Results and Reports for March 9-12, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Tuesday Criterium

AFL Park, Mulgrave, March 12, 2002

More sunny racing

By Malcolm Sawford

The good weather finally looks like hanging around; what a pity there are only a few weeks left of daylight savings to take advantage of it! Not as hot as last week, but great fields across all grades as Melbourne's racing cyclists took full advantage of possibly one of the last times they will have access to the popular car free roads of the former pride of the Australian Football League.

A Grade promised to be an open race today, as the record setting winner of the last 6 races, Robert Tighello, was not in attendance. Still, a class field took to the start, with Agostino Giramondo fighting peak hour traffic to bring out a party of raiders from Footscray in the hope of finding a new winner.

Things stayed pretty much together until the midway point of the race, when 8 riders forged clear, with Giramondo joined by Matt Jackson (ACR), Ray Turner (Repco/Park Tools/Diamond Back), Lee Godfrey (VIS), Luke Roberts, local star Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles), Murray Spink (Jones Cycles) and Ryan Kelly (Terry Hammond Cycles). It would take the peloton till the 40 minute mark to regroup after a hard chase.

Obviously the Bendigo Madison hadn't hurt his legs too much, as Roberts was on the attack again a few laps later with Turner quick to respond, and at the 50 minute mark they were joined by Dennis Markouris, Godfrey, Jackson and Thaddeus Roos (Bicycle Superstore). This combination had too much horsepower for the chasers in the main bunch, and would go on to fight out the finish.

Godfrey took the win ahead of regular winner at the Footscray Crits Markouris, with Turner recording his best result this season, and all breakaway riders 'in the money'.

Gary Trowell was in both escapes from the big B Grade field tonight; firstly with new Club member Grant Edmunds at the 20 minute mark, and later with Peter Howard. The attentive bunch wasn't prepared to let him stay away, however, and on a fairly still night things looked like coming down to a bunch sprint.

Young Josh Rogers earned the wrath of the judges, attacking onto the back of the passing A Grade bunch, and riding away with them, only to be DQ'ed from the results, and leaving the law abiding bunch to charge to the finish line all together.

Shane Mills (O'Mara Cycles) scored the win, ahead of constantly improving Danny Weatherley, Chris D'Amelio and the fast finishing Trowell. Visiting Japanese rider Miyoko Karami was the only female competitor on B Grade today, a fall had ended her race at the Tour de Snowy early leaving her with some excess energy to burn!

An impressive solo win came as somewhat of a surprise in C Grade. After unsuccessful attempts by Jack Lumby, Jason Jones and Rick Jones, Russell Grass took off at the 38 minute mark and resisted all efforts to chase him down. Lumby lead the bunch home, ahead of Hayden Marcollo and Andy Cameron.

New Victorian Institute of Sport rider Apryl Eppinger celebrated her last ride in D Grade by upstaging the guys in the bunch sprint, to record her first win after a run of near misses. Rob Davis was next best, ahead of David Bulger and star of yesteryear Bill Dove, with Tess Downing not far out of the placings.

There are only two more races left in the twilight series, on the 19th and 26th of this month, and the 'word on the street' is that the massive housing development on the site will start a lot sooner than initially anticipated. Don't miss your chance to get one last race in at this fantastic venue, the home of Criterium racing in Melbourne for over 10 years, before it's carved up to make way for houses. Racing starts at 6pm, and entry is via Gate 7 off Jacksons Road, and all ACF license holders are welcome.


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps - 28 starters
1 Lee Godfrey (Geelong West CC)
2 Dennis Markouris (Footscray CC)
3 Ray Turner (Footscray CC)
4 Matt Jackson (Footscray CC)
5 Thaddeus Roos (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
6 Ray Turner (Footscray CC)
B Grade - 55 mins + 3 laps - 49 Starters
1 Shane Mills (Footscray CC)
2 Danny Weatherley (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Chris D'Amelio (Bairnsdale & Riviera CC)
4 Gary Trowell (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
C Grade - 50 mins + 3 laps - 35 starters
1 Russell Grass (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Jack Lumby (Blackburn CC)
3 Hayden Marcollo (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Andy Cameron (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
D Grade - 50 mins + 3 laps - 25 starters
1 Apryl Eppinger (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Rob Davis (SKCC)
3 David Bulger (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
4 Bill Dove (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
E Grade - 40 mins + 3 laps
1 Craig Nicholson (Blackburn CC)
2 Dale Reith (Blackburn CC)
3 Mitch Peart (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC 

Australian results from the past week


Complete Australian results for 2002