21st Tour de Normandie - 2.5

France, March 26-April 1, 2001

2000 Results    Stage list    Preview    Start list    Past winners

The Stages

  • Prologue - March 26: Mondeville, 5.6km
  • Stage 1 - March 27: Mery-Corbon - Forges-les-Eaux, 210km
  • Stage 2 - March 28 - 2e étape: Forges-les-Eaux ­ Elboeuf, 140km
  • Stage 3 - March 29: Elboeuf ­ Flers, 205km
  • Stage 4 - March 30: Flers - Cherbourg-Octeville, 188km
  • Stage 5 - March 31: Cherbourg-Octeville- Bagnoles-de-l'Orne, 196km
  • Stage 6 ­ April 1 (morning): Bagnoles-de-l'Orne - Vire, 95km
  • Stage 7 ­ April 1 (afternoon): Vire - Caen, 97km


132 riders will take part in this week's 21st Tour of Normandy, which starts today in Mondeville. The race's seven stages take it through the French countryside to a finale in the port and university town of Caen on Sunday April 1.

22 teams are rostered to start, including five French teams. French hopefuls Anthony Morin (Crédit Agricole), Franck Pencolé (BigMat) and Jean-Cyril Robin (Bonjour) will be trying to keep the race's title at home - it was won last year by Ludovic Auger (BigMat). They face serious competition from riders such as Thor Hushovd (Crédit Agricole) and the Danish Fakta team, run by former pro Kim Anderson.

Unlike previous editions this year's race won't have a team time trial.

The race area includes places that have been affected by the recent floods, and passes close to a recently detected foot-and-mouth disease outbreak, so some disruption is possible.

Start list


Past winners

2000 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
1999 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor) Team Chicky World
1998 Torsten Schmidt (Ger) Team Chicky World / Elite
1997 Glenn Magnusson (Swe) Amore & Vita
1996 Frédéric Pontier (Fra) Aubervilliers


1995 Ole-Sigurd Simensen (Nor)
1994 Saulius Sarkauskas (Lit)
1993 Emmanuel Mallet (Fra)
1992 Thierry Dupuy (Fra)
1991 Stéphane Heulot (Fra)
1990 Dimitri Zdhanov (Rus)
1989 Sébastien Flicher (Fra)
1988 Vjatcheslav Ekimov (Rus)
1987 (2) Yvan Frebert (Fra)
1986 Nentscho Staikov (Bul)
1985 Paul Curran (GBr)
1984 Mario Kummer (DDR)
1983 Yvan Frebert (Fra)
1982 Daniel Leveau (Fra)

1959-1981 Not Held

1958 Joseph Wasko (Fra)
1957 Pierre Gouget (Fra)
1956 Armand Audaire (Fra)

1940-1955 Not held

1939 Guilaume Godere (Fra)

Mario Stiehl, Berlin keeps the past winners up to date