Route Adélie - 1.4

Vitré, France, April 6, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Jaan Kirsipuu gains Adélie

Estonian Jaan Kirsipuu has won the 6th edition of the Route Adélie, the fourth round of the Coupe de France. The Ag2r sprinter beat Stéphane Heulot (Big Mat) after the two had escaped near the end. Laurent Brochard (Jean Delatour) was third.

The race was animated by a break of 10 riders: Guillaume Auger, Stéphane Heulot (BigMat), Emmanuel Magnien (FdJ), Fabian Cancellara (Mapei), Ciaran Power (St Quentin), Robbie McEwen (Domo), Matthias Buxhofer (Phonak), David Clinger (Festina), Benoit Poilvet (CA) and Stéphane Bergès (Ag2R). They escaped after 30 kilometres, but were caught by a diminished peloton just before the 8x8.6 km finishing circuit.

Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2R), Christophe Moreau (Festina), Martin Hvastija (Alessio), Christophe Mengin (FdJ) and Stéphane Heulot attacked from this group, and were joined by Hvastja's teammate, Davide Casarotto. They were chased by the peloton, and had a 25 second advantage with 30 kilometres to go.

The aggressive Stéphane Heulot attacked on the côte de la Grenouillère, taking Jaan Kirsipuu with him. Kirsipuu easily beat Heulot in the sprint, as Laurent Brochard took third, 14 seconds behind.

Results - 185.3 km

1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance                4.35.02 (40.424 km/h)
2 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93                 0.02
3 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour                  0.14
4 Davide Casarotto (Ita) Alessio                        0.21
5 Christophe Mengin (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux         0.23
6 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina                           0.31
7 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
8 Matthias Buxhofer (Aut) Phonak Hearing Systems
9 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
10 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
11 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour                          1.02
12 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole
13 Martin Hvastija (Slo) Alessio                        1.13
14 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
15 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) Cofidis                     4.31
16 Stefano Casagranda (Ita) Alessio
17 Pascal Herve (Fra) Alexia Alluminio
18 Martin Rittsel (Swe) CSC-World Online
19 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat Auber                 4.35
20 Bert Grabsch (Ger) Phonak Hearing Systems            4.39
21 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Alessio                           5.05
22 Claude Lamour (Fra) Cofidis
23 Guillaume Auger (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93                6.07
24 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Mapei-Quick Step
25 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
26 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Credit Agricole
27 Alberto Vinale (Ita) Alessio
28 Benoît Salmon (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance                   6.1
29 Christophe Gauthier (Fra) St Quentin-Oktos          11.09
30 Christophe Morel (Fra) St Quentin Oktos
31 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Jean Delatour
32 Jérôme Bernard (Fra) Jean Delatour
33 Sandy Casar (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
34 Mickael Olejnik (Fra) St Quentin Oktos
35 Pierre Bourquenoud (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems     11.13
36 Bram Tankink (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
37 Eddy Serri (Ita) Alexia Aluminio
38 Serguei Outschakov (Rus) Alexia Aluminio
39 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Festina                       11.26

Courtesy of           

Past winners

Route Adélie

2001 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est)
2000 Laurent Brochard (Fra)
1999 Torsten Schmidt (Ger)
1998 Jann Kirsipuu (Est)
1997 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra)

Tour d'Armorique

1996 Marc Bouillon (Fra)
1994 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra)
1993 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
1992 Peter De Clercq (Bel)
1991 Jérôme Simon (Fra)
1990 Rober-to Torres (Spa)
1989 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1988 Sören Lilholt (Den)
1987 Thierry Marie (Fra)
1986 Jörg Müller (Swi)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin