10th RAI Amsterdam Dernyrace - 1.SC

Netherlands, April 30, 2000

1999 results    Start List     Past winners


Peter van Petegem won the 10th RAI Dernyrace in Amsterdam in a group of seven riders: "In normal races there can be some moments you ride in the red. But in RAI Dernyrace you have constantly a heartbeat between 170 and 180, my maximum. And sometimes even higher. I'm glad to win my first race of this season. I have been riding well since Milan-San Remo, but without any victories until now. But okay, the second place in Paris-Roubaix was heavy too," he said after the race.

Last year's winner Michael Boogerd came in second, not too disappointed under the circumstances: "I was in a very good shape, but I just couldn't win the sprint against Van Petegem."

His "Danish" compatriot Tristan Hoffman had another problem: "After 20 kilometers my saddle loosened. It seemed like I rode a descent for the rest of the race. A strange feeling which I don't recommend," he said complaining about the pain in one of the most critical areas of the cyclist's body.

Results - 131 km

1 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Farm Frites                 2.35.35 (56.17 km/h)
2 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank                         0.01
3 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) Memory Card-Jack & Jones         0.02
4 Maarten Den Bakker (Ned) Rabobank                      0.03
5 Servais Knaven (Ned) Farm Frites                       0.04
6 Franco Ballerini (Ita) Lampre-Daikin                   0.05
7 Jimmi Madsen (Den) Bornholm                            0.06
8 Adriano Baffi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step                   0.35
9 Matthé Pronk (Ned) Rabobank                            1.25
10 Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Mapei-Quick Step             1.25
11 Rudi Kemna (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus              2.26
12 Vjatceslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service             2.55
13 Wilfried Peeters (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step               3.27
14 Robert Slippens (Ned) Axa Cycling Team                3.28
15 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step                  3.29
16 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal Service               4.32
17 Michael Van Der Wolf (Ned) Cologne                    4.55
18 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank                        1 lap
19 Jans Koerts (Ned) Farm Frites
20 Geert Van Bondt (Bel) Farm Frites
21 Danny Stam (Ned) Axa Cycling Team
22 Michel Cornelisse (Ned) Spar-Oki
23 Silvio Martinello (Ita) Polti
24 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Polti
DNF Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole

Thanks to Bert Geerts for the complete results


Boogerd and Ruinemans
Photo: © Bert Geerts

April 30 marks the 10th edition of the Amsterdam RAI Derny race, a "special" category event that is raced behind motorbikes. It is an invitation event and started as a women's race in 1991, won by Ingrid Haringa. However, one year later the organiser Harry Mater turned it into a men's event won for the first time by Olaf Ludwig. The past winners list is impressive: Haringa, Ludwig, Sörensen, Museeuw, Nijdam, Ballerini, Van Bon, Den Bakker, and last year, Michael Boogerd. The latter had success of another type last year, as he met with Nerena Ruinemans (the 'Rondemiss') and the two began a romance.

This year, Boogerd will again be on the start line alongside many other top names: Freire, Museeuw, Blijlevens, Van Petegem, Hincapie, Hoffman, and even a couple of Australians in O'Grady and Hayman. He had the following comments about the race:

"I've done this race three times and three times I was empty at the finish line. It's one of the most special races of the year. In the beginning it seems easy. You ride very light, 53*15 or 53*14. But after a while the pain starts to grow. After half a hour you get heavy legs."

"Behind dernies is a beautiful discipline in cycling. I hope to win on Sunday for the second time. Our Rabobank-team was successful in the last few years. Leon van Bon in 1997, Maarten den Bakker in 1998 and I did it last year. I hope to ride behind Joop Zijlaard, 'the living legend'. I can ride very close on him, because we don't train behind dernies. The motor bike rider has to do the work. The cyclist has only to look in front of him and ram."

Start List :

1 Oscar Freire
2 Michael Boogerd
3 Johan Museeuw
4 Mirko Celestino
5 Jeroen Blijlevens
6 Peter van Petegem
7 George Hincapie
8 Tristan Hoffman
9 Maarten den Bakker
10 Viatcheslav Ekimov
11 Geert van Bondt
12 Servais Knaven
13 Stuart O'Grady
14 Jans Koerts
15 Wilfried Peeters
16 Franco Ballerini
17 Matthew Hayman
18 Matthe Pronk
19 Magnus Backstedt
20 Adriano Baffi
21 Jimmi Madsen
22 Danny Stam
23 Robert Slippens
24 Michael Cornelisse
25 Rudi Kemna

Past Winners

1991 (Women) - 20 km
1 Ingrid Haringa
2 Elsbeth Vink
3 Petra Grimbergen
4 Natascha den Ouden
5 Angela van Smoorenburg

1992 (Men from this year onward) - 60 km
1 Olaf Ludwig     		1.06.25 (54.205 km/h)
2 Erik Breukink
3 Michel Cornelisse
4 Peter Pieters
5 Frans Maassen

1993 - 108 km
1 Rolf Sorensen    		2.03.40 (52.399 km/h)
2 Peter Pieters
3 Nico Verhoeven
4 Gert Jakobs
5 Marcel Wurst

1994 - 120 km
1 Johan Museeuw    		2.29.19 (48.231 km/h)
2 Jelle Nijdam
3 Vitacheslav Ekimov
4 Peter Pieters
5 Leon van Bon

1995 - 123 km
1 Jelle Nijdam    		2.26.12 (50.548 km/h)
2 Maarten den Bakker
3 Johan Museeuw
4 Peter Pieters
5 Adriano Baffi

1996 - 128 km
1 Franco Ballerini    		2.32.23 (50.399 km/h)
2 Jelle Nijdam
3 Andrei Tchmil
4 Brian Holm
5 Michel Cornelisse

1997 - 128 km
1 Leon van Bon    		2.38.02 (48.601 km/h)
2 Michele Bartoli
3 Danny Nelissen
4 Frank Vandenbroucke
5 Michael Boogerd

1998 - 126 km
1 Maarten den Bakker    	2.19.34 (54.167 km/h)
2 Franco Ballerini
3 Andreas Beikirch
4 Stuart O'Grady
5 Jimmi Madsen

1999 - 131 km
1 Michael Boogerd    		2.27.01 (53.428 km/h)
2 Adriano Baffi
3 Leon van Bon
4 Peter van Petegem
5 Maarten den Bakker