14th Clásica Ciclista a Almería, Cat 1.4

Spain, February 28, 1999

1998 Results     Past Winners

Puebla de Vícar - Vera, 188 kms:

Czech rider Jan Svorada (Lampre-Daikin) was the fastest sprinter in the 14th Clásica Ciclista a Almería, which was raced over 188 kms between Puebla de Vicar and Vera. It turned out to be a difficult race because of wind and rain. At the end, Svorada lead the peloton in, ahead of Nicola Minali (Cantina Tollo), who finished second and Spaniard Angel Edo (Kelme), who finished third.

The toughness of the race was demonstrated by the fact that only 83 riders finished the race out of 120 who started. The race remained together for most of the route and only in the last kilometers was there any movement.

 1. Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin			     5.34.51
 2. Nicola Minali (Ita) Cantina Tollo
 3. Angel Edo (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
 4. Julian Dean (Nzl) US Postal
 5. Geert Verheyen (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar
 6. Marcus Zberg (Sch) Rabobank
 7. Ramon Medina (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros
 8. Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Bianchi
 9. Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Ballan-Alessio
10. Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank				s.t.

Past Winners

1993  Vjatcheslav Ekimov (Rus)
1994  Johan Capiot (Bel)
1995  Jean-Pierre Heynderickx (Bel)
1996  Wilfried Nelissen (Bel)
1997  Massimo Strazzer (Ita
1998  Mario Traversoni (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Bianchi 188 kms in 4.48.07 (39.151 km/h)
1999  Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin 188 kms in 5.34.51

Mario from Berlin compiles the winner's lists