Results and Reports for March 9-10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, March 9 2002

Manly-Warringah riders race at Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

Four Manly-Warringah Cycling Club riders lined up at the Randwick Botany Cycling Club Criterium races on Saturday . James Crane, Ryan Terry, Peter McNamara and U19 Adam Hall joined local riders in several events around the tight Heffron Park circuit.

Shaun Higgerson started 1km behind, in the 6-rider A Grade group, over 36km. Higgerson worked hard to bridge the gap but didn't quite make it at the end. Final placings were Liam Kelly, Jeff Jones and Clive Hammerson.

The 11-rider B Grade race featured some strong breakaways over the 32km event with Randwick Botany riders Mark Robertson and Aaron Castles going 'up-the-road' after 8km. The bunch worked hard to bring them back at the 12km mark but Matthew Lucas broke away with 6 laps to go. The bunch was back together for the mass sprint to the line. Castles led out but was chased down by place getters Robert Cater, Matthew Lucas and George Pappas from the Dulwich Hill Cycling Club.

Tim Rice and Paul Kelly from the Sydney Cycling Club, broke away at the end of the first lap in the 22-rider C Grade 28km race. Rice and Kelly maintained the break until the halfway point when the bunch regrouped for the race to the finish. Final placings were Tim Rice, Mark Davies and Dave Jackson.

Eastern Suburbs rider Anton Rivera rode strongly to win the 16-rider D Grade 20km event. Second was veteran Ron Sproule and third Tanya Bosch who is preparing for the 2002 National Masters Cycling Championships in Alice Springs at the end of March.

In other club news: Local Randwick Botany D Grade rider Janelle Lindsay has won selection in the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) Talent Search program. Sponsored by the Australian Sports Commission, Lindsay has entered an intensive 8-week training program aimed at developing her velodrome track cycling skills and strength.

Seven junior race events were conducted. Results follow at the end of this report.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A Grade, 36km
1 Liam Kelly
2 Jeff Jones
3 Clive Hammerson
B Grade, 32km
1 Robert Cater
2 Matthew Lucas
3 George Pappas
C Grade, 28km
1 Tim Rice
2 Mark Davies
3 Dave Jackson
D Grade, 20km
1 Anton Rivera
2 Ron Sproule
3 Tanya Bosch
E Grade, 16km
1 Julia Guinan
2 Kevin Blanchfield


U19 Time Trial, 6km
1 Chris Young                   10.12
U17 Time Trial, 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison              11.04
U15 Time Trail, 6km
1 Pita Vea                      10.56
2 Andrew Young                   0.40
U13 Time Trial, 6km
1 Luke Davison                  12.34
U11 Time Trial, 2km
1 Jack Bennett                   4.07
2 Adriano Maradini               0.38
3 Tyler Hailwood                 0.48
4 Nicholas Mellick               1.08
A Grade, 16km      
1 Keegan Aitchison 
2 Chris Young      
3 Andrew Young     
B Grade, 16km      
1 Jack Bennett     
2 Adriano Maradini 
3 Tyler Hailwood   
4 Nicholas Mellick 



Australian results from the past week


Complete Australian results for 2002