A Travers le Morbihan - France

FRANCE: A Travers le Morbihan (Cat 1.4) 205 km:

 1. Johan Capiot (Bel) Collstrop       4.49.26 (43,533 km/h)
 2. Jann Kirsipuu (Est) Petit Casino    + 0.02
 3. Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Collstrop
 4. Christophe Capelle (Fra) Forcesud
 5. Hendrik Redant (Bel) TVM
 6. Frederic Guesdon (Fra) Team Polti
 7. Eric de Clerq (Bel) Collstrop
 8. Ludo Dierickxsens (Bel) Tonissteiner
 9. Gilles Maignan (Fra) Mutuelle
10. Stephane Cueff (Fra) Mutuelle       all s.t.

Coupe de France after this event 7

Next event La Cote Picarde, April 22)
 1. Stephane Heulot (GAN) 				70
 2. Nicolas Jalabert (La Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne) 	68
 3. Laurent Jalabert (ONCE) 				66
 4. Jacky Durand (Agrigel-La Creuse) 			50
 5= Gilles Talmant (Aubervilliers 93-Peugeot) 		43
 5= Christophe Capelle (ForceSud) 			43 (+20)
 7= Didier Rous (GAN) 					35
 7= Thierry Marie (Agrigel-La Creuse) 			35
 9. Frederic Guesdon (Team Polti) 			30 (+16)
10. Christophe Rinero (ForceSud) 			29

Race Report

"The form has come 15 days too late," lamented Johan Capiot after breaking clear 600m from the line. He'd have liked to be in better shape for the Ronde van Vlaanderen and Paris--Roubaix. Early, GAN had got the race going on the cote de Plumelec at km33. The team's Francis Moreau, Laurent Desbiens and Philippe Gaumont got away, but also Pascal Lino (Roslotto-ZG Mobili) and Talmant (Aubervilliers 93-Peugeot) who refused to work in the break. Their lead reached 1.30 but TVM and Collstrop worked together to bring them back 40km later,Later Niels

Van Der Steen (Neth, TVM) broke clear, building a 4- minute lead before hitting a headwind on the way back to the coast. A final lead group of 20 riders hit the finishing circuit. Various attacks were attempted, including efforts by Dierckxsens and Jelle Nijdam and several French riders before Capiot's final successful one.