95th Giro di Lombardia - CDM

Italy, October 20, 2001

Start List    Course Profile and Map    Results

Complete live report

Welcome to Cyclingnews' coverage of the 95th edition of the Giro di Lombardia, the 10th and final round of the UCI World Cup. That competition has all but been decided, unless Romans Vainsteins pulls off an unlikely win in the 'race of the falling leaves' and World Cup leader Erik Dekker finishes outside the top 15.

It could be a double Dutch day today. Erik Dekker can win the World Cup, and his Rabobank team has 5 more points than Domo-Farm Frites in the team's competition. So maybe the Dutch team can win both prizes for the first time in the Dutch history.

15:00 CEST
A brief update so far. Two riders attacked: Andreas Klier (Telekom) and Roberto Conti (Cantina Tollo). They had a maximum of 6'25 before Klier fell on the wet roads, so Conti carried on solo. Klier came back to the peloton, and the bunch caught Conti on the second Climb (Casazza, 345 m).

With 90 km to go, there is an attack by Beat Zberg (Rabobank).

15:10 CEST
Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) attacked from the peloton and a group of 8 are now leading with 35 seconds. In this group: Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo), Beat Zberg (Rabobank), Maximilian Sciandri (Lampre), Peter Farazijn (Cofidis), Jorg Jaksche (ONCE) and... Erik Dekker (Rabobank).

15:28 CEST
The other two riders in the group of 8: Cristian Gasperoni (Cantina Tollo) and Massimo Codol (Lampre). The break is over the Selvino (962 m), leading by 35 seconds with around 55 km to go to the finish.

15:47 CEST
16 riders bridged up to the leaders after Selvino, so there are now 24 riders in total leading the Giro di Lombardia and they have around 1 minute to the peloton.

The group of 16: Michael Boogerd and Geert Verheyen (so now 4 Rabobanks in the first group), Nicklas Axelsson (Panaria), Danilo Di Luca (Cantina Tollo), Gilberto Simoni (Lampre), Peter Luttenberger (Tacconi), Matthias Kessler (Telekom), Francisco Mancebo Perez (iBaensto), Wladimir Belli (Fassa Bortolo) and Richard Virenque (Domo Farm Frites).

No sign of Romans Vainsteins. He isn't in the leaders group. The first group is led by...Erik Dekker.

There are still 40 km to go. Geert Verheyen (Rabobank) fell and lost contact with first group. The roads are wet and with the autumn leaves it can be dangerous in the up coming descents.

16:06 CEST
The mist is making it impossible for any TV coverage today, and only the last few hundred metres will be shown on the box. The latest update: on the climb of the Berbenno there are now 4 leaders: Wladimir Belli (Fassa Bortolo), Richard Virenque (Domo-Farm Frites), Matthias Kessler (Telekom) and Filippo Perfetto. At 45 seconds Mirko Celestino (Saeco). At 1'22 behind the 4 leaders, a group with Boogerd and Verheyen, but no Erik Dekker. He should be in a group behind this one.

On the descent, the groups come together and there are now 16 riders leading.

16:16 CEST
Two leaders now: Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) and Nicklas Axelsson (Panaria). At 11 seconds: Di Luca, Giuliano Figueras and Richard Virenque, and at 40 seconds a group with Simoni, Mancebo, Beat Zberg, Gasperoni. At 1'21 is the group with Jaksche

16:24 CEST -20 km to go
Axelsson fell while in the lead, and Boogerd was caught by Virenque, Di Luca and Figueras. Beat Zberg is chasing alone at 40 seconds, while at 1'10 is a group with Bartoli and Erik Dekker. The peloton is more than 5 minutes behind.

Because there are three Rabobank riders in the front and only one Domo (Virenque), the World Cup for teams will go to Rabobank too.

16:35 CEST
We still have 4 leaders: Boogerd, Virenque, Di Luca, and Figueras. Can Virenque win his second World Cup in a row? It would help Lefevere's budgetary plans for next season, which are aimed to give Virenque a decent contract again.

At 15 seconds is the Swiss sprinter Beat Zberg, who could definitely be a threat. At 50 seconds, Bartoli, Dekker, Belli, and Sciandri; then Mancebo and Axelsson at 1'00; and a group with Celestino and Luttenberger at 1'20. The gaps are small, and anything can happen over the final 15 km.

16:38 CEST - 12 km to go
With 12 km to go there are still 4 leaders (but will they arrive together at the finish?) with Zberg at 1 minute (possibly a fall?). In the last 3.5 km there is a tough climb, comparable to the Muur van Geraardsbergen, followed by a descent and at 200 meters to go a 90 degrees turn to the finish. At that place the road is very bad...

Chasing the front riders are Zberg, Bartoli, Dekker, Belli, Mancebo and Sciandri. Axelsson is alone behind this group.

16:46 CEST - 3.5 km to go
Di Luca attacks on the last climb, and only Figueras and Boogerd can follow. Virenque cannot. Di Luca continues his solo attack, and he has 60 metres on Boogerd and Figueras with 3 km to go.

16:49 CEST - 1 km to go
There are three leaders again with one kilometre to go. Can Boogerd outwit the two Italians for a Rabobank win...?

16:53 CEST - 0 km to go
And the winner is (after a very slippery sprint)...Danilo Di Luca! Second is Figueras, then Boogerd and Virenque.


1 Danilo di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo-Acqua e Sapone
2 Guiliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche-Panaria Fiordo
3 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank
4 Richard Virenque (Fra) Domo-Farm Frites
5 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
6 Beat Zberg (Swi) Rabobank
7 Max Sciandri (GBr) Lampre-Daikin
8 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
9 Nicklas Axelsson (Swe) Alessio
10 Matthias Kessler (Ger) Telekom
11 Jorg Jaksche (Ger) ONCE
12 Erik Dekker (Ned) Rabobank                      4.40

World Cup winner: Erik Dekker

Teams: Rabobank 

Results    back to top