Criterium International

France, March 25-26, 1995

Pre-Race Report

The teams taking part in the Criterium International are:

  • France ---- Castorama, Le Groupement, Gan, Chazal-MBK-Konig, Aubervilliers 93-Peugeot, La Mutuelle du Seine-et-Marne
  • Italy ---- Gewiss-Ballan, Mapei-GB, Carrera, Brescialat
  • Spain ---- Banesto, Once, Kelme, Euskadi, Castelblanc
  • Germany -- Telekom
  • Andorra -- Festina
  • Monaco --- Aki-Gipiemme
  • Russia --- Santa Clara
Riders include Jalabert, Bobrik, Ugrumov, Olano, Pantani, Dufaux, Podenzana, Jaskula, De Las Cuevas (who missed Paris-Nice because of flu), Rominger, Boardman, Seigneur, Lino, Bourguignon, and Pensec. Luc Leblanc has declined to take part but is first reserve for Le Groupement.


  • Saturday - Albi--Albi, 187 kms
  • Sunday
    1. Road Race (a.m.) -Mazamet--Pic de Nore (hilly stage) - 82.5 kms
    2. ITT (p.m.) - Graulhet--Lavaur - 18.5 kms
Day One Race Report

Laurent Jalabert (France) once again demonstrated his superb form by taking today's (Saturday) stage of the Criterium International. Jalabert outsprinted his twelve companions at the end of the 187 kilometer stage. Yevgeny Berzin (Russia) snatched second with fellow Russian Vladislav Bobrik finishing third. Good early season form was shown by Tony Rominger (Swithzerland) when he finished fourth.

Tomorrow's final stages are an 83 kilometer uphill ride from Jalabert's home town of Mazamet to the Pic de Nore mountain in the morning followed by an 18.5 kilometer individual time trial in the afternoon.

Stage 1 - 187 kms

  1. Laurent Jalabert (France)       04:32:37
  2. Yevgeny Berzin (Russia)
  3. Vladislav Bobrik (Russia)
  4. Tony Rominger (Switzerland)
  5. Stephane Heulot (France)
  6. Manuel Fernandez Gines (Spain)
  7. Gerard Rue (France)
  8. Fernando Escartin (Spain)
  9. Jim van de Laer (Belgium)
 10. Santiago Blanco (Spain)         all s.t.
Day Two Race Report

Laurent Jalabert became the first rider in history to win three major early-season races in succession -- Criterium International, Paris-Nice, and Milan-San Remo. "This one is special because you have to be strong all over to win it," Jalabert said of a race featuring a flat ride, an uphill stage and an individual time trial. Jalabert won Sunday morning's 82.5 kms stage from his hometown of Mazamet to Pic de Nore. He finished third in the afternoon's 18.5 kms individual time trial. "I have improved a lot lately, especially in time trials," said Jalabert.

Responding to journalists still asking questions about his horrific TdF crash he said, "I'm sick and tired of hearing everybody mention [last season's] crash. That was a long time ago. Now I'm just happy to win races and, hopefully, I will win a few more."

On another note, after abandoning the race before the start of today's morning stage, Tony Rominger said, "There's nothing wrong but I resumed racing only 11 days ago and I still need to practice."

Stage 2 - Road Race - 82.5 kms

  1. Laurent Jalabert (France)        02:25:26
  2. Vladislav Bobrik (Russia)             s.t.
  3. Francesco Frattini (Italy)           + 52 secs.
  4. Santiago Blanco (Spain)
  5. Yevgeny Berzin (Russia)
  6. Erik Breukink (Netherlands)
  7. Alfredo Irusta (Spain)
  8. Fernando Escartin (Spain)
  9. Massimo Podenzana (Italy)
 10. Franck Vandenbroucke (Belgium)    all s.t.
Stage 3 - ITT - 18.5 kms

  1. Pascal Lance (France)           22:59
  2. Berzin                           + 07 secs.
  3. Jalabert                           12 secs
  4. Breukink                           14
  5. Bobrik                             25
  6. Vandenbroucke                      44
  7. Blanco                             59
  8. Arturas Kasputis (Lithuania)     1:02
  9. Escartin                         1:04
 10. Rolf Aldag (Germany)             1:05
Final General Classification

  1. Jalabert                     07:20:44
  2. Bobrik                           + 32 secs.
  3. Berzin                           1:11
  4. Breukink                         1:24
  5. Blanco                           2:09
  6. Escartin                         2:12
  7. Vandenbroucke                    2:16
  8. Frattini                         2:36
  9. Podenzana                        2:57
 10. Armand de las Cuevas (France)    3:30