62nd Gent-Wevelgem - Cat. 1.HC

Belgium, April 5, 2000

1999 results    Past Winners    Start list    Route    Results


The 214 kilometre Gent-Wevelgem comes in the midst of the northern spring classics, traditionally being a midweek race between the Ronde van Vlaanderen and Paris-Roubaix. It is rated as one below a classic (HC), however it follows many of the roads that the "Ronde" uses, but is shorter by 53 kilometres. The parcourse is considerably flatter than the Ronde, containing only 4 climbs - the Monteberg and Kemmelberg, each being done twice. They come in the last 75 kilometres, and are not usually enough to enforce a selection. Thus the race is more likely to end in a bunch sprint, as a glance through the past winners list will show.

Favourites for the event are likely to be the fast men: Tom Steels (Mapei) won last year, although he has not quite been in top form of late. Erik Zabel (Telekom) is probably a better bet, as he finished fourth in the Ronde on Sunday, won by Andrei Tchmil. If Tchmil manages to slip the bunch as he did last weekend, he will be very hard to catch again.

Other sprinters in form include Latvian Romans Vainsteins (Vini Caldirola), Tristan Hoffman (MC J&J), Jeroen Blijlevens (Polti) and even Zbigniew Spruch (Lampre). Don't rule out Saeco's Dario Pieri either - he finished second last Sunday in a big surprise to everyone. If it doesn't come to a sprint, then maybe Johan Museeuw can take some revenge for Sunday, but he is likely to save it for Roubaix. Peter van Petegem on the other hand may be looking for a little more, and he will be strongly supported by his Farm Frites teammates Andreas Klier and Serguei Ivanov.

Those favourites who aren't participating include Rolf Sorensen (Rabobank), Mario Cipollini (Saeco) and Nico Mattan (Cofidis) - the latter crashed in the Ronde and will not be able to race for at least a month.

The odds:

Tom Steels (Bel) 6 to 1, Zbigniew Spruch (Pol), Romans Vainsteins (Lat), and Erik Zabel (Ger) at 12 to 1, Fabio Baldato (Ita), Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned), Jaan Kirsipuu (Est), Andrei Tchmil (Bel), and Markus Zberg (Swi) at 15 to 1, Johan Museeuw (Bel) and Peter van Petegem (Bel) at 20 to 1.


25 teams will contest the race:

Mapei (Bartoli, Museeuw, Steels, Tafi, Van Heeswijk)
Rabobank (Van Bon, Wauters, Vierhouten)
Polti (Blijlevens)
Telekom (Zabel, Wesemann)
Saeco (Pieri)
Farm Frites (Van Petegem, Ivanov)
Lotto-Adecco (Tchmil, Aerts)
AG2R Prevoyance (Kirsipuu)
US Postal (Hincapie, Ekimov)
Cofidis (De Wolf, Planckaert)
Lampre-Daikin (Spruch, Camenzind)
La Française des Jeux (Michaelsen, Høj)
Crédit Agricole (O'Grady)
Memory Card Jack&Jones (Hoffman, Skibby)
Fassa Bortolo (Baldato, Konychev)
Gerolsteiner (Steinhauser)
Palmans-Ideal (Van Dijck, Eeckhout)
Ville de Charleroi (Streel)
Tonissteiner (Van Haecke)
Vlaanderen 2002 Collstrop (De Clercq)
Spa-Oki (Heirewegh)
Linda McCartney (Richard, Sciandri)
Batavus (Omloop, Van Schalen)
Flanders-Prefetex (Assez)


Locality                            Kms from  Schedule
                                      start   (42 km/h)
GENT           Citadelpark parade              11.30

