Results and Reports for March 9 - 10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

dEVo Spring Road Race Series #1

Langley BC, March 10, 2002

Van Velzen starts 2002 with a win

By Jeremy Storie

The road season opened on Sunday March 10 with the first of 7 road races that comprise the dEVo Powerbar/Ryders/Adidas/Louis Garneau Spring Road Race Series.

The race started with cloudy skies but dry conditions and a temperature of around 7C. This lasted for about one of the 6.2km laps as a steady rain came down for the remainder of the race making conditions very miserable. The men's A race was contested over 93km and saw Sympatico's Min Van Velzen leave his break companion of the last six laps, Dylan Sebel, for the win.

In the B group a strong group of about eight riders went clear with about 30km left in the 68km race with Escape Velocity's Ken Johnson taking the win.

In the C group, Dag Sharman left the group on the final lap to solo in for the win.


A group
1 Min Van Velzen (Sympatico)
2 Bruno Nella (Sympatico)
3 Tim Kilcullen
4 Dylan Sebel
5 Adrian Elzinga
B group
1 Ken Johnson (Escape Velocity)
2 Dave Schneider (Escape Velocity)
3 Gavin Forsythe
4 Reid Duthie
5 Patrick Jones (Roach)
C group
1 Dag Sharman
2 Joe Hailey (Campione)
3 Laura Johnson (Escape Velocity)
4 Andy Rowlson
5 Kyle Stevens

Previous USA Results