25th Grand Prix Pino Cerami - Cat. 1.3

Belgium, April 7, 2000

1999 results     Past winners

Bratkowski from Mercury

Mercury's success "across the pond" continues, after they recorded another victory today in the Belgian 1.3 race, GP Pino Cerami. A reasonably fast (43.00 km/h) 181 kilometre race ended in a six man sprint, which was won by German Jan Bratkowski, from Tönnisteiner's Michel van Haecke (6th Gent-Wevelgem) and Farm Frites' Miquel van Kessel.

The course was a 105 kilometre loop followed by 4.5 laps of a 16.7 kilometre finishing circuit, that included two steep climbs which were instrumental in deciding the race. After a fast start where no-one could get away, three riders attacked at the 80 kilometre point (Mondini, Przydzail and Couffe). The trio gained up to four minutes before being eventually being chased down on the finishing circuit.

The Italian teams initiated the chase, and then some of the other teams took up the fight. Mercury's Jamie Drew (Aus) and Mike Sayers (USA) managed to join a promising eight man break that gained 15 seconds, but it was not enough. Cofidis' Niko Eeckhout (one of the pre-race favourites) was also prominent in many moves, but wasted a lot of energy in being a part of many of them.

With two laps to go, Linda McCartney's Max Sciandri attacked with Chris Horner (Mercury) with six other riders to no avail. It was going to come down to a sprint from a largely thinned peloton. The sprinters teams massed at the front and Mercury were trying to set it up for Bratkowski, as their other fast man, Gord Fraser had gone back to Canada.

It was essential to gain position for the sprint by the hill at 3.4 kilometres to go, and a winning break emerged over the top. Bratkowski, Van Haecke, Eeckhout, Van Kessel, Nicky Sörensen (Fakta) and Michael Lafis (Farm Frites). Two Farm Frites riders and that was the race, but they didn't manage to win. Bratkowski was clearly the best sprinter, beating Van Haecke and Van Kessel to the line, with Eeckhout taking fourth.

Scott Sunderland (Palmans) rode the race as well, however he was still clearly suffering from his efforts in the Ronde last weekend. He rode 120 kilometres before calling it quits, "a good training ride". In other news, Farm Frites' Glenn Magnusson (Swe) was involved in a fall and broke his collarbone.

Results - 181 kms

1. Jan Bratkowski (Ger) Mercury            4.12.00 (43.09 km/h)
2. Michel Van Haecke (Bel) Tönissteiner
3. Miguel Van Kessel (Ned) Farm Frites
4. Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Palmans
5. Nicki Sörensen (Den) Team Fakta            0.01        
6. M.Lafis (Swe) Farm Frites                  0.02   
7. Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Charleroi            0.08          
8. Alexander Usov (Blr) Phonak                    
9. Emmanuele Negrini (Ita) Cantina Tollo                   
10. Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner  
11. Saulius Ruskys (Ltu) VC Saint-Quentin-Oktos 
12. Danny Jonasson (Den) Fakta
13. Marco Antonio Di Renzo (Ita) Cantina Tollo-Regain
14. Ronny Assez (Bel) Flanders-Prefetex
15. Michael Barry (Can) Saturn Cycling Team
16. Piotr Wadecki (Pol) Mróz-Supradyn Witamin
17. Carlos Dacruz (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
18. Jens Zemke (Ger) Team Nürnberger
19. Steven Kleynen (Bel) Farm Frites
20. Pieter Vries (Ned) Farm Frites
21. Giancarlo Raimondi (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
22. Bert Dietz (Ger) Team Nürnberger
23. Oleg Pankov (Ukr) Collstrop
24. Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Cantina Tollo-Regain
25. Raymond Meijs (Hol) Team Cologne
26. Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita) Cantina Tollo-Regain
27. Artur Babaitsev (Rus) Team Nürnberger
28. Lukas Zumsteg (Swi) Team Phonak
29. Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin Oktos
30. Ludovic Auger (Fra) Big Mat Auber 93                          

Past Winners

1964    André Noyelle (Bel)
1965    Jan Boonen (Bel)
1966    Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1967    Willy Planckaert (Bel)
1968    Julien Stevens (Bel)
1969    Frans Mintjens (Bel)
1970    André Dierickx (Bel)
1971    Georges Van Coningsloo (Bel)
1972    Christian Callens (Bel)
1973    Ferdinand Bracke (Bel)
1974    Marc Demeyer (Bel)
1975    Eddy Verstraeten (Bel)
1976    Willy Teirlinck (Bel)
1977    Joseph Jacobs (Bel)
1978    Gerrie Knetemann (Ned)
1979    Daniel Verplancke (Bel)
1980    Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1981    Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1982    Ronny Van Holen (Ned)
1983    Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1984    Gerrie Knetemann (Ned)
1985    Paul Haghedooren (Bel)
1986    Urs Freuler (Swi)
1987    Rolf Sörensen (Den)
1988    John Talen (Ned)
1989    Stefan Joho (Swi)
1990    Maximilian Sciandri (Ita)
1991    Andrej Tchmil (Mol)
1992    Laurent Dufaux (Swi)
1994    Michele Bartoli (Ita)
1995    Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita)
1996    Marco Serpellini (Ita)
1997    Race Cancelled
1998    Marco Serpellini (Ita) Brescialat-Liquigas 199 kms in 4.43.00 (42.402)
1999    Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Team Polti 	   199 kms in 4.50.00