Results and Reports for November 19


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Concord Village Criterium
Carnegie-Caulfield Cycling Club Criterium

Concord Village Criterium

Majors Bay Rd, Concord, November 19, 2000

Caravello's Steve Williams took out the Concord Village Criterium, held on Sunday evening on a 900m course around Concord's shopping centre. Williams broke away with Darren Benson (Lidcombe Auburn) at approximately halfway, and held him off to win the tough uphill sprint.

Congatulations to all placegetters. Thank you to all participating sponsors, riders and officials. Most importantly, congratulations to Concord Council and Concord residents for supporting the 2000 Concord Village Criteriums


Under 11s

1 B Harvey (Bankstown Sports)
2 H Branch (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 A Beer (Penrith Panthers)

Under 13s

1 G Beer (Penrith Panthers)
2 J Isaksen (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 N Bregolin (Lidcombe Auburn)

Under 15s (incl U17W)

1 P Stokes (Penrith Panthers)
2 C Young (Parramatta)
3 K Nichols (U17W) (St George)

C&D Grades 40 min + 2 laps plus Sprint Ace

1 K Young (Parramatta)
2 K Oliver (Parramatta)
3 W Machado (Penrith Panthers)

Sprint Ace

1 K Oliver (Parramatta)
2 K Young (Parramatta)

First unplaced D Grade rider

S Genakis (Sydney)

A&B Grades 60 min + 2 laps plus Sprint Ace

1 S Williams (Caravello)
2 D Benson (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 J Hopkins (Bankstown Sports)

Sprint Ace

1 S Williams (Caravello)
2 D Benson (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 B Appleyard (Marconi)

First unplaced B Grade rider

D Young Bankstown (Sports)

Our Generous Sponsors:

Josephine Maxwell Concord Chamber of Commerce
Pasticceria Le Palme Ashfield Cycles
Talone's Gourmet Meats Del Mono Pastries
Concord Bicycle Users Group All about Bikes.
Warren Potts

Courtesy of Steve McManus

Carnegie-Caulfield Cycling Club Criterium

Glenvale Crescent Mulgrave, Vic November 19 2000

A bumper field of 185 turned out for the Sunday morning crit in Mulgrave. Humid conditions prevailed with next to no wind. The wide, 1000 metre circuit handled the large fields without problem.

The move in A grade came fairly early in the hour and a seven-man break soon established an unassailable lead. Robert Tighello (Peugeot), James Taylor (Ashburton Cycles), Robert Crowe (Fitzroy Cycles), John Claxton (Melb Bicycle Centre), Simon Gerrans (VIS), Colin McEvoy and Robert Boag (Ashburton Cycles) sat just off the back of the bunch after 50 odd minutes. Unwilling to mix with the combination of A and the huge B grade they contented themselves with waiting for the sprint. The last bend saw Tighello (holder of both State and all-state road titles) launch his sprint from the front with State Crit Champ Taylor hard on his wheel. They crossed in that order with “Huey” Crowe third from MTB ace Claxton.

With 75 starters B grade was a fearsome sight. Storming around the circuit, for all the world like a school of piranha. A few valiant souls tested the resolve of the bunch with probing attacks only to be quickly swallowed up. “Head girl” Anna Milward (nee Wilson) (Saturn) led a brief but promising group of five away with only a few minutes remaining. The gap never got over ten seconds, and they were back for three to go. Other notable women in the huge bunch ­ Worlds silver medalist from a few years ago Liz Tadich (VIS), Tasmanian VIS teammate Naomi Williams and Katie Mactier (Fitzroy Cycles) among others. It was to be Mactier, benefiting from a Col Barnard special leadout, who placed best among the women at eighth. The gutter to gutter finale had maybe twenty riders across the road all within a few centimeters of the win. Alan Schnable took the verdict ahead of Adam Carter, Colombian Mauro Alvarez and Rohan McLellan.

C grade also endured early attacking from a few dedicated to causing a build up of lactic acid in all that followed. To no avail however, as a field sprint ensued with Tony Mitchell victorious. Youngster Simon Clarke, who had been active in the main break of the day, nipped in for second ahead of Nick Gibson and Rob Doyle.

13 starters in D grade, where the lessons are learnt that enable our rising youth to survive the cut and thrust of the higher grades. After a ten minute neutral there was plenty of surging done, high tempo attacks followed by brief spells of recovery. In the end it came down to an eight-up sprint with Peter Calveros winning ahead of Lee Robinson, Phil Doran and John Sheard. Unluckily fifth by less than a wheel twelve year old Kieran Murphy who will star in the future.

The E grade juniors race provides the bridge between riding to school and beginning to really get into it. Today saw Tess Downing lead home brother Michael Downing, Peter Johnstone and Amy Phillips.


A Grade
1 Robert Tighello (Peugeot) 
2 James Taylor (Ashburton Cycles)
3 Robert Crowe (Fitzroy Cycles)
4 John Claxton (Melb Bicycle Centre)
B Grade 
1 Alan Schnable
2 Adam Carter
3 Mauro Alvarez
4 Rohan McLellan
C Grade
1 Tony Mitchell
2 Simon Clarke
3 Nick Gibson
4 Rob Doyle
D Grade
1 Peter Calveros
2 Lee Robinson
3 Phil Doran
4 John Sheard
E Grade
1 Tess Downing
2 Michael Downing
3 Peter Johnstone
4 Amy Phillips