Skilled Geelong Bay Classic - NE

Australia, January 2-6, 2002

Day 2 - January 3: Barwon Heads. Start 12.30pm, finish 3.30pm

Elite Men    Elite Women    B Grade

Results    Preview and course profile    Previous stage    Next stage

Gilmore hits the lead

By Karen Forman in Barwon Heads
Click for larger image
Rochelle Gilmore
Photo: © Karen Forman
A dynamic display of sprinting from the sprint queen Rochelle Gilmore saw the race favourite clinch the women's event on the second day of the 2001 Skilled Geelong Bay Classic at Barwon Heads yesterday - and snatch the overall lead from first-day winner, Kristy Scrymgeour.

The win, combined with her third place on day one at Rye, gives her 20 points and a good headstart on world champion Anna Millward, expected to ride for the first time this series in the Australian criterium championship event - and third Skilled Geelong Bay Classic round - at Geelong on Friday night.

What made the win even more special for Gilmore was the fact she left her family's Sydney home for Victoria only hours before one of the family homes was burnt to the ground following the devastating Christmas bushfires.

"I am really happy," she said afterward. "But I couldn't have done it without my team mates. I gave that sprint to the line everything I had."

Alison Wright of the ACT was second and Joanne Kiesanowski of New Zealand was third in the bunch sprint. Scrymgeour, tied on equal six points with Katherine Bates, retains the sprint jersey.

The women's event was action from the gun, with Scrymgeour making her determination to retain her lead from Rye, very obvious from the outset. There was plenty of action in the first lap with Victorian Institute of Sport rider Katie Mactier, national road champion in 2000, making a solo breakaway.

The women completed the first lap in a swift 1.52 minutes, not far outside the 1.49 minutes recorded by the B grade men. With legendary cycling commentator Phil Liggett adding plenty of professionalism to the event, Margaret Hemsley (ACT) and Kym Shirley (Queensland) reeled in the breakaway on the second lap, but there were plenty of attempts at attacking up to the first intermediate sprint, taken by Naomi Williams with Emma Rickards second and Katherine Bates third.
Click for larger image
Action from the women's race
Photo: © Karen Forman

Another breakaway while the pace was on featured major player from day one, Sara Carrigan, Scrymgeour and Wright, but the bunch reeled them back in. With one lap to go before the second sprint, Liz Tadich was out on the front, pumping hard for a breakaway. Olivia Gollan (NSW) led the bunch through to the sprint, but the honours went to Bates, with Rickards taking second spot and Joanne Kiesanowski third.

This gave Bates six points - equal to what Scrymgeour had collected at Rye.

With five to go, Gilmore, who had been safely travelling mid-bunch, made a move forward, with Scrymgeour and Emma James setting the pace on the front. Hayley Rutherford (NSW) and Naomi Williams moved up and were clear of the bunch for a lap, but the field closed in with three laps before the finish.

Tadich attacked with two laps to go, with Scrymgeour and Gilmore working the front of the bunch. Tadich was still out front at the bell but Gilmore was in perfect position and aching for a win. Her sprint for the line was hard and true; her victory comfortable. Wright was second and Joanne Kiesanowski was third.

All eyes will be on Gilmore tomorrow night as she takes on a Millward hungry for a national title.



1 Rochelle Gilmore (NSW)
2 Alison Wright (ACT)
3 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl)
4 Liz Tadich (Qld)
5 Emma Louise Rickards (Vic)
6 Sue Thomas (GBr)
7 Sara Carrigan (Qld)
8 Kristy Scrymgeour (NSW)
9 Kerry Cohen (Tas)
10 Dellys Franke (Vic)
Sprint 1
1 Naomi Williams (Tas)
2 Emma Louise Rickards (Vic)
3 Katherine Bates (NSW)
Sprint 2
1 Katherine Bates (NSW)
2 Emma Louise Rickards (Vic)
3 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl)

Overall standings after race 2
1 Rochelle Gilmore             (20) points
2 Kristy Scrymgeour            (15)
3 Sara CarriganJoanne          (14)
3 KiesanowskiAlison Wright     (14)
5 Hayley Rutherford            (12)
6 Emma Rickards                 (9)
7 Katherine Bates               (7)
8 Sue Thomas                    (5)
9 Olivia GollanKerry Cohen      (2)
10 Lorian Graham                (1)
10 Dellys Franke                (1)
Sprint Ace after race 2
1 Kristy Scrymgeour             (6)
1 Katherine Bates               (6)
3 Emma Rickards                 (4)
4 Naomi Williams                (3)
5 Alison Wright                 (2)
5 Sara Carrigan                 (2)
7 Joanne Keisanowski            (1)

back to top