
1973 Gorelov (USSR)
1972 Regis Ovion (Fra)
1971 Nelioubine (USSR)
1970 Lechatelier (Fra)
1969 Szurkowski (Pol)
1968 Grimbert (Fra)
1967 Grimbert (Fra)
1966 Matignon (Fra)
1965 Lopez-Rodriguez (Spa)
1964 Cosseron (Fra)
1963 Juin (Fra)
1962 Ferrer (Fra)
1961 Jeugnet (Fra)
1960 André Foucher (Fra)
1959 J.Danguillaume (Fra)
1958 J.Danguillaume (Fra)
1957 Guérin (Fra)
1956 J.Danguillaume (Fra)
1955 Bernard (Fra)
1954 Fournières (Fra)
1953 Hays (Fra)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,