GP Kanton Aargau/Gippingen - 1.1

Switzerland, May 6, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Kroon wins GP Kanton Aargau

Rabobank continue to cement their position as the world's best team after recording a win in the UCI class 1.1 Grand Prix Kanton Aargau in Gippingen, Switzerland. Today's victor was Karsten Kroon, who wore the climber's jersey for a time in last year's Giro, but today outsprinted Telekom's Alberto Elli and Jakob Piil (CSC).

The 196 kilometre race was held in cool temperatures, and saw Jan Ullrich take the start. However, the German Tour hope pulled out with 30 kilometres to go, in order to "preserve himself" for the Tour de Romandie that starts on Tuesday.

By that stage, the race had already been narrowed down to a 12 man top group that included (in addition to the top three), Daniel Schnider (FdJ), Simone Bertoletti (Lampre), Steven Kleynen (Domo-Farm Frites), Steve Vermaut (Lotto), Lukas Zumsteg (Phonak), Armin Meier (Saeco), Niklas Axelsson (Mercury-Viatel), Andrea Peron (Fassa Bortolo), and Alex Zülle (Coast). These riders had escaped in the early part of the race, and managed a five minute lead at the halfway point.

With a good team representation in the break, it turned out that this was enough for them to win the race. The 12 stayed together until the finish, with Kroon getting his first career win in front of Telekom warhorse, Alberto Elli.

Results - 196 km

1 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank                            4.43.17
2 Alberto Elli (Ita) Team Deutsche Telekom
3 Jakob Storm Piil (Den) CSC-World Online
4 Daniel Schnider (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux
5 Simone Bertoletti (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
6 Steven Kleynen (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
7 Steve Vermaut (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
8 Lukas Zumsteg (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
9 Armin Meier (Swi) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe'
10 Niklas Axelsson (Swe) Mercury-Viatel
11 Andrea Peron (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
12 Alex Zülle (Swi) Team Coast                               0.11
13 Kurt Van de Wouwer (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                     1.25
14 Massimo Codol (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
15 Sven Montgomery (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux               2.00
16 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step                  2.04
17 Oscar Camenzind (Swi) Lampre-Daikin                       2.08
18 Stefan Rütimann (Swi) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
19 Nicki Sorensen (Den) CSC-World Online
20 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
21 Niki Aebersold (Swi) Team Coast
22 Marcel Strauss (Swi) Gerolsteiner
23 Beat Zberg (Swi) Rabobank
24 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV
25 Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
26 Alexandre Moos (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
27 Ruggero Borghi (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
28 Jörg Förster (Ger) Team Nürnberger
29 Laurent Dufaux (Swi) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe'
30 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                        2.11
31 Marcus Zberg (Swi) Rabobank                               3.10
32 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
33 Dmitri Konyshev (Rus) Fassa Bortolo
34 Sandro Giacomelli (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
35 Adriano Baffi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
36 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel
37 Luca Belluomini (Ita) CCC-Mat
38 Gerrit Glomser (Aut) Post Swiss Team
39 Addy Engels (Ned) Rabobank
40 Francesco CerezoPerales (Spa) CSC-World Online
41 Christophe Brandt (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
42 Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Lampre-Daikin
43 Claude Lamour (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
44 Cedric Fragniere (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
45 Christophe Rinero (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
46 Pierre Bourquenoud (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
47 Fabio Marchesin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
48 Stéphane Berges (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
49 Thomas Liese (Ger) Team Nürnberger
50 Massimiliano Lelli (Ita) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
51 Chann McRae (USA) Mercury-Viatel
52 Yoann LeBoulanger (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
53 Geert Verheyen (Bel) Rabobank
54 Martin Rittsel (Swe) CSC-World Online
55 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu) Ag2R Prevoyance
56 Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner
57 Matthias Buxhofer (Aut) Phonak Hearing Systems
58 Roland Meier (Swi) Team Coast
59 Marc Lotz (Ned) Rabobank
60 Jens Heppner (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
61 Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Team Deutsche Telekom
62 Roberto Sgambelluri (Ita) Team Deutsche Telekom
63 Reto Bergmann (Swi) Post Swiss Team
64 Daniel Urendez Atienza (Spa) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
65 Pavel Tonkov (Rus) Mercury-Viatel
66 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
67 Guido Trentin (Ita) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone
68 Massimo Cigana (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV
69 Andrei Teteriouk (Kaz) Mercury-Viatel
70 Denis Zanette (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
71 Massimo Donati (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
72 Marco Fincato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
73 Biagio Conte (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe'
74 Felice Puttini (Swi) CCC-Mat
75 Olivier Asmaker (Fra) CSC-World Online                    6.22
76 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Lampre-Daikin                   11.41
77 Bram De Groot (Ned) Rabobank
78 Marcelino Alonso Garcia (Spa) CSC-World Online
79 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
80 Glenn Magnusson (Swe) Domo-Farm Frites

TC Jörg Ludewig (Ger) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe'             19.51
TC Dawis Kruba (Pol) CCC-Mat
TC René Joergensen (Den) CSC-World Online
TC Aurélien Clerc (Swi) Post Swiss Team
TC David Orvalho (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
TC Jaroslaw Rebiewski (Pol) CCC-Mat
TC David McCann (Irl) CCC-Mat

Past Winners

2000 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) Deutsche Telekom 196 kms in 4.54.10
1999 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Vini Caldirola 196 kms in 4.38.01
1998 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Asics 196 kms in 4.49.26