Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Omloop Mandel-Leie-Schelde - Circuit Mandel-Lys-Escaut - 1.S/1.8

Belgium, August 28, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners

Boonen motors to derny win

Favourite Tom Boonen (Quick.Step-Davitamon) won the 59th edition of the Omloop-Mandel-Leie-Schelde, outsprinting Gorik Gardeyn (Lotto-Domo) and Nico Mattan (Relax-Bodysol). Jo Planckaert crossed the line in fourth position, only a few seconds in front of Fransceco Planckaert and the rest of the field.

The Omloop Mandel-Leie-Schelde is one of the popular derny-races held in Flanders. The race is run over 185 km, consisting of 1 big lap of 87km and 17 loops of 5.7 km behind derny-bikes.

The public clearly loves this kind of spectacle and the organizers manage to bring a huge crowd together in the West-Flemish town of Meulebeke each year.

"As much as the fans enjoy the spectacle, it is a fun race for us to ride too" a clearly in-from Scott Sunderland (Alessio-Bianchi) told Cyclingnews afterwards.

"Yesterday, I wasn't too sure about starting here. As I'm living in Flanders, the organisers invited me to their race and I couldn't resist. I thought I'd suffer at first but no, it really was good fun.I'm not at all wasted, on the contrary."

"We kinda cruised into Meulebeke, enjoying a bit of joking and laughs along the way. Then, when we came into the town, we got behind the derny's and we got serious. I was warned that this could rip your legs right off, as the derny riders tend to get a bit too enthusiastic; but I had to yell out to mine to go faster! I bet my ears will be ringing for the rest of the evening though; the noise levels of the 25 derny motorbikes exceeds that of the loudest nightclub music."   Tom Boonen seemed equally entertained. "Clearly the good form from the Tour de France is still there. There's a lot more nice races to come this season. It's not over yet!"

Results - 176 km

1 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon/Bruno Walrave                 4.41.00
2 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Domo/Bergman
3 Nico Mattan (Bel) Relax - Bodysol/Ras
4 Jo Planckaert (Bel) - Palmans/Zijlaard
5 Francesco Planckaert (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - Wincor Nixdorf/Deraet   0.04
6 Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone/De Bakker
7 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim/Gessler
8 Andy Cappelle (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - Wincor Nixdorf/Pacheco
9 Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen 2016/Rellensman
10 Scott Sunderland (Aus) Alessio-Bianchi/Dippel C.
11 Jurgen Vandewalle (Bel) Chocolade Jacques Wincor-Nixdorf/Acker
12 Bart Dockx (Bel) Relax - Bodysol/Hooydonck
13 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon/Huybrechts
14 Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen 2016/Dippel A.
15 Christophe Roodhooft (Bel) - Palmans/Mertens
16 Kristof Trouve (Bel) - Palmans/Oomen
17 Patrick McCarty (USA) US Postal Service p/b Berr/Bauerlein
18 Wim De Vocht (Bel) Relax - Bodysol/Verdoorn
19 Wim Vansevenant (Bel) Lotto-Domo/Baur H.
20 Kevin Van der Slagmolen (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim/Durst            0.21
21 James Van Landschoot (Bel) Relax - Bodysol/Van Uytvange               0.49
22 Michael Blanchy (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - Wincor Nixdorf/Mohlman      0.52
23 Wesley Van Speybroeck (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim/Van Oefelen        4.45

Past Winners

2003 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon
2002 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
2001 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites
2000 Stefano Zanini (Bel)
1999 (2) Johan Museeuw (Bel)
1998 Jo Planckaert (Bel)
1997 Franky De Buyst (Bel)
1996 Johan Museeuw (Bel)
1995 Niko Eeckhout (Bel)
1994 (2) Wilfried Nelissen (Bel)
1993 Frank Van den Abeele (Bel)
1992 Wilfried Nelissen (Bel)
1991 Wilco Zui-derwijk (Ned)
1990 Benjamin Van Itterbeck (Bel)
1989 (2) Eddy Planckaert (Bel)
1988 Johan Devos (Bel)
1987 Frans Maassen (Ned)
1986 Ronny Van Holen (Bel)
1985 Rudy Dhaenens (Bel)
1984 Patrick Versluys (Bel)
1983 William Tackaert (Bel)
1982 Gery Verlinden (Bel)
1981 Eddy Planckaert (Bel)
1980 Lieven Malfait (Bel)
1979 (2) Ludo Peeters (Bel)
1978 b) Ferdinand Van den Haute (Bel)
1978 a) Ludo Schurgers (Bel)
1977 b) Ludo Delcroix (Bel)
1977 a) Ludo Peeters (Bel)
1976 Willem Peeters (Bel)
1975 Joseph Gijsemans (Bel)
1974 José Van Ackere (Bel)
1973 Willy Abbeloos (Bel)
1972 Christian Callens (Bel)
1971 Eric Leman (Bel)
1970 Wilfreid David (Bel)
1969 Wim Schepers (Ned)
1968 Joseph Huysmans (Bel)
1967 Jan Harings (Ned)
1966 Ivo Molenaers (Bel)
1965 Jan Nolmans (Bel)
1964 Gilbert Desmet II (Bel)
1963 Norbert Kerckhove (Bel)
1962 Léon Van Daele (Bel)
1961 Piet Oellibrandt (Bel)
1960 Julien Schepens (Bel)
1959 Frans Aeren-houts (Bel)
1958 Joseph Hoevenaers (Bel)
1957 Noél Fore (Bel)
1956 Germain Derijcke (Bel)
1955 Wim Van Est (Ned)
1954 Maurice Blomme (Bel)
1953 André Declerck (Bel)
1952 Karel De Baere (Bel)
1951 Emmanuel Thoma (Bel)
1950 Albert Decin (Bel)
1949 Michel Remue (Bel)
1948 Georges Desplenter (Bel)
1947 Michel van Elsue (Bel)
1946 Alberic Schotte (Bel)
1945 André Pieters (Bel)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,