Gent-Ieper-Kattekoers - 1.6

Belgium, March 17, 2002

2001 results    Results    Past winners

Sullivan wins in Belgium

Courtesy of Kevin Tabotta, Tasmanian Institute of Sport

24 year old Evandale cyclist Sean Sullivan had kicked off his European road season in the best way possible by taking out the Gent - Ieper road race in Belgium yesterday. Until Sullivan's victory, the 160km race has never been won by a foreign rider. Some of Europe's best elite and amateur cycling teams including Rabobank and Domo Farm Frites Espoirs competed in the race which carries a 1.6 rating on the International Cycling Union calendar.

Sullivan made his move on the last lap of a cobbled climb circuit. In pursuit of a solo break-away rider, 2 riders including the Tasmanian broke from the main field to challenge for the sprint to the line, with Sullivan victorious.

Sullivan was delighted with his win after placing 2nd on now more than 6 occasions in his European season last year. Now riding with the Bloksweiler Team in Belgium, he has also been joined this year by two other Tasmanians, Nathan Clarke and Caleb Manion. Both riders competed in the event but did not finish due to falls. Neither rider was seriously injured.

Results - 158 km

1 Sean Sullivan (Aus) Bloksweiler 3.46.00
2 Stefaan Vermeersch (Bel)           
3 Roel Egelmeers (Ned)               0.01
4 Kevin De Weerdt (Bel)              0.04
5 Steven De Champs (Bel)             0.12
6 Sebastien Six (Fra)                0.16
7 David Orvalho (Ned)                
8 Johan Van Summeren (Bel)           0.20
9 Danny Dierickx (Bel)               2.04
10 Kees Jeurissen (Ned)              
11 Andy Vanhoudt (Bel)               2.09
12 Nick Nuyens (Bel)                 2.13
13 Wim Herremans (Bel)               
14 Patrick Cocquyt (Bel)             2.17
15 Jurgen Deceuninck (Bel)           
16 Kurt Eeckhout (Bel)               
17 Bart Dockx (Bel)                  
18 Thijs Zonneveld (Ned)             
19 Jens Klier (Ger)                  2.32
20 Mario Willems (Bel)

Past winners

2001 Stefaan Vermeersch (Bel)
2000 Bert De Waele (Bel)
1999 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel)
1998 Coen Boerman (Ned)
1997 Karel Vereecke (Bel)
1996 Jurgen Vermeersch (Bel)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl/