Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

28th GP Industria & Artigianato-Larciano - 1.2

Italy, May 1, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

Cunego continues winning streak

Damiano Cunego (Saeco, R)
Photo ©: Olympia

With one week to go until the start of the Giro d'Italia, Team Saeco is once again hitting its straps. Their young star Damiano Cunego added a yet another win (his fifth in 12 days) to his growing palmares, beating none other than World Champion Igor Astarloa (Lampre) in a tight, 20 man sprint.

"It's incredible to win a sprint like that, especially beating World Champion Igor Astarloa," Cunego said. "This win will have a special place in my palmares."

Saeco was also happy with the form of Gilberto Simoni, who attacked on the last climb at Larciano to cross the top with a 15 second lead. He was caught on the descent as a 20 man group formed around him to contest the finish, and together with Bertagnolli he helped to lead out Cunego in the sprint. In his first race with his new Lampre team, Astarloa meant business, pushing Cunego all the way but just falling short.


Images by Olympia Photo

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti


1 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Saeco                                5.10.00
2 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Lampre 
3 Ruggero Borghi (Ita) De Nardi 
4 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo 
5 Michele Scotto D'abusco (Ita) Lampre 
6 Daniele Righi (Ita) Lampre 
7 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Margres 
8 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Domina Vacanze 
9 Tiaan Kannemeyer (RSA) Team Barloworld-Androni Giocattoli 
10 Luis Felipe La Verde Jimenez (Col) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave' 
11 Ryan Cox (RSA) Team Barloworld-Androni Giocattoli 
12 Oscar Mason (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie 
13 Matteo Cappe' (Ita) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave' 
14 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Margres 
15 Timothy Jones (Zim) Domina Vacanze 
16 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) De Nardi 
17 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Saeco 
18 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saeco 
19 Charly Wegelius (GBr) De Nardi 
20 Dmtri Konyshev (Rus) Team L.P.R.-Piacenza Management SRL     1.00
21 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Team L.P.R.-Piacenza Management SRL 
22 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo 
23 Nicola Loda (Ita) Tenax 
24 Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Team Barloworld-Androni Giocattoli 
25 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo 
26 Massimiliano Mori (Ita) Domina Vacanze 
27 Emilio Aggiano (Ita) Team L.P.R.-Piacenza Management SRL 
28 Alessandro Cortinovis (Ita) Lampre 
29 Andrea Tonti (Ita) Saeco 
30 Maurizio Carta (Ita) Miche 
31 Juan Fuentes (Spa) Saeco 
32 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) De Nardi 
33 Oscar Pozzi (Ita) Tenax 
34 Przemislaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche 

Past winners

2003 Juan Fuentes Angullo (Spa) Team Saeco      200 kms in 4.58.20 (40.22 km/h)
2002 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei Quick Step    200 kms in 5.14.02 (38.212 km/h)
2001 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata        200 kms in 5.00.15 (39.666 km/h)
2000 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo         200 kms in 4.58.00 (40.26 km/h)
1999 Massimo Podenzana (Ita) Mercatone Uno      200 kms in 5.08.00 (38.161 km/h)
1998 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Kross-Selle Italia 200 kms in 4.40.00 (42.06 km/h)

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,