Results and Reports for December 2 - 8, 2001


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club Track Racing

December 5, 2001

Racing started with the traditional 20 lap scratch race. After the neutral period the bunch held together, opening the door for the sprinters. Peter Jones took the race from Luke Dale and Josh Wall.

The main race of the night was the handicap, and being only the second of the season, it was difficult for the handicapper to judge the comparative strength of the riders, especially with most races so far this year being a lot longer than 4 laps. As it turned out the scratch rider, Peter Jones and his fellow backmarkers were handicapped out of the event with the places going to the riders who had not performed as well in the longer races of previous weeks.

The limit riders got off to a good start, quickly settling into a group, whilst Matt Jones rode off the 170m mark with Mick Kejda on his wheel, after a short stint behind Rebecca Borgo, Jones set off after the other riders whilst Borgo grabbed Kejda’s wheel. With half a lap to go Jones passed the last of the limit riders, but was rolled on the line by Kejda for the win, with Rebecca Borgo finishing third.

Peter Jones continued on his winning way taking out the A Grade elimination from Luke Dale and Grant Law, whilst Mick Kejda won the B Grade event from Kirk Brown and Hubert Driehuis.

The 70 lap pointscore became a battle between Peter Jones and Adam Rourke. In what has become his style, Jones did not take the lead until the last sprint, and only then by a single point. After the 5 intermediary sprints, Rourke had a lead of 3 points over Jones, but with the final sprint worth double points, Jones, unknowing of the closeness of the encounter, took the final sprint from Rourke, giving Jones 10 points and Rourke 6, the four point advantage required to put Jones over the line.

Next week the pointscore neutral period will be scrapped, allowing for another sprint and a greater opportunity for the stayers to soften up the sprinters.

In the season competition, Peter Jones has a clear lead over the rest with 25 points followed by Adam Rourke on 14, From then on the field is wide open with Danny Hennessy, Josh Wall and Luke Dale all in double figures.


20 Lap scratch race
1 Peter Jones
2 Luke Dale
3 Josh Wall
4 lap Handicap
1 Mick Kejda
2 Matt Jones
3 Rebecca Borgo
A Grade Elimination
1 Peter Jones
2 Luke Dale
3 Grant Law
B Grade Elimination
1 Mick Kejda
2 Kirk Brown
3 Hubert Driehuis
70 Lap Point Score
1 Peter Jones     21 pts
2 Adam Rourke     20
3 Danny Hennessy  10
4 Luke Dale        9
Progressive Pointscore Championship totals
Peter Jones                   25
Adam Rourke                   14
Josh Wall                     11
Luke Dale                     10
Danny Hennessy                10
Tim Morris                     6

Previous Australian results