Results and Reports for March 16-17, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Murwillumbah Cycling Club

Nobbys Creek, March 16, 2002

Sunshine and breezes

By Phil Ruge

A very warm afternoon greeted the 66 riders who turned out to contest the second of this seasonís longer races over the tough Nobbys Creek course.

This race covers some 57 kilometres and takes riders out through Chillingham and on to Numinbah before returning back via Nobbys Creek to the finish at Dulguigan. Rated as perhaps the most difficult of all the courses used by the Murwillumbah Cycle Club this particular route features a total of 10 short but sharp climbs which usually determine the outcome of these races.

A large field of 16 riders faced the starter in A Grade. With a favourable wind on the outward leg the pace was high but the group kept together. Once into the hills the attacks came thick and fast which stretched the group out but determined riding saw most riders come back to the main group time and again.

Despite a testing headwind both into Nobbys Creek and on the flat country before the finish a sizable group were still together to fight out the finish. First home was Robert Lyte followed by Jon Guy with Andy Stewart and Jon Eather crossing the line together for third place!

B Grade sported a smaller field of 10 riders who also set off at a good pace. Like A Grade this group broke up once the climbs started with a smaller group of 4 riders going clear. This group worked well to stay away for the remainder of the race but started to attack each other on the run into the finish. Brian Richards looked to have things sewn up when a late charge by Andrew Blackmore saw him run down Richards to take first place. This left Richards in second place with Troy Sunderland third and Graham Harvey in fourth spot.

C Grade had the largest field of the afternoon with 25 riders. Despite the numbers a quick pace ensued with the group working well together out to Numinbah and back to Nobbys Creek. Once into Nobbys however the group began to splinter on the testing climbs which left a smaller group of the stronger riders to contest the finish. On the line it was Colin Ryman first, Dennis Kane second and Lindsay Smith in third place. Sandra Bury rode extremely well to be the first woman home in this race.

A good field of 15 riders which included 3 women started in D Grade. On the outward leg all of the women were prominent at the head of the field ably assisted by Dave Toyer, Lindsay Crisp and Bill Mustard. This group also split once Chillingham was passed and then continued to slowly drop other riders off all the way back to Nobbys Creek. The lead group was down to just 5 riders after Nobbys Creek and these few kept together until the finish. First home was Lindsay Crisp with Carrie Smith second, Gail Zinn third and novice rider Corey Barnes picking up fourth place. Given the tough course and weather conditions this was an great effort from all of these riders.

Racing next week is again over 55 kilometres with Bald Mountain being the nominated course. Start time is 3.00 pm DST from Pat Smith Park, Dulguigan.

Results, 57km

A Grade
1 Robert Lyte (Murwillumbah)                  1.26 (39.8km/h)
2 Jon Guy (Murwillumbah)
3 Andy Stewart (Gold Coast)
4 Jon Eather (Murwillumbah)
5 Craig Reston (Murwillumbah)
B Grade
1 Andrew Blackmore (Murwillumbah)             1.28 (38.8km/h)
2 Brian Richards (Murwillumbah)
3 Troy Sunderland (Murwillumbah)
4 Graham Harvey (Murwillumbah)
C Grade
1 Colin Ryman (Murwillumbah)                  1.37 (35.3km/h)
2 Dennis Kane (Murwillumbah)
3 Lindsay Smith (Murwillumbah)
First Woman - Sandra Bury (Murwillumbah)
D Grade
1 Lindsay Crisp (Murwillumbah)                1.47 (32km/h)
2 Carrie Smith (CATS)
3 Gail Zinn (Goldstars)
4 Corey Barnes (Novice)

Australian results from the past week


Complete Australian results for 2002