3rd GP Miguel Indurain - 1.3

Spain, April 7, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Vicioso wins 3rd GP Miguel Indurain

Click for larger image
Angel Vicioso
Photo: © Mario Stiehl

Spanish sprinter Angel Vicioso (Kelme) has won the third edition of the Gran Premio Miguel Indurain, disputed over 189 kilometres in the Navarran region, finishing in Estella. Vicioso escaped with eight other riders, beating David Etxebarria (Euskaltel) and Paolo Lanfranchi (Mapei) in the sprint. The win nearly belonged to Mercatone's Igor Astarloa, who suffered a mechanical failure in the final metres, and eventually finished 5th.

The attack of the day came from iBanesto.com's José Vicente García Acosta, who escaped for most of the day with a maximum lead of seven minutes. The big Spaniard was chased down by Euskaltel Euskadi with 25 kilometres to go, as they wanted Etxebarria to win.

As Acosta was caught, David Vázquez (Relax Fuenlabrada) counter-attacked on the final climb of the day (Purto de Lezaún), with 22 kilometres to go, but he was recaptured by a peloton that was some 55 riders strong. There were several more attacks on the climb, as Etxebarria crested first followed by a group of 12.

Of this group, Mario Aerts (Lotto) launched an attack in the final kilometres, but was chased down by Etxebarria. There were now nine riders left to contest the sprint, and it was Kelme's Vicioso who had the fastest legs.

Results - 189 km

1 Angel Vicioso (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca              5.08.22
2 David Etxebarria Alkorta (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
3 Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
4 Mario Aerts (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
5 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Mercatone Uno-Albacom
6 Francisco Mancebo Perez (Spa) iBanesto.com
7 Mikel Zarrabeitia Uranga (Spa) O.N.C.E
8 José Alberto Martinez Trinidad (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
9 Jörg Jaksche (Ger) O.N.C.E                             0.05
10 Mikel Pradera Rodriguez (Spa) O.N.C.E

Past winners

Gran Premio Miguel Indurain (international)

2000 Miguel Ángel Martín Perdiguero (Spa) Vitalicio-Seguros
1999 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno

Trofeo Comunidad Foral de Navarra (international)

1998 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Banesto 

Trofeo Comunidad Foral de Navarra

1997 Mikel Zarrabeitia (Spa) ONCE 
1996 Alex Zulle (Swi) ONCE 
1995 Félix García Casas (Spa) Artiach 
1994 Marino Alonso (Spa) Banesto 
1993 Johnny Weltz (Den) ONCE 
1992 Julián Gorospe (Col) Banesto 
1991 Roland Leclerc (Bel) Amaya 
1990 Pedro Delgado (Spa) Banesto 
1989 Mariano Sánchez (Spa) Teka 

Gran Premio Navarra

1988 Pedro Delgado (Spa) Reynolds 
1987 Miguel Indurain (Spa) Reynolds 
1985 Celestino Prieto (Spa) Reynolds 
1983 Juan Fernández (Spa) Zor 
1982 Pedro Muñoz (Spa) Zor 
1981 Eulalio García (Spa) Teka 
1980 Juan Fernández (Spa) Zor 
1979 Juan Fernández (Spa) Kas 
1978 Miguel María Lasa (Spa) Teka 
1977 Vicente López Carril (Spa) Kas 
1976 José Nazábal (Spa) Kas 
1975 Agustín Tamames (Spa) Super Ser 
1974 Miguel María Lasa (Spa) Kas 
1973 Domingo Perurena (Spa) Kas 
1972 Vicente López Carril (Spa) Kas 
1970 Antonio Gómez del Moral (Spa) Kas 
1969 Gregorio San Miguel (Spa) Kas 
1968 José López Rodríguez (Spa) Fagor 

Campeonato Vasco Navarrro de Montaña

1966 Carlos Echeverría (Spa) Kas 
1965 Eusebio Vélez (Spa) Kas 
1964 Francisco Gabica (Spa) Kas 
1963 José Pérez Francés (Spa) Ferrys 
1962 Juan Belmonte (Spa) P.Ega 
1961 José Pérez Francés (Spa) Ferrys 
1959 Miguel Pacheco (Spa) Faema 
1957 Miguel Chacón (Spa) Faema 
1956 Antonio Ferraz (Spa) 
1955 Jesús Galdeano Gamma (Spa) 
1954 Miguel Vidaurreta (Spa) 
1953 Hortensio Vidaurreta (Spa) 
1952 Hortensio Vidaurreta (Spa) 
1951 Hortensio Vidaurreta (Spa)