Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Mighty Tour de Nez - NE

Reno, Nevada, June 25-27, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

Cruz takes overall in Nevada's big weekend

Fast Freddie Rodriguez (Acqua y Sapone)
Photo ©: Tim Healion
Click for larger image

The Mighty Tour de Nez Cycling Extravaganza and party took place in Reno, Nevada this weekend. In the Pro/1,2 criterium race, James Mattis from Webcor Cycling pulled away from an eight-man break consisting of Tony Cruz (USPS), Alex Candelario (Jelly Belly), Ben Jacques-Mayne (Sierra Nevada), Tim Larkin (OFOTO), David McCool (McGuire Cycling), Karl Menzies (MGZT-Bianchi), and David Fuentes (Morgan Stanley). The race started with Freddie Rodriguez (Aqua & Sapone), Henk Vogels (Navigators), and Jonas Carney (Jelly Belly) and looked like a sprint fest until Trent Klasna (Sierra Nevada) and Phil Zajick (Navigators) instigated a break and took Mike Sayers (Health-Net) and the previous eight with them. Fast Freddie finished alone in 14th place just ahead of Jonas Carney.

The pro criterium was part of a three-day omnium, which started with a 7.8-mile time trial up Geiger Grade. In the time trial, riders chased Lemond’s mythical time of 27:14. Ofoto’s Tim Larkin edged out Webcor’s Justin England and Tony Cruz (USPS) with a new documented record of 29:36.

The weekend culminated with a grueling 90-mile road race that included two category 1 climbs and an eleven-mile climb over Gold Hill, Nevada’s steepest road. England and Cruz broke away on the Gold Hill climb and worked together for the second half of the race. On the final climb of the day, Justin England road away from Tony Cruz and held onto a 15-second lead for a solo win.


Images by Tim Healion/


Geiger Grade Hill Climb Time Trial
1  Tim Larkin (Ofoto)                       29.37
2  Justin England (Webcor Pro Cycling)       0.05
3  Antonio Cruz (U.S. Postal Service)        0.19
4  Phil Zajicek (Navigators)                 0.39
5  Patrick McCarty (U.S. Postal Service)     1.11
6  Trent Klasna (Sierra Nevada)              1.13
7  James Mattis (Webcor Pro Cycling)         1.15
8  Troy White (Sierra Nevada)                1.29
9  Michael Hernandez (Reno Wheelmen)         1.45
10  John Kelly (Webcor Pro Cycling)          1.46
The Mighty Tour De Nez Pro/1,2 Criterium
1 James Mattis (Webcor Pro Cycling)              
2 Antonio Cruz (U.S. Postal Service)             
3 Alex Candelario (Jelly Belly)                  
4 Ben Jacques-Mayne (Sierra Nevada)              
5 Tim Larkin (Ofoto)                             
6 David McCool (McGuire Cycling)                 
7 Karl Menzies (MGZT-Bianchi)                    
8 Dave Fuentes (Morgan Stanley)                  
9 Phil Zajicek (Navigators)                      
10 Michael Sayers (Health Net)                   
Tour De Nez Road Race
1  Justin England (Webcor Pro Cycling)    4.07.04
2  Antonio Cruz (U.S. Postal Service)        0.17
3  James Mattis (Webcor Pro Cycling)         4.20
4  John Kelly (Webcor Pro Cycling)           5.12
5  Damon Kluck (U.S. Postal Service)         5.23
6  Kyle Dixon (Team Easty/GS Reno)           5.28
7  Ben Jacques-Mayne (Sierra Nevada)         5.39
8  Chris Walker (Labor Power)                5.45
9  Michael Hutchinson (Team Spine)           6.42
10  Tim Larkin (Ofoto)                       9.10
Tour De Nez Omnium
1 Antonio Cruz (U.S. Postal Service)             
2 James Mattis (Webcor Pro Cycling)              
3 Tim Larkin (Ofoto)
4 Justin England (Webcor Pro Cycling)            
5 John Kelly (Webcor Pro Cycling)                
6 Ben Jacques-Mayne (Sierra Nevada)              
7 Phil Zajicek (Navigators)                      
8 Michael Hernandez (Reno Wheelmen)              
9 Michael Hutchinson (Team Spine)                
10 Trent Klasna (Sierra Nevada)                  

Past winners

2003 Eric Wohlberg (Saturn)

2002 Eric Wohlberg (Saturn)
2001 Mark Hlady (Webcor/AV)
2000 Mark Hlady (AV/Webcor/
1999 --
1998 Glen Winkle (US Postal)
1997 Glen Winkle (US Postal)
1996 Glen Winkle (US Postal)
1995 Jerry Malone
1994 Greg Munsell
1993 Brian McGuire
1992 Matt Mackenzie