Elite Women's Road Race

Saturday, October 14, 2000, 13:45

The local time in Plouay is

Plouay - Plouay, 127.4 km (9 laps)

Main Page    Results    Route Information and start list

Stahurskaia solo

By Gerard Knapp

Zinaida Stahurskaia
Photo: © AFP

In wet, windy and cold conditions, Zinaida Stahurskaia of Belarus (but domiciled in Italy) rode away from the field and claimed the Gold Medal in 3.17.39 at an average speed of 38.659kmh. It was a day that saw Mari Holden (USA) retire at the end of lap two and Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (Fra) also abandon, with numerous crashes taking their toll on the peloton.

One of the hardest-hit teams were the favoured Lithuanians, as both twins Rasa and Jolanta Polikeviciute abandoned after either crashing, or being caught behind crashes and losing valuable time. The field had split up and by lap four Oksana Saprykina (Ukr) held an 18 second lead over the remainder of the peloton and the riders kept retiring, including Maria Cagigas (Spa), Svetlana Boubnenkova, Germans Simone Klewitz and Tina Liebig, USA riders Lara Ruthven and Kimberley Smith, as well as Alison Wright (Aus), Teodora Ruano (Spa) and Vera Hohlfeld (Ger).

Crashes aplenty
Photo: © AFP

But it was on the fifth lap that the decisive move was made, as France's Elisabeth Chevanne-Brunel (Fra) caught and dropped Saprykina (Ukr) and was joined by Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr), who was looking strong and determined while the conditions claimed Nicole Freedman (USA), Mirella Van Melis (Netherlands), Belgium's Lensy Debboudt as well as Jenny Algelid (Swe).

Stahurskaia continued attacking and then dropped Chevanne-Brunel and increased her lead to two minutes as Canada's main hope, Lyne Bessette, also called it a day.

Beltman takes 2nd
Photo: © AFP

The Belarus rider looked stronger and maintained her lead while Elisabeth Chevanne-Brunel was caught by the field, although not before she was joined by Madeleine Lindberg (Swe), Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Priska Doppmann (Swi). They closed to 1:44 of the rider from Belarus, but only managed to gain 15 seconds on the rapidly dwindling peloton. The field came back together on the final lap when Holland's Chantal Beltman attacked the peloton to secure the silver, with Sweden's Madeleine Lindberg (Swe) taking out the sprint for the bronze.

Following the Swedish rider was her team-mate Susanne Ljungskog, then at five seconds came Mirjam Melchers (Ned), Sarah Symington, Dede Demet, Wenche Stensvold, Elisabeth Chevanne-Brunel, Tatiana Stiajkina, Susan Palmer and Edita Pucinskaite.


1 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr)       3.17.39 (38.659 km/h)
2 Chantal Beltman (Ned)              1.27
3 Madeleine Lindberg (Swe)           1.50
4 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) 
5 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) 
6 Sarah Symington (GBr) 
7 Deirdre Demet-Barry (USA) 
8 Wenche Stensvold (Nor) 
9 Elisabeth Chevanne-Brunel (Fra) 
10 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr)
11 Susan Palmer (Can)
12 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu)
13 Valeria Cappellotto (Ita)
14 Priska Doppmann (Swi)
15 Oksana Saprykina (Ukr)
16 Tracey Gaudry (Aus)
17 Simona Parente (Ita)
18 Caroline Alexander (GBr)
19 Catherine Marsal (Fra)
20 Séverine Desbouys (Fra)
21 Elisabeth Tadich (Aus)            3.05
22 Margaret Hemsley (Aus)            3.35
23 Anna Skawinska (Pol)              5.04
24 Valentyna Karpenko (Ukr)
25 Alessandra D'Ettore (Ita)
26 Arenda Grimberg (Ned)
27 Iryna Chuzhynova (Ukr)
28 Solrun Flataas (Nor)
29 Jorunn Kvalö (Nor)
30 Judith Arndt (Ger)
31 Trixi Worrack (Ger)
32 Evy Van Damme (Bel)
33 Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)            5.06
34 Sara Felloni (Ita)
35 Bettina Schöke (Ger)
36 Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Spa)       9.01
37 Ghita Beltman (Ned)
38 Anne Samplonius (Can)
39 Sara Carrigan (Aus)              10.35
40 Ingunn Bollerud (Nor)
41 Ioulia Martissova (Rus)
42 Miho Oki (Jpn)
43 Veerle Ingels (Bel)              10.36
44 Edita Kubelskiene (Ltu)
45 Ragnhild Kostöl (Nor)            10.37
46 Erin Carter (Can)                14.27
47 Monika Tyburska (Pol)            18.17
48 Susan Carter (GBr)
49 Nataliya Kachalka (Ukr)          18.25
50 Zlatica Gavlakova (Svk)
51 Yvonne Brunen (Ned)
52 Janildes Silva (Bra)             22.26
53 Hayley Rutherford (Aus)
54 Youlia Razenkova (Rus)
55 Ronel Van Wyk (RSA)
56 Melanie Sears (GBr)
57 Cybil Di Guistini (Can)
58 Beata Jasinska (Pol)
59 Ayumu Otsuka (Jpn)
60 Melanie McQuaid (Can)

DNF Gitana Gruodyte (Ltu)
DNF Jolanta Polikeviciute (Ltu)
DNF Rasa Polikeviciute (Ltu)
DNF Zita Urbonaite (Ltu)
DNF Diana Ziliute (Ltu)
DNF Kym Shirley (Aus)
DNF Alison Wright (Aus)
DNF Gabriella Pregnolato (Ita)
DNF Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus)
DNF Olga Khortova (Rus)
DNF Fatima Blazquez Lozano (Spa)
DNF Maria Mercedes Cagigas Amedo (Spa)
DNF Ruth Martinez Gomez (Spa)
DNF Teodora Ruano Sanchon (Spa)
DNF Géraldine Loewenguth (Fra)
DNF Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (Fra)
DNF Laurence Restoin (Fra)
DNF Nicole Brändli (Swi)
DNF Marcia Eicher-Vouets (Swi)
DNF Marika Murer (Swi)
DNF Yvonne Schnorf (Swi)
DNF Sandra Wampfler (Swi)
DNF Lyne Bessette (Can)
DNF Sandy Espeseth (Can)
DNF Mirella Van Melis (Ned)
DNF Lensy Debboudt (Bel)
DNF Cindy Pieters (Bel)
DNF Heidi Van De Vijver (Bel)
DNF Jenny Algelid (Swe)
DNF Emelie Öhrstig (Swe)
DNF Nicole Freedman (USA)
DNF Mari Holden (USA)
DNF Karen Kurreck (USA)
DNF Lara Ruthven (USA)
DNF Kimberly Smith (USA)
DNF Fatma Galiullina (Uzb)
DNF Andrea Graus (Aut)
DNF Geraldine Gill (Irl)
DNF Claudia Saintagne (Bra)
DNF Agnes Kay Eppers (Bol)
DNF Ceris Gilfillan (GBr)
DNF Monica Valen (Nor)
DNF Paulina Brzezna (Pol)
DNF Bogumila Matusiak (Pol)
DNF Valiantsina Vaulchok (Blr)
DNF Alexandra Ka Wah Yeung (HKg)
DNF Vera Hohlfeld (Ger)
DNF Simone Klewitz (Ger)
DNF Tina Liebig (Ger)
DNF Sanna Lehtimäki (Fin)
DNS Yvonne Mcgregor (GBr)