GP de Villers Cotterêts - 1.4

France, June 4, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Laurent Brochard wins GP Villers-Cotterets

Jean Delatour's Laurent Brochard has won the 11th round of the Coupe de France, the Grand Prix de Villers-Cotterêts, held over a 193.2 kilometre parcours today. Brochard beat Credit Agricole's Stuart O'Grady (also 2nd on Saturday in A Travers de Morbihan) Pascal Chanteur (Festina) and Kazakh Andrei Kivilev (Cofidis) after the four had broken away during the race.

During the first lap there was an attempt by Pretot, Chavanel and Templier. Brochard broke free during the second of the 14 laps of the race. O'Grady and Chanteur caught him during the next lap. The lead hovered between 45 seconds and 3 minutes over the next seven laps. It was only 45 seconds at halfway, allowing Kivilev to close the gap strongly on his own.

In the closing stages, the gap diminished dangerously with the BigMat team (working for Jay sweet) leading the bunch. From 1'10 with 13 km to go (1 lap) it was 35" with 6 km to go, 11" with 4 km to go and Brochard jumped free with 1300 metres to go, Kivilev , the first of the group behind him 'strangely' (or was he exhausted?) unable to jump his wheel and Brochard won, O'Grady (second time second on the same week-end) outsprinting the two others, keeping 25 metres on the bunch led by Stephan Van Dijk (a crash in the last corner in this bunch).

Brochard is also well into the lead in the Coupe de France, which has its next edition in the Classique des Alpes this Saturday.

Report courtesy of Daniel Schamps.

Results - 193 km

1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour                  4.22.55
2 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole                     0.04
3 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Festina
4 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis                             0.05
5 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus            0.08
6 Carlos Dacruz (Fra) Festina
7 Christophe Capelle (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
8 Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Ag2R Prevoyance
9 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole
10 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
11 Gerben Lowik (Ned) Rabobank
12 Jamie Drew (Aus) Mercury-Viatel
13 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
14 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank
15 Franck Perque (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
16 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
17 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina
18 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Jean Delatour
19 Matthé Pronk (Ned) Rabobank
20 François Simon (Fra) Bonjour
21 Olivier Perraudeau (Fra) Bonjour
22 Michael Skelde (Den) Team Fakta
23 Christophe Gauthier (Fra) St Quentin Oktos
24 Vincent Templier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
25 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) Bonjour
26 Mickaël Olejnik (Pol) St Quentin Oktos
27 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) Bigmat-Auber 93
28 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour
29 Marc Streel (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
30 William Frischkorn (USA) Mercury-Viatel
31 Frédéric Finot (Fra) Credit Agricole
32 Floyd Landis (USA) Mercury-Viatel
33 Olivier Trastour (Fra) Jean Delatour
34 Gilles Maignan (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
35 Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin Oktos                0.15
36 Anthony Morin (Fra) Credit Agricole
37 Kris Matthijs (Bel) Flanders-Prefetex
38 Bjornar Vestol (Nor) Team Fakta
39 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour
40 Bert Roesems (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
41 Thorwald Veneberg (Ned) Rabobank
42 Coen Boerman (Ned) Rabobank
43 Marcel Duijn (Ned) Rabobank
44 Guillaume Auger (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
45 Anthony Langella (Fra) Credit Agricole
46 Arnaud Pretot (Fra) Festina
47 Stéphane Auge (Fra) Festina
48 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Credit Agricole
49 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Festina
50 Jan Van Velzen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus            0.20
51 Jérôme Bernard (Fra) Jean Delatour
52 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Jean Delatour
53 Noan Lelarge (Fra) Bonjour
54 Iban Sastre (Spa) Festina
55 Steven De Neef (Bel) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
56 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Bonjour
57 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
58 Cyril Saugrain (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
59 Christophe Morel (Fra) St Quentin Oktos                 0.23
60 Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Cofidis                           0.58
61 Nicolas Coudray (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux             1.54
62 Guillaume Laloux (Fra) St Quentin Oktos
63 Marc Weisshaupt (Ger) Flanders Prefetex                 1.57
64 Linas Balciunas (Ltu) Ag2R Prevoyance
65 Christian Selin (Fin) Flanders-Prefetex
66 David Lefevre (Fra) Cofidis
67 Rik Reinerink (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
68 Jay Sweet (Aus) Bigmat-Auber 93
69 Charles Guilbert (Fra) Bonjour
70 Hans De Meester (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
71 Kristof Trouve (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
72 Tony Bracke (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
73 Donatas Virbickas (Ltu) Collstrop-Palmans
74 Kurt Van Landeghem (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago        2.04
75 Sergey Belousov (Kaz) Cofidis                           4.58
76 Alexandre Chouffe (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93                 7.23
77 Innar Mandoja (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance                    10.21

Coupe de France standings after round 11

1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour        209 pts
2 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r Prevoyance         126
3 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour                   112
4 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina                 97
5 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) BigMat Auber          89
6 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole        70
7 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour         66
8 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r Prevoyance  56
9 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour           55
10 David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis              51

Past Winners

2000 Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour-Toupargel       193 kms in 4.26.37 (43.478 km/h) 
1999 Cyril Saugrain (Fra) La Française des Jeux 193 kms in 4.44.00
1998 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino                 193 kms in 4.31.32 (42.70 km/h)