Women's Elite World Cup, Round 8
Ladies Tour Benedon-Maas

The Netherlands, September 9, 1999

Main Index     Teams Results     Report     Standings     Tracey Gaudry's Race Diary    

The World Cup Schedule

  • Round 1, March 7, Canberra (Australia)
  • Round 2, March 14, Hamilton City World Cup (NZ)
  • Round 3, March 20, Primavera Rosa (Ita)
  • Round 4, April 14, La Fleche Wallonne (Bel)
  • Round 5, May 30, Montreal (Can)
  • Round 6, June 6, First Union Liberty Classic (USA)
  • Round 7, August 8, Trophee International (Fra)
  • Round 8, September 9, Ladies Tour Benedon-Maas (Ned)
  • Round 9, September 26, UCI Welcupfinale Embrach (Swi)


In a race with an average speed of 42 km/h Petra Rossner (Ger) out ran Leontien Zijlaard (Ned) and Anna Wilson (Aus) in a group sprint to win the Ladies Tour Beneden-Maas, stage 8 of the Elite World Cup. The 120 kilometre route is flat and the major part of the race is below sea level, the only significant height differences are the Heinenoord tunnel and two bridges across the Haringvliet.

The race started at Spijkenisse, and did not really get going until after the first three kilometres and the crossing of the Spijkenisser Bridge. Throughout the pace stayed high as the riders sped past dykes, through polders and across the occasional bridge.

The group remained intact for some time, but as the riders crossed Haringvliet river the wind started blowing, and the inevitable attacks came from the bunch. At the 60km mark a few groups joined together and formed a strong group of 15 containing all the favourites.

Throughout the race an increasingly noticeable split developed and with about 20 kilometres left, a group of 13 was out in front, about 15 seconds ahead of a group of 11.

With 10 kms remaining the participants rejoined setting up a sprint for the group of 38. Van Moorsel set a high tempo for the sprint, and Kupfernagel wasn't letting Anna Wilson out of her sight. In the end Petra Rossner proved too fast, with Van Moorsel just scraping 2nd over Anna Wilson and Kupfernagel right behind for 4th.

The Netherlands, Round 8, September 9, 1999, 120 kms

1 Petra Rossner (Ger) German National Team 2.50.49
2 Leontien Zijlaard (Ned) Farm Frites Hartol
3 Anna Wilson (Aus) Saturn
4 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Greenery-Hawk-Berlin
5 Monica Valen (Nor)
6 Tanja Schimtt (Ger) SC Michela Fanini Record
7 Elsbeth Vink (Ned) Netherlands
8 Rikke Sandhoj-Olsen (Den) Greenery-Hawk-Berlin
9 Sally Boyden (GB) Great Britain
10 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe)
11 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) Almelo
12 Vanja Vonckx (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
13 Sanna Lehtimaki (Fin) Greenery-Hawk-Berlin
14 Madeleine Lindberg (Swe)
15 Susan Carter (GB) Great Britain
16 Birgit Sollner (Ger) Nurnberger-Emmi
17 Allison Wright (Aus)
18 Elizabeth Tadich (Aus) GS Mazza-Tege
19 Debby Mansveld (Ned) Farm Frites Hartol
20 Chantal Beltman (Ned) Dutch National Team
21 Katie Compton (USA)
22 Sandra Wampfler (Swi)
23 Jorunn Kvalo (Nor)
24 Kerry Hellmuth (USA)
25 Veronique Belleter (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
26 Nicole Brandli (Swi) Swiss National Team
27 Solrun Flataas (Nor)
28 Marci Eicher-Vouls (Swi)
29 Tracey Gaudry (Aus) Ebly
30 Ita Kryjanovskaia (Rus)
31 Kim Smith (USA)
32 Sara Carrigan (Aus)
33 Ingunn Bollerud (Nor)
34 Mari Holden (USA) Ghia Dream Team
35 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) Netherlands
36 Sissy van Alebeek (Ned) Farm Frites Hartol
37 Viola Müller-Paulitz (Ger) Nürnberger-Emmi 0.39
38 Jenny Algelid (Swe) 0.54
39 Judith Arndt (Ger) Germany 1.52
40 Emma Davies (GB) Great Britain 3.46
41 Mirjam van Melis (Ned)
42 Susy Pryde (NZ) New Zealand National Team
43 Ruth Demeyer (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
44 Angela Hunter (GB) Great Britain
45 Bogumila Matusiak (Pol)
46 Linne Lykke-Meyer (Den)
47 Elizabeth Emery (USA)
48 Janet Harder (Ned)
49 Aud kari Berg (Nor)
50 Susanne Lange (Ger)
51 Sandra Misbach (Ger)
52 Ghita Beltman (Ned)
53 Marion Brauen (Swi)
54 Wenche Stensvold (Nor) 3.52
55 Cindy Pieters (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
56 Cecilia Backstedt (Swe)
57 Meike De Bruijn (Ned) The Greenery Hawk Team
58 Anouska van de Zee (Ned) Farm Frites Hartol
59 Christina Becker (Ger)
60 Tina Liebig (Ger) German National Team
61 Astrid van Tol (Ned) Farm Frites Hartol

