Second Edition News for November 20, 1997

Contracts and Transfers

- The French rider, Yvon Ledanois has a new two year contract with the French team La Francaise des Jeuxmanaged by Marc Madiot. The 28-year old Ledanois, who rode with GAN in 1997, won a mountain stage in the Sierra Nevada during the Tour of Spain in September.

Ledanois is the 8th rider contracted by La Francaise de Jeux that includes Russian Evgueni Berzin and fellow Belgian Patrick D'Hondt. Madiot was successful this season winning two World Cup races (Frederic Guesdon at Paris Roubaix and Davide Rebellin).

- Gaspard Van Peteghem will start a new professional team in Belgium for 1998. The team will have 10 riders including Geert Omloop ex-team EC/Bayer Worringen who will be the top rider. The main sponsor will be the car manufacturer Daewoo.

And who did they pick - Australian Cyclist of the Year

24-year old West Australian Henk Vogels was awarded the Australian Cyclist of the Year 1997 title - the Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy - by Cycling Australia at a presentation in Sydney last night. He also won the Men's Road Cyclist of the Year. Neil Stephens (our choice by far!) was second and Robbie McEwen was third in the Road Award.

Vogels seems to have overcome a series of injuries which threatened his professional career. He had a consistent season with GAN in 1997 after a strong start in the Classics. He was retained by GAN management and will ride with the team now sponsored by Credit Agricole.

He was reported on local radio as saying: ""It's a bit of a shock, I only won one race this year, but I was very consistent. To be in the Tour de France, the World Cup classics and also riding with the million dollar riders is just incredible. For the judges to give this to me and not Shane Kelly and other guys who have done so well, I'm just very happy."

Shane Kelly (3 times 1 km TT World Champion) and Cadel Evans (2nd in World Cross Country MTB Championships, 3rd in World Cup) were also contenders for the Overall Honour award.

Dutch Hour Record

The KNWU's confirmed the one hour record for stayers which was set by Peter Pieters in September. The derny was ridden by Bruno Walrave and Pieters rode 57 kms 350 metres and 16 cms. That was 448 metres better than the old record.