Results and Reports for March 2- 3, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, March 2, 2002

Higgerson solos to win

By Tony Horneman

Fifteen A and B Grade riders combined for an 18-lap race around the 2km Heffron Park criterium circuit at Maroubra in Sydney’s eastern suburbs on Saturday 2 March 2001. Randwick Botany rider Shaun Higgerson made an early break with John Kenny. Higgerson maintained the pressure and dropped Kenny by the half way mark and went on to win by a margin of over 90 seconds. Second was John Kenny with Brent Skippen finishing third. The first B Grader home was Arthur Driver.

The C Grade race was conducted over 30km with 26 riders lining up for the start. The bunch rolled along and an easy pace for the first 5 laps when John Buckton surged, closely followed by Tony Horneman. Paula Rettenmaier stayed with the front-runners for the rest of the race and finished in sixth place. Other C Grade women riders included Raye Taylor and Bianca Norman. Joseph Sorby led out in the final sprint from the start of the strait. With about 50m to go, Sorby started to tire and Buckton came around him to take the lead. At 20m to go Dave Jackson passed Buckton to win by the width of a tyre. Sorby finished third.

Sixteen D Grade riders started in the 20km race, which was won by Michael Avakian followed by Ted Szymanski and Phillip Chippendale. Sarah Oakes finished in fourth place. E Grade competed over 16km and placing were Ken Woodhouse and Kevin Blanchfield.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A/B Grade, 36km

1 Shaun Higgerson
2 John Kenny
3 Brent Skippen
First B Grader: Arthur Driver
C Grade, 30km
1 Dave Jackson
2 John Buckton
3 Joseph Sorby
D Grade, 20km
1 Michael Avakian
2 Ted Szymanski
3 Phillip Chippendale
E Grade, 16km
1 Ken Woodhouse
2 Kevin Blanchfield


U17 Time Trial, 10km
1 Keegan Aitchison                    17.41
2 Michael Murdoch                      0.16
3 Thomas Murdoch                       0.42
First Woman: Belinda Angwin            2.12
U15 Time Trail, 8km
1 Mark Woodhouse                      15.50
2 Thom Richards                        0.13
3 Andrew Young                         1.02
U13 Time Trial, 6km
1 Luke Davison                        12.08
2 Max Gueniev                          1.19
3 Tayla Aitchison                      2.04
U11 Time Trial, 4km
1 Jack Bennett                         7.27
2 Adriano Maradini                     1.41
3 Tyler Hailwood                       2.48
A Grade, 10km
1 Michael Murdoch
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Thomas Murdoch
B Grade, 10km
1 Mark Woodhouse
2 Luke Davison
C Grade, 10km
1 Jack Bennett
2 Adriano Maradini

Previous Australian Results