28th Tour de Vendee, Cat 1.3

France, April 25, 1998

1998 Results     Past Winners    

La Roche-sur-Yon, 204 kms:

Estonian Jan Kirsipuu sprinted to victory in the 28th Tour de Vendée cycliste, which was contested over 204 kms around la Roche-sur-Yon. Having won the race in 1997 and coming 3rd in 1998, the Casino rider also took over the lead of the Coupe de France with his teammate Pascal Chanteur, 4th overall, holding the second place on the Coupe de France rankings.

The race was over 3 laps and then a final circuit of 7.6 kms along the streets of la Roche-sur-Yon. On the final circuit, Pascal Chanteur had a lead of 37 seconds on the peloton. He was accompanied by Florent Brard (Festina) and the Belgian rider Win Omloop (Spar-RBM). When that attack was caught, he went again with the Danish rider Lars Michaelsen (La Française des Jeux), David Millar (Cofidis) and Jan Kirsipuu. The Estonian easily won the sprint.

 1. Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino				     4.52.05 (41.947 km/h)
 2. Lars Michaelsen (Den) La Française des Jeux
 3. David Millar (GB) Cofidis					0.04
 4. Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino				0.08
 5. Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Home Market-Charleroi			0.14
 6. Tomas Konechy (Cze) Wustenrot-ZVVZ				0.14
 7. Frédéric Moncassin (Fra) Crédit Agricole			0.14
 8. Heger Slavomir (Cze) Wustenrot-ZVVZ				0.14
 9. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis				0.14
10. Damien Nazon (Fra) La Française des Jeux			0.14

Past Winners

1980    Jean-René Bernaudeau (Fra)
1981    Bernard Bourreau (Fra)
1982    Serge Beucherie (Fra)
1983    Pierre Bazzo (Fra)
1984    Claude Moreau (Fra)
1985    Michel Bibillet (Fra)
1986    Francis Castaing (Fra)
1987    Jean-Claude Colotti (Fra)
1988    Alberto Leanizbarrutia (Spa)
1989    Laurent Bezault (Fra)
1990    Francois Lemarchand (Fra)
1991    Fabrice Naessens (Bel)
1992    Bruno Cornillet (Fra)
1993    Dimitry Zhdanov (Rus)
1994    Patrick Van Roosbroeck (Bel)
1995    Mario De Clercq (Bel)
1996    Laurent Desbiens (Fra)
1997    Jaan Kirsipuu (Est)
1998    Marco di Renzo (Ita) Cantina-Tollo 	204 kms in 4.56.54
1999	Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino		204 kms in 4.52.05 (41.947)
Past winners from Mario Stiehl in Berlin