Junior Men's Road Race

Saturday, October 14, 2000, 9:00

The local time in Plouay is

Plouay: Circuit Jean Yves-Perron, 127.4 km (9 laps)

Preview    Start List    Route Description    Profile    Results


The field for this year's junior road race is actually the second largest after the U23 men's road race yesterday. This means that while the racing is expected to be fast over the 12 laps of the Jean Yves-Perron circuit, the potential for crashes is quite high. The weather will of course play a big role in this but for the moment, the conditions seem to be fairly dry.

The Italians are the defending champions after Damiano Cunego won the race last year in Verona, however they lack a little of their traditional firepower here in Plouay. Daniele Colli and Antonio Bucciero are riders to watch, but there a plenty of others that will play a part in today's junior men's road race.

The favourite is once again Poland's Peter Mazur, who so convincingly won the time trial on Wednesday. Can he repeat Evgeny Petrov's double gold medal feat? Very likely as the course is certainly suited to his powerful style. He will have strong support from his team as well, with Lukasz Bodnar and Blazej Janiaczyk.

You can never count out the Russians, and second placed TT'er, Vladimir Goussev is undoubtably a danger man. Belgium have the likes of Kevin de Weert and Philippe Gilbert leading their team, while the Germans have their world number 2, Marcel Sieberg.

The Netherlands have not had much success in the hillier terrain so far, but have a strong riders in Kenny Van Hummel and Michael Elijsen. Australia too will be looking to add to their medal tally, and they stand a good chance with the likes of Rory Sutherland (4th in the TT) and Ashley Humbert.

Team USA will bring the talented Rahsaan Bahati to Europe for his first major test. Bahati has been killing them back home in the crits, but may find his talents not nearly as useful on this tough circuit. Kieran Page (GBr) and Jeremy Yates (NZl) are other individuals to watch.

