34th Tirreno Adriatico - H.C.

Italy, March 8-15, 2000

Main Page    Results

Stage 3 - March 10: Aversa-Santuario dell Addolorata, 160 km

Laurent puts the hammer down

Stage three of the Tirreno-Adriatico saw the riders leave the flats as they raced 160 kilometers from Aversa to the top of Santuario dell'Addolorata, north of Naples. The finish was at 920 meters, and the average gradient for the climb was approximately 7% - not really suited to race leader, Romans Vainsteins.

The prime favourite for the race, Laurent Jalabert (ONCE) made it clear today why he has earned that title. The Frenchman was the strongest of a group of eight on the finishing climb, and was able to take the victory and the leader's jersey in the process.

There were several attempts to break away in the early part of the stage, but all were unsuccessful. The most significant move occurred with 26 km to go, by Dutchman Michael Boogerd (Rabobank), Italian Davide Rebellin (Liquigas) and the Spaniard Carlos Dominguez (Vitalicio). They were caught after just six kilometers, but then the pace was upped in the bunch by ONCE and Rabobank.

The lead group was whittled down to eight, with Rebellin finishing second behind Jalabert, followed by Jens Voigt (Credit Agricole), Boogerd and Dominguez. Although he has aspirations to start in Milan-San Remo, German Jan Ullrich finished 14 minutes down today, and is over 26 minutes behind on the overall classification.

Tomorrow's fourth stage (207 km) will be conducted from Isernia to Luco dei Marsi. Jalabert will look to maintain his grip on the jersey before Sunday's 26.5 km individual time trial.


1. Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Once            4.22.09 (36.620 kph)
2. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
3. Jens Voigt (Ger) Crédit Agricole
4. Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank
5. Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Vitalicio
6. Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Cantina Tollo
7. David Romero Plaza (Spa) Festina
8. Alberto Elli (Ita) Telekom
9. Gabriele Colombo (Ita) Cantina Tollo
10. Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo       0.08

General classification after stage 3:

1. Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Once           13.15.50
2. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata       0.04
3. Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank            0.06
4. Jens Voigt (Ger) Crédit Agricole
5. Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Vitalicio     0.07
6. Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Cantina Tollo
7. David Romero Plaza (Spa) Festina
8. Gabriele Colombo (Ita)Cantina Tollo
9. Alberto Elli (Ita) Telekom
10. Oscar Freire (Spa) Mapei-Quick Step      0.12