48th Paris - Bourges, Cat 1.3

France, September 30, 1999

1998 Results     Past Winners


Nardello, Tchmil and Brochard maintain form

Daniele Nardello (Mapei) won the French semi-classic, Paris - Bourges on Thursday for the second time in his career. The Italian, who won this race four years ago, beat breakaway companions Andrei Tchmil (Lotto) and Laurent Brochard (Festina) in the sprint.

The 206 km course saw a group of 20 form with 80 km remaining, but the final selection did not occur until the riders were on the 3 km finishing circuit. Brochard attacked on the first lap and Nardello and Tchmil bridged across, and the three stayed clear of the peleton.

It's Nardello's 15th career win and he is happy with his condition going into the World Championships in just over a week. "I came with good form from the Vuelta," said Nardello, who won the 11th stage of the Vuelta at La Pla de Beret.

"Although I'm not a captain in the squadra azzurra, I intend to play a role if the opportunity results," he added.

Tchmil also was happy with his second place, as he is looking to defend his lead in the World Cup in Sunday's Paris-Tours classic.

Norwegian Credit Agricole Stagiaire Thor Hushovd (espoir world TT champion), also rode well. He finished in 11th spot, heading the group that came in some 3 minutes behind the top 10. Team director, Roger Legeay was impressed and may well offer him a full contract for next year.

Paris - Bourges, 206.5 kms

France, September 30, 1999

1. Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei 	     4.55.59
2. Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto
3. Laurent Brochard (Fra) Festina
4. Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis 			0.14
5. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis 		0.29
6. Lars Michaelsen (Den) La Francaise de Jeux
7. Stéphane Berges (Fra) Big Mat Auber 93
8. Andrea Noè  (Ita) Mapei
9. Jens Voigt (Ger) Credite Agricole
10. Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis
11. Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agicole          03.16
12. Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra) La Francaise de Jeux
13. Pascal Herve (Fra) Festina                 03.20
14. Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
15. Dave Bruylandts (Bel) Palmans-Ideal
16. Rolf Huser (Sui) 	   		       04.31
17. Carlos Da Cruz (Fra) Big Mat Auber 93      11.21
18. Ludovic Capelle (Fra) Big Mat Auber 93
19. Stephane Barthe (Fra) 
20. Christophe Mengin (Fra) La Francaise de Jeux

Past Winners

1913 Marceau Narcy (Fra)
1917 Charles Juseret (Bel)
1922 Godart (Fra)
1923 Jean Brunier (Fra)
1924 Marcel Bidot (Fra)
1925 Deschamps (Fra)
1947 Albert Bourlon (Fra)
1948 Marcel Dussault (Fra)
1949 Marcel Dussault (Fra)
1950 Armand Audaire (Fra)
1951 Jean-Marie Goasmat (Fra)
1952 Stanislas Bober (Fra)
1953 Robert Varnajo (Fra)
1954 Jean Stablinski (Fra)
1955 Jean-Marie Cieleska (Fra)
1956 Joseph Morvan (Fra)
1957 Raymond Guegan (Fra)
1971 Ricci (Fra)
1972 Cyril Guimard (Fra)
1973 A. Berland (Fra)
1974 Barry Hoban (GB)
1975 Jean-Paul Danguilaume (Fra)
1976 Jean-Paul Molineris (Fra)
1977 R. Delepine (Fra)
1978 Regis Ovion (Fra)
1979 Jean-René Bernaudeau (Fra)
1980 Yves Hézard (Fra)
1981 Francis Castaing (Fra)
1982 Didier Vanoverschelde (Fra)
1983 Stephen Roche (Ire)
1985 Niki Rüttimann (Swi)
1986 Domenique Lecrocq (Fra)
1987 Kim Andersen (Den)
1988 Patrice Esnault (Fra)
1990 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1991 Andrej Tchmil (Rus)
1993 Bruno Cornillet (Fra)
1994 Lars Michaelsen (Den)
1995 Daniele Nardello (Ita)
1996 Tristan Hoffman (Ned)
1997 Laurent Roux (Fra)
1998 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel)
Past Winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin