Results and Reports for March 16-19, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

AFL Park, Mulgrave, March 19, 2002

178 riders greeted the starter for the penultimate twilight criterium at the famous AFL Park circuit. The weather gods co-operated by turning on a good one ­ warm weather, sunny skies and little wind. Racing in all grades proved very competitive, as all riders would love to go out with a big win to cap off their memories of the racing over up to 18 years.

A few riders made the long overdue decision to mix it with the big boys in A Grade after doing it easy in B Grade for many moons. As a result, there were more willing legs to keep the pace high or contribute to chasing down any breaks.

Rob Tighello, although still recovering from a heavy cold, was always going to be the rider to watch, but visiting Canberra rider Michael Tolhurst has been riding strongly the past few weeks, and Swiss rider Markus Kammermann was also worth watching.

Kammermann was in the first serious move, along with the irrepressible Ray Turner (Repco/Park Tools/Diamond Back), Warren Knevitt (O’Mara Cycles) and Tighello’s ACR team mate, Matt Goold. The quartet got away 20 minutes in and were only pegged back at the half way mark. Kammermann tried again soon after, with host and former Euro pro Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) and the young at heart Geoff Whiter.

The bunch was in the mood for a sprint finish, and soon had things all together, and kept it that way until a brief effort from Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) and another of the ACR crew, Matt Jackson. After their effort, the sprinters must have fancied their chances for the first time in a while, only to be foiled by the tactics of the ACR boys.

Goold stole a break leading into the finish, which no one was prepared to close, given the speed of the waiting Tighello. Sure enough, after Goold took a great win, Tigs lead the bunch home ahead of speedsters Thaddeus Roos (Bicycle Superstore) and Knevitt, with Jackson and Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles) also in the money.

The human motor bike known as Justin Davis (O’Mara Cycles), was first to escape the clutches of the huge B Grade field, going away with Steve Martin, Ken Mayberry and Garron Buckland in the middle part of the race. Davis is renowned for riding away from the field in a Club Pointscore on the track despite the efforts of the other 25 riders to chase him down, and after the race commenting how enjoyable it was not to have to think tactics! With 15 minutes remaining, the bunch had regrouped, and next to fly away were Jamie Nicholson and Ken Ford. Too much gas left in the tank of the bunch, however, and once again, the full field presented for a mass sprint.

Nicholson surprised the more fancied sprinters to claim a rare win, and denied first year rider Grant Jamieson his first win at this level. Paul Logan and Bruce Will filled out the minor placings, with Miyoko Karami again the best placed of the Elite women.

Bill Upston almost stole the show in C Grade, spending a good part of the race riding alone away from the bunch, before a concerted chase finally reeled him in. ‘Young’ Bill still packs a mean sprint, and looked every inch a winner in the final sprint before running out of legs in the closing meters and allowing Jason Jones to flash past for the win. Ben Willey and Jeremy Gough continued their consistent good form by filling out the minor placings, and Rachel Rademaker returned to the winners list as leading woman in the big bunch.

72 year old Bill Dove flew the flag for the Masters contingent, taking out the D Grade sprint ahead of a field which contained riders up to 60 years younger! Jason Gelsi had to settle for second ahead of Rob Davis and Mark Spataro. Tess Downing sharpened up for her trip to Alice Springs as past of the Victorian Junior Track Team for the Australian Titles by leading the women home.

Young Mitch Peart finally got for a win over arch rival Dale Reith in the junior event, and it won’t be long before all the boys are ready to make the step up to D Grade.

Next Tuesday night is definitely the last ever chance to race on this circuit. Don’t miss your chance for one last win, or at least come along for a beer and a sausage and the chance to catch up with guys and girls who have raced and volunteered over the last 18 years. Racing starts at 6pm for C, D and E Grades, with A and B starting at 6.45pm. Entry is via Gate 7 off Jacksons Road, with all ACF license holders welcome to compete.


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps - 27 starters
1 Matt Goold (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Robert Tighello (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Thaddeus Roos (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Warren Knevitt (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
5 Matt Jackson (Footscray CC)
6 Brendan Rowbotham (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
B Grade - 55 mins + 3 laps - 54 Starters
1 Jamie Nicholson (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
2 Grant Jamieson (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Paul Logan (SKCC)
4 Bruce Will. (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Women: Miyoko Karami (Japan)
C Grade - 50 mins + 3 laps - 43 starters
1 Jason Jones (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Bill Upston (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Ben Willey (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Jeremy Gough (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Women: Rachel Rademaker (Blackburn CC)
D Grade - 50 mins + 3 laps - 24 starters
1 Bill Dove (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Jason Gelsi (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Rob Davis (SKCC)
4 Bill Dove (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Women: Tess Downing (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
E Grade - 40 mins + 3 laps
1 Mitch Peart (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Dale Reith (Blackburn CC)
3 Tim Sonelli (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC



Australian results from the past week


Complete Australian results for 2002