Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

43rd Gran Premio Palio del Recioto - 1.7.1

Italy, April 13, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

By Brian Stephens, Australian U23 Team Manager

Tuesday's race was not far from home, just north of Verona in a town called Negrar. This race was again for a maximum of six riders, so Ryan came back in to the team and Nic Sanderson had the day off. The course is extremely tough with a steep climb to be negotiated eight times, the last of which continues for another 10 kilometres before the descent to the finish. Again, the last ascent usually decides this race. Ashley was again our best crossing the summit in the third small group and finishing 14th behind winner Tomaz Nose from Slovanian club team KRKA.

Results, 135 km

1 Tomasz Nose (Slo) Krka Novo Mesto                       3.36.36 (37.396 km/h)
2 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Krka Novo Mesto                      0.20
3 Domenico Puzzovivo (Ita) Zalf Desirèe Fior                 0.54
4 Elia Rigotto (Ita) VC Bassano 1892 Elca Seca               1.08
5 Claudio Corioni (Ita) Egidio Unidelta                      1.24
6 Matic Strgar (Slo) Radenska Rog
7 Maxim Belkov (Rus) Russian National Team
8 Julian David Munoz Giraldo (Col) Garlaschese Eurothermo    2.02
9 Victor Panaev (Rus) Russian National Team
10 Fabio Negri (Ita) Team Aurora Named                       2.11
11 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Filmop
12 Alexey Esin (Rus) Russian National Team
13 Riccardo Riccò (Ita) Grassi Coppi Rosini
14 Ashley Humbert (Aus) Australia National Team
15 Fabrizio Galeazzi (Ita) GS Termopiave
16 Javier Paniagua Herrera (Mex) Mexican National Team
17 Jimmy Tapparel (Swi) Swiss National Team
18 Carlo Westphal (Ger) German National Team                 3.02
19 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Bottoli Artoni Zoccorinese
20 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Bottoli Artoni Zoccorinese
21 Blazey Janiaczyk (Pol) Volvo Norda Dorini
22 Peter Velits (Slk) Slovakian National Team
23 Matteo Zanderigo (Ita) Egidio Unidelta
24 Francesco De Bonis (Ita) Bergamasca Las Helmets
25 Alexander Mironov (Rus) Russian National Team

Courtesy of