Drongen        Official Start          0       11.40
Merendree                              6       11.48
Zomergem                              11       11.55
Ursel                                 16       12.02
Knesselare                            22       12.11
Oeselem                               28       12.20
Assebroek                             36       12.31
Brugge                                39       12.35
Meetkerke                             47       12.47
Houthave                              50       12.51
Vlissegem                             54       12.57
Bredene                               62       13.09
Oostende                              65       13.13
Middelkerke                           74       13.26
Westende                              77       13.30
Lombardsijde                          79       13.33
Nieuwpoort                            80       13.35
Veurne                                90       13.50

Bulskamp                              96       13.09
Wulveringem                          100       14.04
Izenberge                            103       14.09
Stavale                              110       14.19
Krombeke                             113       14.23
Proven                               118       14.30
Poperinge                            124       14.38
Westouter                            131       14.48
Loker                                138       14.58
Dranouter                            138       14.58
Monteberg      1st Climb
Kemmel Top                           141       15.02
Kemmelberg     2nd Climb             144       15.06
De Klyte                             148       15.11
Reningelst                           151       15.15
Westouter                            154       15.35
Loker                                158       15.25
Dranouter                            160       15.28
Monteberg      3rd Climb

Kemmel Top                           164       15.33
Kemmelberg     4th Climb             167       15.36
Nieuwkerke                           171       15.41
Wulvergem                            174       15.45
Mesen                                179       15.52
Houtem                               183       15.58

Hollebeke                            185       16.02
Zandvoorde                           190       16.07
Geluveld                             194       16.12
Geluwe                               198       16.26
Menen                                203       16.26
Wevelgem                             208       16.33
Finish:      Vanackerstraat          214       16.42

Past Winners

1934    Gustave Van Belle (Bel)
1935    Albert Debreitere (Bel)
1936    Robert Van Eenaeme (Bel)
1937    Robert Van Eenaeme (Bel)
1938    Hubert Godart (Bel)
1939    André Declerck (Bel)
1945    Robert Van Eenaeme (Bel)
1946    Ernest Sterckx (Bel)
1947    Maurice Desempelaere (Bel)
1948    Valeré Ollivier (Bel)
1949    Marcel Kint (Bel)
1950    Alberic Schotte (Bel)
1951    André Rossel (Bel)
1952    Raymond Impanis (Bel)
1953    Raymond Impanis (Bel)
1954    Rolf Graf (Swi)
1955    Alberic Schotte (Bel)
1956    Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1957    Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1958    Noél Fore (Bel)
1959    Leon Van Daele (Bel)
1960    Frans Aerenhouts (Bel)
1961    Frans Aerenhouts (Bel)
1962    Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1963    Benoni Beheyt (Bel)
1964    Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1965    Noél De Pauw (Bel)
1966    Herman Vanspringel (Bel)
1967    Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1968    Walter Godefroot (Bel)
1969    Willy Vekenmans (Bel)
1970    Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1971    Georges Pintens (Bel)
1972    Roger Swerts (Bel)
1973    Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1974    Barry Hoban (GB)
1975    Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1976    Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1977    Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1978    Ferdinand Van den Haute (Bel)
1979    Francesco Moser (Ita)
1980    Henk Lubberding (Ned)
1981    Jan Raas (Ned)
1982    Frank Hoste (Bel)
1983    Teun Van Vliet (Ned)
1984    Guido Bontempi (Ita)
1985    Eric Vanderaerden (Bel)
1986    Guido Bontempi (Ita)
1987    Teun Van Vliet (Ned)
1988    Sean Kelly (Ire)
1989    Gerrit Solleveld (Ned)
1990    Herman Frison (Bel)
1991    Djamolidine Abduschaparov (Usb)
1992    Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1993    Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1994    Wilfried Peeters (Bel)
1995    Lars Michaelsen (Den)
1996    Tom Steels (Bel)
1997    Philippe Gaumont (Fra)
1998    Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Mapei-Bricobi 208 kms in 5.21.21
1999    Tom Steels (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step 208 kms in 5.15.53

Past winners kept up to date by Mario Stiehl, Berlin