2nd Giro Riviera Ligure Ponente - 2.3

Italy, February 20-23, 2002

2001 Results    Stages    Preview    Start list    Past winners

The Stages


Italy's first stage race of the year, the Giro Riviera Ligure Ponente starts today, February 20 with most of the riders from yesterday's Trophy Laigueglia expected to take part.

2002 Giro d'Italia winner Gilberto Simoni will start, lining up with Saeco team-mates and Laigueglia winners Mirko Celestino (2001) and Danilo Di Luca. A strong Italian presence is assured with the participation of Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) and Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner).

Other international stars include France's Laurent Jalabert (CSC) and the Belgian Johan Museeuw (Domo).

However, world champion Oscar Freire will be absent following changes to his early-season schedule.

Start list


Past winners

2001 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step