Elite Men's Individual Time Trial

Thursday, October 12, 2000, 14:20

The local time in Plouay is

Rostrenen - Plouay, 47.6 km

Preview    Start List    Route Description    Profile


Held over 47.6 kilometres, the elite men's individual time trial is the longest of all five and has a starting field of 41. With the absence of the Olympic gold, silver and bronze medallists from the start list, the favourite looks to be Abraham Olano (Spa) who placed fourth in Sydney. Close on his heels will be 1997 World Champion, Laurent Jalabert, who has his sights firmly set on a medal this year. On current form, these two riders have a break on the rest of the field, although there are always surprises.

Germany will have to make do with Michael Rich and Jens Voigt, and while both are capable time trialists, neither can quite match the standard of Jan Ullrich and Andreas Kloeden, who have pulled out due to injury and sickness. The top 10 as always are the ones to look out for, with Boardman, Hamilton, Teteriouk, Bodrogi and Hushovd all having decent podium chances.

With three former World Champions (Jalabert, Boardman and Olano) scheduled to ride, the men's TT is going to be as competitive as ever.

Start List

42 Robert Nagy (Svk)                   14:26:00
41 David Kinja (Ken) 14:28:00 40 Vasilis Anastopoulos (Gre) 14:30:00 39 Jukka Heinikainen (Fin) 14:32:00 38 Javier Gomez (Arg) 14:34:00 37 Ondrej Sosenka (Cze) 14:36:00 36 Christian Poos (Lux) 14:38:00 35 Gabor Kisko (Hun) 14:40:00 34 Tom Leaper (Aus) 14:42:00 33 Milan Kadlec (Cze) 14:44:00 32 Martin Cotar (Cro) 14:46:00 31 Robert Hunter (RSA) 14:48:00 30 Joaquim Adrego Andrade (Por) 14:50:00 29 Piotr Chmielewski (Pol) 14:52:00 28 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) 14:54:00 27 Marcel Duijn (Ned) 14:56:00 26 Martin Garrido Mayorga (Arg) 14:58:00 25 Stuart Dangerfield (GBr) 15:00:00 24 Piotr Przydzial (Pol) 15:02:00 23 Andrej Hauptman (Slo) 15:04:00 22 Jean Nuttli (Swi) 15:06:00 21 Igor Bonciucov (Mda) 15:08:00 20 Remco Van Der Ven (Ned) 15:10:00 19 Martin Hvastija (Slo) 15:12:00 18 Marco Pinotti (Ita) 15:14:00 17 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) 15:16:00 16 Jens Voigt (Ger) 15:18:00 15 Oleg Joukov (Rus) 15:20:00 14 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) 15:22:00 13 Michael Rich (Ger) 15:24:00 12 Sergiy Matveyev (Ukr) 15:26:00 11 Dario Frigo (Ita) 15:28:00 10 Christophe Moreau (Fra) 15:30:00 9 Thor Hushovd (Nor) 15:32:00 8 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) 15:34:00 7 Tyler Hamilton (USA) 15:36:00 6 Andrei Teteriouk (Kaz) 15:38:00 5 Christopher Boardman (GBr) 15:40:00 4 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) 15:42:00 3 Serhiy Honchar (Ukr) 15:44:00 2 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) 15:46:00 1 Abraham Olano Manzano (Spa) 15:48:00

Route Description

At 47.6 kilometres, the Elite men's time trial is the longest of the five categories. As with the other events, the men race from a point outside Plouay (Rostrenen), and follow a general downward grade to the finish in Plouay. The biggest climb starts at kilometre 13.5, ascending 90 metres in 2.5 kilometres to Kerroc'h d'en Haut (the same as the U23 men). From then on, it is gradually downhill into Plouay with a few undulations. The last of these is with 3 kilometres to go, a 1.5 km drag at 4 percent that should really determine who the strongest rider is.