16th GP Cycliste de Beauce - 2.4

Canada, June 18-24, 2001

Main page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 2 - June 19: Charny - Beauceville, 168.2 km

Fraser wins stage 2

Canadian Gordon Fraser (Mercury-Viatel) has won the second stage of the Tour de Beauce, from Charny to Beauceville. It was his 10th Tour de Beauce stage win in his career as he beat home Robert Foster (Nurnberger) and Charles Dionne (7up Colorado).

Today's 168 kilometre stage was hilly and wet, making life difficult for the riders. In the final 50 kilometres, the strong winds buffetted the bunch as well. However, Sympatico.ca rider Jason Crookham managed to stay in front for some kilometres, winning enough mountain points to wear the mountains and most combative jersies.

Gord Fraser now has the white points jersey, while Remegijus Lupeikis (Mroz) took over in the general classification.

Tomorrow's stage from Lac to Etchemin is the longest of the race at 190 kilometres.


1 Gordon Fraser (Can) Mercury-Viatel                        4.19.24
2 Robert Foster (Ger) Team Nurnberger
3 Charles Dionne (Can) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
4 Vassili Davidenko (Rus) Navigators Cycling Team
5 Elio Aggiano (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
6 Bart Herirweah (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
7 David Mckenzie (Aus) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
8 Jurgen Werner (Ger) Team Nurnberger
9 Chris Baldwin (USA) Navigators Cycling Team
10 Soren Petersen (Den) Saturn Cycling Team
11 Remegijus Lupeikis (Ltu) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
12 Federico Colonna (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
13 Baden Cooke (Aus) Mercury-Viatel
14 Martin Gilbert (Can) Volkswagen
15 Bogdan Bondariew (Ukr) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
16 Patrick Sinkewitz (Ger) Mapei-Quick Step
17 James Ball (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
18 Chris Fisher (USA) Saturn Cycling Team
19 Piotr Chmielenski (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
20 Czeclaw Lukaszewicz (Can) Team Canada
21 Sttephane Gremaud (Swi) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
22 Oleg Kozlintine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin Oktos
23 James Perry (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
24 Jurgen Landrie (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
25 Ryan Guay (USA) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
26 Dominique Rollin (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team
27 Jens Zemke (Ger) Team Nurnberger
28 Antonio Rizzi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
29 Florencino Ramos (Mex) Team Tecos
30 Eddy Ratti (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
31 Mark Walters (Can) Navigators Cycling Team
32 David Chassot (Swi) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
33 Ross Hooker (Can) Team Canada
34 Daren Lill (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
35 Jose Garcia (Mex) Team Tecos
36 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn Cycling Team
37 Cameron Macleod (RSA) Team HSBC
38 Jacob Herker (Can) Team Canada
39 Joern Reuss (Ger) Team Nurnberger
40 Malcom Lange (RSA) Team HSBC
41 John Leiswyn (USA) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
42 Bill Hurley (Can) Equipe Oryx
43 Kevin Monhan (USA) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
44 Eugen Wacker (Kgz) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
45 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury-Viatel
46 Siro Camponogara (Ita) Navigators Cycling Team
47 Marc André Salois (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
48 Zbigniew Wyrzykowski (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
49 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
50 Morten Hegreberg (Nor) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
51 Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury-Viatel
52 Vincent Templier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
53 Cesare Diciento (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
54 Eduardo Garciano (Mex) Team Tecos
55 Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn Cycling Team
56 Joerg Foester (Ger) Team Nurnberger
57 Claudio Astolfi (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
58 Christophe Gauthier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
59 Dominique Perras (Can) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
60 Owen Hannie (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
61 Marc Chanoine (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
62 Chris Wherry (USA) Mercury-Viatel
63 Micheal Barry (Can) Saturn Cycling Team
64 Alexandre Lavallée (Can) Team Canada
65 Raimondas Vilcinskas (Ltu) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
66 Oleg Grishkine (Rus) Navigators Cycling Team
67 Danniel Spence (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
68 Juan Gabriel Sanchez (Mex) Team Tecos
69 Erik Sanders (USA) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
70 Artour Babaitsev (Rus) Team Nurnberger
71 Martin St-Laurent (Can) Volkswagen
72 David Tani (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
73 Andrew Randell (Can) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
74 Nicolas White (RSA) Team HSBC
75 Jesus Zarate (Mex) Team Tecos
76 Josh Hall (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team
77 Ian Mcleod (RSA) Team HSBC
78 Renaud Boxus (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
79 Rodney Green (RSA) Team HSBC
80 Harm Jansen (Ned) Saturn Cycling Team
81 Martin Nuckle (Can) Volkswagen
82 Arquimedes Lam (Mex) Team Tecos
83 Jean Philippe Houle-Paradis (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
84 Jeremy Maartens (RSA) Team HSBC
85 Simon Kessler (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
86 Jean Frrancois Laroche (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
87 Sebastien Mattozza (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems
88 Burke Swindlehurst (USA) Navigators Cycling Team
89 Jose Luis Castel (Mex) Team Tecos
90 Markus Kammermann (Swi) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
91 Christophe Cheseaux (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
92 Morne Bester (RSA) Team I.B.M. Lotus
93 Svein Tuft (Can) Team Canada
94 Francois Parisien (Can) Volkswagen
95 Federico Giabbecucci (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
96 Mathieu Beliveau (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
97 Min Van Velzen (Can) Team Canada
98 Andrew Pinfold (Can) Team Canada
99 Philippe Koehler (Fra) Mapei-Quick Step
100 Laurent Paumier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
101 Frederic Ruberti (Fra) Ficonseils-RCC Conseils Assurances
102 Doug Ziewacz (USA) 7Up-Colorado Cyclist
103 Micheal Sayers (USA) Mercury-Viatel                         0.26
104 Derek Bouchard-Hall (USA) Mercury-Viatel                    0.40
105 David De Bremaeker (Bel) Ville De Charleroi-New Systems     0.41
106 Andy Capelle (Bel) Saint-Quentin Oktos                      1.07
107 Ariel Decardenas (Can) Equipe Oryx
108 Jay Cory (Can) Volkswagen                                   1.41
109 Greg Sieniewicz (Can) Equipe Oryx
110 Jean Francois Racine (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
111 Brendon Cameron (NZl) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team             2.53
112 Gladish Corey (Can) Volkswagen                             11.35
113 Dan Maggiacomo (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team
114 Chad Grochowina (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team
115 Philippe Viau-Dupuis (Can) Equipe Du Quebec
116 Bruno Langlois (Can) Volkswagen
117 Jason Crookham (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team
118 Mike Luther (Can) Equipe Oryx
119 Martin Gosselin (Can) Equipe Oryx
120 Jac Louis Van Wijk (RSA) Team HSBC
121 Emmanuele Negrini (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
122 Hugh Trechard (Can) Equipe Oryx                            21.12
123 Steve Cote (Can) Equipe Oryx                               42.23
DNS Brendon Vesty (NZl) Navigators Cycling Team
DNF Gabriel Colombo (Ita) Cantina Tollo Acqua & Sapone
DNF Kevin Field (Can) Sympatico.ca Cycling Team

General classification after stage 2

1 Remegijus Lupeikis (Ltu) Mroz-Supradyn    4.36.30
2 Piotr Chmielewski (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn        0.01
3 Eugen Wacker (Kgz) Mroz-Supradyn
4 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn
5 Raimondas Vilcinskas (Ltu) Mroz-Supradyn
6 Soren Petersen (Den) Saturn                  0.09
7 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn
8 Zbigniew Wyrzykowski (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn
9 Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn
10 Michael Barry (Can) Saturn