Individual Standings after Round 8:

For Complete Rankings

 1. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) 231 points
 2. Anna Wilson (Aus) 		213
 3. Petra Rossner (Ger) 	160
 4. Tracey Gaudry (Aus)		154
 5. Sara Felloni (Ita) 		114

Complete Starting List

Allison Wright (Aus)
Anna Wilson (Aus)
Elizabeth Tadich (Aus)
Juanita Feldhahn (Aus)
Sara Carrigan (Aus)
Tracey Gaudry (Aus)
Ann Mathisen (Den)
Lotte Schmidt (Den)
Rikke Sandhoj-Olsen (Den)
Linne Lykke-Meyer (Den)
Monika Tyberska (Pol)
Dorota Czynszak (Pol)
Malgorzata Wysocka (Pol)
Bogumila Matusiak (Pol)
Emma Davies (GB)
Sally Boyden (GB)
Ruth Ellway (GB)
Yvonne McGregor(GB)
Susan Carter (GB)
Angela Hunter (GB)
Janet Harder (Ned)
Susy Pryde (NZ)
Annuska van Vlaenderen (Fra)
Irma van der Salm (Fra)
Petra Rossner (Ger)
Cornelia Dreher (Ger)
Kerstin Scheitle (Ger)
Mandy Hampel (Ger)
Tina Liebig (Ger)
Jacqueline Brabenetz (Ger)
Cindy Pieters (Bel)
Ruth Demeyer (Bel)
Ellen Wijnant (Bel)
Veronique Belleter (Bel)
Vanja Vonckx (Bel)
Meike De Bruijn (Ned) The Greenery Hawk Team
Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Greenery-Hawk-Berlin
Ita Kryjanovskaia (Rus)
Sanna Lehtimaki (Fin) Greenery-Hawk-Berlin
Sandra Misbach (Ger)
Monica Valen (Nor)
Jorunn Kvalo (Nor)
Solrun Flataas (Nor)
Ingunn Bollerud (Nor)
Wenche Stensvold (Nor)
Aud kari Berg (Nor)
Viola Müller-Paulitz (Ger) Nürnberger-Emmi
Clarissa Breuer (Ger) Nurnberger-Emmi
Carolin Dietmann (Ger) Nurnberger-Emmi
Birgit Sollner (Ger) Nurnberger-Emmi
Susanne Ljungskog (Swe)
Madeleine Lindberg (Swe)
Jenny Algelid (Swe)
Cecilia Backstedt (Swe)
Anke Wichmann (Ger) Frankfurt Brandenberg
Patricia Hempel (Ger) Frankfurt Brandenberg
Susanne Lange (Ger)
Judith Arndt (Ger) Germany
Christina Becker (Ger)
Tanja Schimtt (Ger) SC Michela Fanini Record
Sandra Wampfler (Swi)
Nicole Brandli (Swi) Swiss National Team
Marci Eicher-Vouls (Swi)
Marion Brauen (Swi)
Chantal Beltman (Ned)
Mirjam Melchers (Ned)
Elsbeth Vink (Ned)
Ghita Beltman (Ned)
Arenda Grimberg (Ned)
Mirjam van Melis (Ned)
Elizabeth Emery (USA)
Deirdre Demet (USA)
Mari Holden (USA)
Kim Smith (USA)
Kerry Hellmuth (USA)
Katie Compton (USA)
Astrid van Tol (Ned)
Anouska van de Zee (Ned)
Leontien Zijlaard (Ned)
Sissy van Alebeek (Ned)
Debby Mansveld (Ned)
Andrea Bosman (Ned)