Luik-Bastenaken-Luik, World Cup Round 4

Belgium, April 16, 1995

Race Brief

Mauro Gianetti (Switzerland) rode away from a 4-man break on the final climb to win today's running of Liege-Bastogne-Liege, the fourth race in this year's World Cup competition.

Gianni Bugno (Italy) outsprinted Michele Bartoli (Italy) for the field sprint. Odds-on favourite Laurent Jalabert (France) finished fourth after making a bid 85 kms from the finish when he broke free on the 7th of 12 climbs, the Sockeu hill. The peloton later brought him back.

Two attacks by Bugno and one by Bartoli during the final climb failed, but when Gianetti pedaled away with less than five kilometers to go, none of the others could respond.

Race Distance: 261.5 kms

  1. Mauro Gianetti (Switzerland) Team Polti    06:38:25
  2. Gianni Bugno (Italy) MG-Technogym              + 15 secs.
  3. Michele Bartoli (Italy) Mercantone Uno
  4. Laurent Jalabert (France) Once                  s.t.
  5. Francesco Casagrande (Italy) Mercantone Uno    1:24
  6. Lance Armstrong (U.S.) Motorola                3:04
  7. Claudio Chiappucci (Italy) Carrera             4:45
  8. Rolf Sorensen (Denmark) MG-Technogym
  9. Heinz Imboden (Switzerland) Refin               s.t.
 10. Maarten Den Bakker (Netherlands) TVM          10:10
 11. Maurizio Fondriest (Italy) Lampre
 12. Andrei Tchmile (Moldova) Lotto
 13. Johan Museeuw (Belgium) Mapei-GB
 14. Alex Zulle (Switzerland) Once
 15. Gianluca Bortolami (Italy) GB-Mapei
 16. Davide Rebellin (Italy) MG-Technogym
 17. Eddy Bouwmans (Netherlands) Novell
 18. Marco Pantani (Italy) Carrera
 19. Yevgeny Berzin (Russia) Gewiss-Balan        all s.t.
 20. Dmitry Konyshev (Russia) AKI-Gipiemme         11:20
1995 World Cup standings (after four races)

  1. Museeuw                                 80 pts.
  2. Jalabert                                70
  3. Tchmile                                 65
  4. Franco Ballerini (Italy, Mapei-GB)      58
  5 (tied). Bartoli                          57
    (tied). Fabio Baldato (Italy, Mapei-GB)  57
  7. Gianetti                                50
  8 (tied). Chiappucci                       46
    (tied). Fondriest                        46
 10. Bugno                                   35
 11. Viacheslav Ekimov (Russia)              32
 12. Stefano Zanini (Italy)                  31