Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Omloop van de Vlaamse Scheldeboorden - Bazel - Kruibeke - 1.3

Belgium, April 17, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

Van Dijk in a repeat of 2002

Stefan van Dijk (Lotto-Domo) has repeated his 2002 performance to win the Omloop van de Vlaamse Scheldeboorden in Kruibeke. Van Dijk beat Dennis Kraft (Action) and Borut Bozic (Perutnina Ptuj) in a sprint of 13 riders, bringing an end to Lotto's run of near misses lately. Incredibly, Brioches La Boulangère had four riders in the lead group, but despite attacking constantly in the last 20 km, the best they could do was 5th with Anthony Geslin.

"I've got a good nose for these sorts of situations," said Van Dijk. "Two years ago I took the Dutch title in identical circumstances. Thus I let Brioches La Boulangère attack, but tried as much as possible to go with them, so that the others had to work. The last attack from one of the Frenchmen came with about five hundred metres from the finish. Bozic reacted and immediately started the sprint. I could take his wheel and the rest was child's play.

"I hope that this win signals the end of a difficult period. In February I suffered with a virus and to build that condition up again was very valuable time lost. But now I still have reserves and I'll try to get a spot in Lotto-Domo's Tour team," finished Van Dijk.

Results - 189 km

1 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Domo                             4.18.00
2 Dennis Kraft (Ger) Action                                           
3 Borut Bozic (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj                                    
4 Kevin Van Der Slagmolen (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                  
5 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                         
6 Jens Renders (Bel)                          
7 Robby Meul (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                             
8 Youri Deliens (Bel)                               
9 Kristof Trouve (Bel)                        
10 Alexandre Naulleau (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                    
11 Francesco Planckaert (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf    0.03
12 Unai Yus Querejeta (Spa) Brioches la Boulangère                0.09
13 Rony Martias (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                      0.11
14 Björn Leukemans (Bel)                  1.27
15 Franck Renier (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                         
16 Michael Blanchy (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf         1.31
17 Christoph Roodhooft (Bel)              3.10
18 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Lotto-Domo                              
19 Gregor Gazvoda (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj                                
20 Dimitri De Herdt (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                  3.45
21 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                        
22 Maxim Rudenko (Ukr) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf               
23 Krzysztof Krzywy (Pol) Action                                      
24 Matthew Gilmore (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                         
25 Miran Kelner (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj                                  
26 Roy Hegreberg (Nor) Jartazi Granville Team                         
27 Zdenek Mlynar (Cze) ASP Sparta Praha                           4.32
28 Aldo Ino Ilesic (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj                               
29 Adam Wadecki (Pol) Action                                          
30 Benedek Vörös (Hun) Team ICET                                  4.37
31 Ronny Assez (Bel)                            4.55
32 Josef Soukup (Cze) Czech National Team                         5.01
33 Pieter Muys (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                       5.45
34 Marcin Lewandowski (Pol) Action                                    
35 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Domo                                     
36 Ken Devaere (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                           
37 Marcin Osinski (Pol) Action                                        
38 Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                       
39 Nathan Russell (Aus)                               
40 Dries Van Der Ginst (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                   
41 Wouter Van Mechelen (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                     
42 Jurgen Beeckman (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                       
43 Stijn Vanstraelen (Bel)                          
44 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze) Czech National Team                           
45 David Kasek (Cze) Czech National Team                              
46 Dimitri Verstichelen (Bel)                       
47 Branko Filip (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj                                  
48 Jehudi Schoonacker (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                      
49 Bart Cosyn (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                            
50 Greg Germer (USA)                                
51 David Harrigan (Aus)                               
52 Vincent Van Rijn (Ned) Van Hemert-Eurogifts                        
53 Niek Voskamp (Ned) AXA Cycling Team                                
54 Christophe Stevens (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf          
55 Thierry Masschelein (Bel)                        
56 Martin Hebik (Cze) ASP Sparta Praha                                
57 Emil Hekele (Cze) ASP Sparta Praha                                 
58 Petr Pucelik (Cze) ASP Sparta Praha                                
59 Gert Vanderaerden (Bel)                    
60 Daniel Vobora (Cze) Czech National Team                            
61 Rik Reinerink (Ned) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf           6.00
62 John Gadret (Fra) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf                 
63 Bart De Spieghelaere (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                    
64 David Meys (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                              
65 Sébastien Mattozza (Bel)                         
66 Matt Rice (Aus)                                    
67 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                    
68 Daniel Lloyd (GBr)                               
69 Leigh Palmer (Aus)                                 
70 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Domo                                     
71 Wesley Van Speybroeck (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim                   
72 Danny Stam (Ned) AXA Cycling Team                                  
73 Kurt Van Landeghem (Bel) Van Vliet-EBH advocaten                   
74 Robert Slippens (Ned) AXA Cycling Team                             
75 Andy Dierckx (Bel) Jartazi Granville Team                          
76 Jos Pronk (Ned) Van Hemert-Eurogifts                               

Starters: 93

Past winners

2003 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis-Le Crédit par Téléphone         
2002 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Adecco
2001 Martin Hvastija (Slo) Alessio
2000 Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita)
1999 Geert Omloop (Bel)
1998 Geert Vanderaerden (Bel)
1997 Franky Van Haesebroucke (Bel)
1996 Rudy Verdonck (Bel)
1995 Wilfried Nelissen (Bel)
1994 Nico Emonds (Bel)
1993 Niko Eeckhout (Bel)
1992 Ludo Giesberts (Bel)
1991 Danny Neskens (Bel)
1990 Adri Van der Poel (Ned)
1989 Jan Bogaert (Bel)
1982 Walter Schoonjans (Bel)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,