Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

French National Championships - CN

Plumelec, France, June 26-29, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 2 - June 28: Elite/U23 Women/Elite 2 Men Road Race, 97.3/166 km

Huguet does it her way

Sonia Huguet (UC Bassin-Houiller) claimed the French national road title Saturday with a solo victory on the Plumelec circuit. Huguet crossed the line 1'24" clear of Maryline Salvetat (VSLL Castres) and Delphine Guillé, who followed five seconds later and claimed the U23 title in addition to the third step on the podium.

After her time trial win two days ago, Jeannie Longo was the heavy favourite for today's road title. As a result, the 47 time national champion was closely marked by all of her rivals, and was unable to break the grip of the peloton. Longo came home with the main chase group in 12th place, 1'38" behind Huguet.

Salvetat and Guillé were active throughout the day, joining the first attack launched by Cathy Moncassin on the third of seven laps of the 13.9km circuit. The trio was quick to work together, but never gained more than a minute on the peloton. A war of attrition was also in progress, as only 15 riders were in the main group by the time the three leaders were caught on the fourth climb of the Côte de Cadoudal.

It was Huguet herself who shut down the break, and sensing the moment was right, she jumped immediately with her own counter attack, catching and dropping the leaders. Huguet's move was decisive, and despite the 65km remaining in the race, she held off all attempts at a chase, including a desperate move by Longo, unable to build on her time trial success. Salvetat and Guillé, caught between Huguet and the peloton, held onto their podium places by the narrowest of margins, beating the field home by just nine seconds.


Elite/U23 Women - 97.3 km
1 Sonia Huguet (UCB Houiller)                       2.38.41
2 Maryline Salvetat (VSLL Castres)                     1.24
3 Delphine Guille (VC Sébastiennais)*                  1.29
4 Juliette Vandekerckhove (VC Roubaix)                 1.38
5 Corine Sempe (Lescar Vélo Sprint)                        
6 Magali Le Floch (VC Epernay Champagne)                   
7 Sophie Creux (Chambéry Formation)                        
8 Nadia Triquet (UC Vallée du Hure)                        
9 Sandrine Marcuz (SC Michela Fanini Record Rox)           
10 Marina Jaunatre (VS Valletais)                          
11 Edwige Pitel (EP Manosque)                              
12 Jeannie Longo Ciprelli (Paris Cycliste Olympique)       
13 Stéphanie Reymond (VC St Julien en Genevois)        1.45
14 Magali Finot-Lavier (VSNM)                          1.59
15 Karine Dalmais (VC St Julien en Genevois)               
16 Magali Mocquery (RC St André)                       2.08
17 Laëtitia Belaud (US Sabolienne)                     2.35
18 Virginie Moinard (Chambéry Formation)               3.02
19 Vicky Fournial (VC Beauvais sur Oise)               7.55
20 Alexandra Le Henaff (VS Quimper)                    8.06
21 Béatrice Thomas (Mazza)                             8.08
22 Claire Antomarchi (VC La Pomme Marseille)               
23 Martine Gauthier (J.G.S.N)                          8.12
24 Stéphanie Denuit (SCO Dijon)                        8.17
25 Magali Simonot (Pédale Semuroise)                   8.20
26 Laëtitia Bizeul (VC Dinan)                              
27 Mélanie Morenvillez (VC Beauvais sur Oise)          9.02
28 Cathy Moncassin (Lavaur VC)                        12.52
29 Amélie Laurendon (UCF 42)                               
30 Karine Peter (UV Angérienne)                       12.54
31 Séverine Desmarchelier (UC Châteauroux)                
32 Ludivine Loze (US Montauban)                            
33 Sandrine Le Berre (ADC Neg Repelisse)              12.58
34 Sophie Evrard (CC Nogent sur Oise)                 13.05
35 Aline Parsy (Pédale Madeleinoise)                       
36 Marie Pommard (Chambéry Compétition)                    
37 Nathalie Tirard Collet (Roue d'Or St Amandoise)         
38 Audrey Perreon (VC Caladois)                            
39 Blandine Camus (Mazza)                                  
40 Emilie Bailly (Roue d'Or St Amandoise)             13.09
41 Jennifer Dehaas Boissiere (VC St Julien en Genevois)    
42 Virginie Jacob (VC St Julien en Genevois)               
43 Emilie Harmand (UC Vallée du Hure)                 13.20
44 Sabrina Cayre (VC Lisieux)                         13.22
45 Odile Carre (CA Castelsarrasin)                    13.29
46 Séverine Desbouys (VC La Cigale Marseille)              
47 Gwenn Oster (Team Cycliste Féminin 24)             21.15
48 Karine Saysset (Vélo Cité Millau)                  22.04
49 Nathalie Cadol (UC Guinefort)                      22.06
50 Stéphanie Gros (ES Gervais Lilas)                  22.08
51 Albertine Bouedo (EC Evel)                              
52 Sylvie Gesbert (VC Quintinais)                     22.14
53 Isabelle Nicoloso (UV Conches)                     22.18
54 Annie Thomas (VC Pithiviers)                            
55 Céline Le Saux (AC Pays de Baud)                        
56 Isabelle Moulis (Eauze Olympique)                  22.21
57 Murielle Rideau (VC Sébastiennais)                 22.32
58 Marie-Hélène Le Pennec (AC Pays de Baud)           22.39
59 Nadia Theuil (VC Roanne)                           22.41
60 Stéphanie Baud (S.C.O Dijon)                       22.50
61 Jennyfer Schirra (UCB Houiller)                    22.53
62 Fanny Riberot (VC St Julien en Genevois)           23.10
63 Carole Chaussard (VL Pithiviers)                   23.22
64 Elisabeth Coupel (UC Orléans)                           
65 Muriel Gaillet (UCF 42)                            26.57
66 Chrystelle Gueguen (UC Lamballe)                        
67 Carine Beurel (VC Loudéac)                         32.52

*Delphine Guille is the U23 champion 
Elite 2 Men - 166 km
1 Alexandre Grux (SCO Dijon)                        3.59.48
2 Noan Lelarge (UV Aube)                               0.09
3 Mathieu Sprick (Vendée U)                            0.36
4 John Gadret (VC Roubaix)                             0.41
5 Yann Pivois (UC Châteauroux)                         0.47
6 Franck Champeymont (AVC Aix)                         0.50
7 Frédéric Mainguenaud (VC Loudun)                     0.52
8 Stéphane Petilleau (VC Roubaix)                      0.59
9 Sylvain Lavergne (CC Etupes)                         1.00
10 Rony Martias (Vendée U)                                 
11 Yann Buiron (CA Mantes-la-Ville)                        
12 David Danion (UCL Hennebont)                            
13 Frédéric Lecrosnier (Jean Floc'h)                       
14 Nicolas Dulac (CR4C Roanne)                         1.05
15 Olivier Asmaker (US Montauban)                      1.15
16 Mathieu Claude (Vendée U)                           1.21
17 Samuel Gicquel (Jean Floc'h)                        1.44
18 Hubert Dupont (VC La Pomme Marseille)               1.50
19 Jérôme Chevallier (CC Etupes)                           
20 Christophe Morel (Montmarault VS)                       
21 Loïc Herbreteau (Bressuire AC)                          
22 Nicolas Meret (VC Rouen)                            1.54
23 Olivier Maignan (EC St-Etienne-Loire)               1.57
24 Maxime Mederel (Panorimmo)                              
25 Jérôme Bonnace (UC Châteauroux)                         

Courtesy of