Start List

1 Antonio Bucciero (Ita)
2 Daniele Colli (Ita)
3 Mauro Facci (Ita)
4 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita)
5 Nicola Scattolin (Ita)
6 Alexandr Arekeev (Rus)
7 Pavel Broutt (Rus)
8 Vladimir Goussev (Rus)
9 Alexander Sergueev (Rus)
10 Alexander Serov (Rus)
11 Mathieu Boiche (Fra)
12 Loyd Mondory (Fra)
13 Kilian Patour (Fra)
14 Tristan Valentin (Fra)
15 Benoït Vaugrenard (Fra)
16 Harald Berger (Aut)
17 Martin Gratzer (Aut)
18 Bernhard Kohl (Aut)
19 Mario Lexmüller (Aut)
20 Christoph Schlögl (Aut)
21 Kevin De Weert (Bel)
22 Philippe Gilbert (Bel)
23 Kevin Neirynck (Bel)
24 Francesco Planckaert (Bel)
25 Preben Van Hecke (Bel)
26 Caspar Austa (Est)
27 Kalle Kriit (Est)
28 Andri Lebedev (Est)
29 Magnus Mandoja (Est)
30 Romet Puuram (Est)
31 Marcus Burghardt (Ger)
32 André Greipel (Ger)
33 Martin Schmid (Ger)
34 Knut Schwanke (Ger)
35 Marcel Sieberg (Ger)
36 Gheorghe Botosanu (Mda)
37 Vladimir Censchi (Mda)
38 Evgheni Gutalov (Mda)
39 Alexandr Matveev (Mda)
40 Sergiu Scocila (Mda)
41 Edgar Anão (Por)
42 João Cabreira (Por)
43 Rui Carneiro (Por)
44 Nelson Pereira (Por)
45 Bruno Sa (Por)
46 Hans Henrik Jorgensen (Den)
47 Kasper Klostergaard (Den)
48 Ashleigh Jones Nielsen (Den)
49 Nicki Hjort Olsen (Den)
50 Alexander Gustafsson (Swe)
51 Jonas Holmkvist (Swe)
52 Ola Larner (Swe)
53 Jens Thögersen (Swe)
54 Alan Dumic (Cro)
55 Zovan Pohrebny (Cro)
56 Zvonimir Pokupec (Cro)
57 Ivan Sever (Cro)
58 Tomislav Tadic (Cro)
59 Uladzimir Autka (Blr)
60 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr)
61 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr)
62 Uladzimir Sliaptsou (Blr)
63 Jonas Blum (Swi)
64 Andreas Dietziker (Swi)
65 Daniel Gysling (Swi)
66 Gilbert Obrist (Swi)
67 Jimmy Tapparel (Swi)
68 Koen De Kort (Ned)
69 Michiel Elijzen (Ned)
70 Bastiaan Giling (Ned)
71 Peter Möhlmann (Ned)
72 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned)
73 Jonathan Cantwell (Aus)
74 Ashley Humbert (Aus)
75 Bernard Sulzberger (Aus)
76 Rory Sutherland (Aus)
77 Milan Behunek (Cze)
78 Martin Hebik (Cze)
79 Pavel Linet (Cze)
80 Martin Mares (Cze)
81 Frantisek Rabon (Cze)
82 Kristjan Fajt (Slo)
83 Tomasz Nose (Slo)
84 Andrej Omulec (Slo)
85 Jure Zrimsek (Slo)
86 Daniel Casado Arranz (Spa)
87 Angel Garcia De Castro (Spa)
88 Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa)
89 Antonio Olmo Menacho (Spa)
90 Oliver Alberto Rodriguez (Spa)
91 Martin Gilbert (Can)
92 François Parisien (Can)
93 Dominique Rollin (Can)
94 Jacques Dahm (Lux)
95 Ronny Kremer (Lux)
96 Richard Mailliet (Lux)
97 Benn Würth (Lux)
98 Lucian Hugeanu (Rom)
99 Gabriel Sorin Pop (Rom)
100 Kalvis Eisaks (Lat)
101 Gatis Kelle (Lat)
102 Arturs Lagzdins (Lat)
103 Olegs Melehs (Lat)
104 Colin Armstrong (Irl)
105 Timothy Cassidy (Irl)
106 Philip Deignan (Irl)
107 Michael Dennehy (Irl)
108 Juan Pablo Velalcazar (Ecu)
109 Gonzalo Vera Riquelme (Chi)
110 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn)
111 Yukihiro Doi (Jpn)
112 Norbert Abrok (Hun)
113 Zsolt Gyepes (Hun)
114 Arpad Kaloczi (Hun)
115 Rahsaan Bahati (USA)
116 Walker Ferguson (USA)
117 Jonathan Patrick McCarty  (USA)
118 Jonathan Retseck (USA)
119 Nathan Treto (USA)
120 Andrew Allan (GBr)
121 Mark Baker (GBr)
122 David Heaven (GBr)
123 Kieran Page (GBr)
124 Sergey Babaylov (Uzb)
125 Marat Yunusov (Uzb)
126 Lukasz Bodnar (Pol)
127 Blazej Janiaczyk (Pol)
128 Peter Mazur (Pol)
129 Tomasz Smolen (Pol)
130 Szymon Wasiak (Pol)
131 Tigran Korkotyan (Arm)
132 Milan Branicky (Svk)
133 Marian Hecl (Svk)
134 Dusan Orgonik (Svk)
135 Ivan Patoprsty (Svk)
136 Hulusi Koseoglu (Tur)
137 Kemal Kucukbay (Tur)
138 Mehmet Mutlu (Tur)
139 Jeremy Yates (NZl)
140 Tyler Butterfield (Ber)
141 King Nin Lau (HKg)
142 Ivaylo Marinov (Bul)
143 Daniel Petrov (Bul)
144 Rusen Rusev (Bul)
145 Kristian Ellertsen (Nor)
146 Christopher Myhre   (Nor)
147 Scott Atkinson (RSA)
148 Wesley Cole (RSA)
149 Jacobus Odendaal (RSA)
150 Vasileios Kourmpetis (Gre)
151 Georgios Petalas (Gre)
152 Georgios Tentsos (Gre)
153 Christos Tziortziotis (Gre)
154 Darrel Handson (Zim)
155 Deon Handson (Zim)
156 Robert Mcpherson (Zim)
157 Juan José De La Rosa Monsivais (Mex)
158 Luis Fernando Macias Hernandez (Mex)
159 Agustin Ponce Rosales (Mex)
160 Vytautas Kaupas (Ltu)
161 Julius Misiunas (Ltu)
162 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)
163 Karolis Volungevicius (Ltu)
164 Marius Zaleskis (Ltu)
165 Nebojsa Jovanovic (Yug)
166 Marko Spasojevic (Yug)
167 Nenad Velicic (Yug)

Route Description

What a great, classic road world's circuit; a tough, technical and unpredictable parcours that will crown worthy champions. Named after Jean-Yves Perron, the organizer of the Grand Prix de l'Ouest, it's a 14.150 km tour through the arriere-pays of Morbihan. The parcours heads southeast with a tailwind right away, up the fast first climb, a côte of 1.5km long and 6% average grade, with the last 300m to Le Harras steeper at 8% gradient. Here's where the attacks will start on Circuit Perron after 2.2 km. This is followed by a short descent, then another quick leg-sapping climb of 300m at 10%.

After a tight technical descent through Kerscoulic and Questenen to Poulhibet, the third and perhaps most crucial climb of Circuit Perron heads towards the finish in Plouay. With 3.5km to go, the final cote is a wide-open, windy 1.5km haul with an average gradient of 8%. When counter-moves get away on the second climb and the descent to Poulhibet, the chasers will feel empowered to bring them back up the final climb. Once the last climb is crested, there are 2.15 km to go on a fast, rolling tailwind section to the finish. Beware, the final 1 km is downhill for much of the way, with a tricky uphill finish that may be difficult to judge.