Irish Cyclo-cross Championships

Lurgan, County Armagh, December 8, 2001

11 on the trot for Seymour

By Tommy Campbell, Irish Independent/Evening Herald/Sunday Independent

Robin Seymour added yet another title to his CV yesterday in Lurgan, County Armagh. It was his 11th successive win in the Irish Cyclo-cross Championships winning the title first as a teenager. The 30 year-old mechanical engineer from the Rocky Valley in Kilmacanogue, Co. Wicklow was quick into his stride from the time the start gun went off. On each of the nine laps he was gaining on his pursuers in the order of five seconds but on the penultimate lap he applied extra pressure to come home ahead of the pack by fifty eight seconds. As expected his closest challenger was Don Travers who got silver with Tommy Evans more noted for his road exploits in third spot. In the ladies' title, Tarja Owens was the winner.


1 Robin Seymour (WORC)               54.09
2 D Travers (Banbridge CC)            0.59
3 T Evans (La Pomme)                  1.59
4 R Lamont (XMTB)                     2.13
5 R Aiken (Banbridge CC)              2.54
6 A McDonald (Aoollo CT)              3.16
7 A Layhe (Apollo CT)                 5.46
8 C Campbell (Newry Haldane Fisher)
9 M McCorry (Apollo CT)

One lap behind
10 O Jeffries (Apollo CT)
1 Tarja Owens