34th Tirreno Adriatico - H.C.

Italy, March 8-15, 2000

Main Page    Results

Stage 2 - March 9: Sorrento-Aversa, 189 km

Vainsteins takes over

The second stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico, 189 km between Sorrento and Aversa, ended in another bunch sprint as Czech Jan Svorada (Lampre) sped to victory. Latvian rider, Romans Vainsteins (Vini Caldirola) came in second place on the stage, which gave him enough to take the leader's jersey from renowned sprinter, Oscar Freire (Mapei).

"I was determined this morning to boost myself to the head of the general classification and that is why I contested the sprint so hard," said Vainsteins, who has just turned 27. "I feel good and will give my all to defend it."

Despite the efforts of Mario Cipollini's Saeco team to bring him to the front in the final few kilometers, the Lion King only managed 10th in the sprint. He was left out in the wind too early and could not manage to overcome this handicap. Mario is approaching 150 career victories (he now has 148) and will certainly be aiming for that target during this event.


1. Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin                   5.17.14 (35.747 km/h)
2. Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Vini Caldirola
3. Markus Zberg (Swi) Rabobank
4. Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Pata 
5. Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Albacom
6. Frank Hoj (Dan) Francaise des Jeux
7. Enrico Degano (Ita) Panaria-Gaerne
8. Denis Zanette (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
9. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Farm Frites
10. Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco Valli & Valli

General classification after stage 2:

1. Romans Vainsteins (Let) Vini Caldirola            8.53.43
2. Oscar Freire (Esp) Mapei-Quick Step                    
3. Erik Zabel (Ger) Deutsche-Telekom                    0.02
4. Elio Aggiano (Ita) Vitalicio                 	0.03
5. Marcus Zberg (CH) Rabobank                   	0.04
6. Andreas Klier (Ger) Farm Frites             
7. Zbigniew Spruch (Pol) Lampre-Daikin              
8. Diego Ferrari (Ita) Amica Chips-Tacconi Sport                      
9. Dimitri Konyshev (Rus) Fassa Bortolo          	0.05
10. Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Credit Agricole