Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

61st Tour of Somerville - NE

Somerville, New Jersey, USA, May 31, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners

Sanborn & Rapinski push defending champions into second

By Jason Elhardt

Victor Rapinski
Photo ©: Jason Elhardt

Melissa Sanborn (Wells Fargo) and Victor Rapinski (Navigators) won today’s 61st running of the Tour of Somerville, pusing last year's winners Jonas Carney (Jelly Belly/Aramark) and Sarah Uhl (Quark Cycling) into second place.

Sarah Uhl was a little late responding to a last-lap attack by Melissa Sanborn. Sanborn had a 10 meter gap coming into the finishing stretch of the rain-soaked course and held off the defending champion. Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling) crossed the line third.

Five time winner and defending champion, Jonas Carney, was looking to make it six in his final Tour of Somerville but the Navigators Cycling Team took control of today’s race. Victor Rapinski won today’s race followed closely by Carney and Colavita/Bolla’s J.J. Heado.


Images by Jason Elhardt


1 Victor Rapinski (Navigators)
2 Jonas Carney (Jelly Belly/Aramark)
3 J.J. Heado (Colavita/Bolla)
1 Melissa Sanborn (Wells Fargo)
2 Sarah Uhl (Quark Cycling)
3 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling)

Past winners

2003 Jonas Carney (USA)
2002 Jonas Carney (USA)
2001 Eric Wohlberg (Can) 
2000 Jonas Carney (USA)
1999 Eric Wohlberg (Can)
1998 Jonas Carney (USA)
1997 Brett Aitken (Aus)
1996 Julian Dean (NZl)
1995 Jason Snow (USA)
1994 Jame Carney (USA)
1993 Gary Anderson (NZl)
1992 Jonas Carney (USA)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl