Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

CSC Invitational - NE

USA, May 30, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

Michaelsen by a tyre in fast & furious CSC Invitational

By Jon Devich

Gord Fraser (Healthnet/Maxxis) just misses out on the win behind Lars Michaelsen (CSC).
Photo ©: Jon Devich

Lars Michaelsen (CSC) won Sunday's CSC Invitational (the race formerly known as the Clarendon Cup) by the narrowest of margins, just defeating Gord Fraser (Health Net/Maxxis) and Vassili Davidenko (Navigators Insurance) in a finale that turned out to be a sprint finish for the race's survivors despite the best efforts of the escape artists.

Racing was animated from the gun with riders attacking and trying to make a break stick but it was not to be. A third of the way through the 100km race a small group powered by strongmen Chris Horner, Brice Jones and Ernie Lechuga gained 10 seconds but with several teams not represented in the break the peloton soon shut it down. Another break tried to go soon after the first group was reeled in. This second group seemed to have all of the powerhouse teams represented which meant the possibility of gaining some real time but perhaps the size of the group was its downfall.

"This is a really, really difficult criterium, it might not look like it but the corners are more than 90 degrees so we have to come into the corners and use full breaks and then full sprint out of four or five corners. It's really demanding. So if you're not used to it its even harder." explained Gord Fraser.

Race winner Lars Machaelsen
Photo ©: Jon Devich

With the course taking its toll, a substantial number of riders watching the race now from the sidelines and only 20 laps left, Navigators rider Ciaran Powers made a move. A hard attack launched him to a five second advantage where he held on for several laps before being reeled in. As soon as Powers was swallowed up Navigators countered with another attack by David McKenzie. The field was having no part of it however and quickly brought McKenzie back then put the hammer down with eight laps to go.

Not willing to give up the fight Navigators again came to the front with several riders and strung out the field to help set up their sprinter Vassili Davidenko. But the Navigators' lead-out instead proved beneficial for Gord Fraser and Lars Michaelsen. Coming out of the last turn Davidenko was in the lead and in the wind. Michaelsen, who was on Davidenko's wheel, swung to the left with 100 meters to the line with Gord Faser hot on his wheel. On the line Lars Machaelsen raised his hand confident that he had the win although spectators and officials alike couldn't tell until the tape was reviewed. With a tire width to his advantage Michaelsen was proven the winner by the camera.

Women: Break benefits Grain

Gina Grain just nips Shannon Hutchinson and Erin Carter on the line.
Photo ©: Jon Devich

In the women's race it was the break that got away which made the day for Gina Grain. Only three laps into the 50km race a break of five made its way up the road: Shannon Hutchinson (Colavita-Bolla), Erin Carter (TDS-Schwalbe), Catherine Powers (LaGrange), Gina Grain (Victory Brewing), and Leigh Valletti (Genesis Scuba) . Since the major teams were up the road the field was nearly happy with taking it easy for the rest of the day.

With only three laps to go the break made contact with the back of the field although all riders from the break weren't entirely happy about it. "Some riders didn't want to catch the field and some did," explained Gina Grange.

"Having those two types of riders in their made it a game within a game. For myself I would have rather caught the pack - which we did - because I'd rather sprint around a lot people."

Sprint around a lot of people is exactly what Grain did as she crossed the line ahead of Shannon Hutchinson and third place Erin Carter.


Images by Jon Devich/


Men - 100 km

1 Lars Michaelsen (Den) CSC                              2.13.00
2 Gord Fraser (Can) Health Net/Maxxis
3 Vassili Davidenko (Rus) Navigators Insurance 
4 Alex Candelario (USA) Jelly Belly-Aramark
5 Jonas Carney (USA) Jelly Belly-Aramark
6 Sebastian Alexandre (Arg) Colavita Olive Oil
7 Robbie Ventura (USA) US Postal Service-Berry Floors
8 Chris Horner (USA) Webcor Builders
9 Dave Mc Cook (USA) McGuire 
10 Ivan Dominiguez (Cub) Colavita Olive Oil
11 Charles Dionne (Can) Webcor Builders
12 Chad Hartley (USA) Jittery Joes Coffee
13 Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Colavita Olive Oil
14 Marty Nothstein (USA) Navigators Insurance 
15 Ian Dille (USA) Team Snow Valley
16 John Lieswyn (USA) Health Net/Maxxis
17 Kirk Albers (USA) Jelly Belly-Aramark
18 Jacob Erker (Can) Team Seasilver
19 Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colavita Olive Oil
20 Jesse Lawler (USA) Jittery Joes Coffee
21 Devon Vigus (USA) McGuire 
22 Brian Sheedy (USA) Team Seasilver
23 Frank Hoj (Den) CSC
24 Roman Kilun (USA) McGuire 
25 Peter Baker (USA) Team Snow Valley
26 Neil Shirley (USA) Team Seasilver
27 Tristian Hoffman (Ned) CSC
28 Kyle Gritters (USA) Team Monex
29 Thomas Bruun Eriksen (Den) CSC
30 Omer Kem (USA) Subway-Express
31 Bobby Julich (USA) CSC
32 Brice Jones (USA) Health Net/Maxxis
33 Jimmi Madsen (Den) CSC
34 Chris Pic (USA) Jittery Joes Coffee
35 Davide Frattini (Ita) Team Monex
36 Chris Wherry (USA) Health Net/Maxxis
37 Mike Jones (USA) Health Net/Maxxis
38 Matt Sadauckas (USA) Team Seasilver
39 Siro Camponogara (Ita) Navigators Insurance 
40 Cesar Grajales (Col) Jittery Joes Coffee
41 Todd Herriott (USA) Colavita Olive Oil
42 Roberto Gaggioli (Ita) Team Monex
43 Ben Brooks (Aus) Jelly Belly-Aramark
44 Adam Livingston (USA) Team Seasilver
45 Caleb Manion (Aus) Jelly Belly-Aramark
46 Gordon Mc Cauley (NZl) Team Monex
51 Henk Vogels (Aus) Navigators Insurance 
52 Thomas Bruun Eriksen (Den) CSC
53 Drew Deters (USA) Team Seasilver
54 Ryan Mckinney (USA) Team Snow Valley
51 Jakob Piil (Den) CSC
52 ??Davide Frattini (Ita) Team Monex
53 Earnie Lechuga (USA) Jelly Belly-Aramark
54 Emile Abraham (Tri) Team Monex

Women - 45 km

1 Gina Grain (Victory Brewing Company)                     1.06.00
2 Shannon Hutchison (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)
3 Carter Erin (Tds-Schwalbe)
4 Catherine Powers (La Grange)
5 Leigh Valletti (Genesis Scuba/Ffcc)
6 Sarah Uhl (Team Quark)
7 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling)
8 Joanne Kiesanowski (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)
9 Charm Breon (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)
10 Melissa Sanborn (Wells Fargo/Ragatz)
11 Sandy Espeseth (Victory Brewing Company)
12 Tracy Spoule (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)
13 Gloeckner Emily (Tds-Schwalbe)
14 Lauren Franges (Victory Brewing Company)
15 Megan Esmonde (Lake Mary Cycles/Orc)
16 Shawn Heidgen (Tds-Schwalbe)
17 Meshy Holt (Tds-Schwalbe)
18 Nancy Jadatz (Team Snow Valley)
19 Kathryn Wilder (Bicycle John's Serious Cycling)
20 Sandra Kolb (Bicycle John's Serious Cycling)
21 Brooke O'connor (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)
22 Marianne Stover (Independent Fabrication/Smrt Inc.)
23 Sheba Farrin (Hub Racing)
24 Sue Hefler (Lsv/Kelly)
25 Liza Rachetto (Team Dobbiaco)
26 Maggie Shirley (Genesis Scuba/Ffcc)
27 Michelle Kiesanowski (Team Hornby)
28 Allie Warfel (Integrity Rides)
29 Jenette Williams (Lsv/Kelley)
30 Heidi Goldberg (Team Snow Valley)
31 Nicole Raspa (Artemis)
32 Betsy Sellers (Revolution Cycles/Rock Creek Racers)
33 Marni Harker (Revolution Cycles/Rock Creek Racers)
34 Soraci Kerry (Tds-Schwalbe)
35 Deidre Winfield (Charlottesville Racing Club)
36 Alexis Brown (Genesis Scuba/Ffcc)
37 Beth Leisure (Team Spirit)
38 Andrea Dvora (Sportsbook.Com)
39 Lara Griffith (Squadra Coppi)
40 Jessica Hill (Artemis)
41 Kristy Scheffenacker (Colavita Olive Oil/Bolla Wines)

Past winners

2003 Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance)     Laura Van Gilder (Saturn)
2002 Vasili Davidenko (Navigators)     Ina Teutenberg (Saturn)